We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern/Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Keen to your Saves list
Hotel Keen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 High Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Modern/Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed one night on business trip and was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to their 3rd floor suite. Reasonable rates for the area. Love the minimalist design and euro/danish decor vibe. Perfect location, within a 1 minute walk to main streets in downtown PA. There is no gym, but I paid the $20 daily fee to workout a local gym around the corner that they have a deal with (although $20/day not really a deal....). They have daily happy hour free wine and beer downstairs in the lobby. Free wifi. My only complaint is that the rooms don't have a functional lamp next to the bed for reading - or maybe I couldn't find it. Overall this is definitely on my return hotels for when I'm back in PA.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have the two little pinpoint lamps (similar to the ones on airlines) in the ceiling that can be adjusted to your needs - I am sorry that we were not able to point that feature out to you during your stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
11
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I spent two nights at the Keen, conveniently located in “downtown Palo Alto," on April 23-24, 2014. This boutique hotel was clearly designed to serve tech industry travelers – who are traveling solo.

On the plus side, the hotel staff were very accommodating and very service oriented. Parking on surface streets overnight or during the day in the public lot adjacent to the hotel is easy and convenient. The small lobby hosts a reasonable “continental-plus” style breakfast buffet and end of day wine hour. Wireless service was good. There were lots of electrical outlets in the room to recharge gadgets overnight. And the flat-panel TVs in the guest rooms (which can connect to laptops) are surrounded by a large white board, which means you can make real time notes on the wall as you practice your PPT pitch the night before your do-or-die presentation to the VCs on nearby Sand Hill Road.

However, the guest rooms – or least the standard room I occupied for two nights – are clearly designed for solo travelers on short stays. I was traveling with my wife; there was barely room for us to walk past one another. (Think of a standard single at NYC's trendy Strand Hotel, but one that seems to be about 10 pct. smaller). Also no closet, just a hook on the wall that might accommodate two hangers -- which might work well for a solo traveler but did not work for a pair of guests.

I'd go back as a solo, but not as a traveling couple.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. I am glad that you were happy with the hotel overrall and thought it quite suitable for one person. I just wanted to mention that we do have deluxe rooms that are not only 25% larger allowing more room to move around in (whether solo or with another person) but also have closets which allow you to further free up floor space from suitcases and allow garments to be hung. These are usually only priced $20 or $30 higher. Hopefully we will see you again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Finally stayed in this boutique hotel located in my neck of the woods of northern Silcone Valley.

Very elegant reputation. Reputable staff. Reasonable, yet higher than no-tell motel, prices with a fine coffee bar, cocktail hours during the week, and a superb continental breakfast.

Location, location, location.

Across from the municipal covered parking lot and the 280/281 SamTrans bus stop along Lytton (parallel north of University Avenue) and High Street (a block east of the CalTrain station).

Prices change from day of the week to week by week. Call ahead for your queen size bed and don't bother asking for a rollaway cot.

Room Tip: Restaurants galore on University Avenue and side streets. Hotel Keen is one block west of the Aqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be able to get away again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was the default hotel when the recommended brand hotel turned out to be full. I think that worked out well as this place was novel, cheaper, and an entirely pleasant experience. Nice rooms, suitable especially for business travelers; great service at reception; easy access to a large public parking lot; central location in Palo Alto and minutes away from Stanford; nice breakfast nook with fresh baked goods, ham, cheeses, cereal, etc., good coffee offerings and nespresso options; daily Wall Street Journal. I will stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Keen December 30th through January 2nd.

Yes, the rooms are very small, but they are laid out logically, the linens are of very high quality, the room is clean and well-appointed. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly, the Continental Breakfast is really REALLY delicious, and the location is fantastic. People have complained about the lack of a parking lot: I didn't think this was a problem. There is a huge public lot right beside the hotel (free parking), and overnight parking on the street is plentiful. (Also free.)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms clean and very small. As in VERY small. No parking. Otherwise i found this to be a great option - i don't mind small so it did not bother me. View looked out at a cement wall. But the location was awesome as i love downtown Palo Alto and it was walkable to just about everything. Staff was nice, breakfast was convenient. I would recommend it provided you had your expectations set. Beds were comfortable, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We do have a number of deluxe rooms that are a good 50% larger than the standard rooms for only $20 more per night. Sadly, the view is about the same. Thank you for the kudos to the staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Palo Alto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I last stayed here a few months back to check out Stanford University for my daughter. This time, we stayed here for a week to move her into the dorm.

I think my favorite part of this hotel is the front desk staff. They are some of the best I have seen. Authentic, friendly and real. They are not like some hotel staff that are just flatly rude or give you a plastic smile and send you your way.

This time the room was smaller than last, but my daughter and I got used to it. The location is amazing, great vegan restaurants, yoga classes, shopping, all walking distance.

Now that my daughter is at the university, this will be my second home. I will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Great having you with us again. See you in February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keen

Address: 425 High Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Keen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Keen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.