We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Keen to your Saves list
Hotel Keen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 High Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small and superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Yes, rooms are very small...let's get that out of the way. It's Palo Alto...do you have any idea what real estate costs?? Are you really interested in hiding in your room anyhow?

I recently stayed here for almost two weeks on a biz trip. The location is a few blocks from everything that matters in PA. The rooms are sparkling clean, well designed, with great linens, nice TVs and you can borrow magazines and Wii's downstairs if you like. The staff is super friendly in a natural, non-overbearing way. They recognize and greet you. They happily addressed my questions about the area, remade my room keys all 17 times I demagnetized them, provided truthful reviews on area restaurants and made me feel at home. They casually serve wine, popcorn and cookies in the evening based on traffic. Continental breakfast is adequate and the coffee (brewed all day) is great. The honor bar can meet your sweet/salty/beer/wine craving at any hour.

I'll be back and look forward to it!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
13
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Firstly let me say the Hotel is perfectly situated, near the University, and near the center of Palo Alto, which by the way is charming and very "user-friendly". Every establishment we visited had operating Wifi and some of the eateries were better than good.
As for the Keen, alas what do you do with a Hotel whose rooms are small as possible. The room we stayed in was too small to have a bathroom door, or a closet....
Breakfast is very adequate, though the place were it is served is so small that a maximum of six people can enjoy it , at any given time. I suppose the Hotel expects you to get your breakfast and find a quiet corner, away from the hotel. I do not recommend you bring it to your room as when we tried it , the cleaning person had already been there and the room was ready for "the next customer".
The hotel has wifi, but it was not working when we were there, a major disappointment. Phone was not working either ( battery ran out ), and the shower, while attractive and well appointed with soap, shampoo etc. had water that " trickled" rather than "showered".
There was one perk we chuckled over. In the room there are magic markers and a white board for using during "meetings".....the room barely had space for a bed and one chair. We wondered how many meetings they had, and how well attended they were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I frequently travel to Palo Alto and stay at the Hotel Keen as often as it is available. It has the perfect location- walking distance to University Avenue and its many shops and restaurants, the most comfortable rooms- great beds and bedding, and a simple yet elegant bathroom, a staff like no other greetings guests as they come and go with a warm smile. They even provide a complimentary breakfast complete with "to-go" boxes, and coffee, tea and espresso throughout the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Palo Alton is not renowned for inexpensive accomodation but Hotel Keen is the exception. Tucked away just off University, this is quite a surprise and will do well. It is litterally 100 yds from all the restaurants, shops and life of PA but at the same time is quiet and welcoming.

A little funky, the rooms aren't huge but that misses the point. This is a well thought out hotel for short stays. No restaurant..don't need one as loads within 5 mins walk. It has an honour bar which people do honour!

Great find, not a Westin, Sharaton but a small hotel with a big personality

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel Keen is nice, clean and quiet, which is excellent for Business trips. Located down town Palo Alto, walking distance from many nice restaurants and shops. The service is friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Ideally located in the centre of Palo Alto, unlike the Westin and the Sheraton which overlook the railway track. Small, friendly, and inexpensive given that this is Palo Alto. No restaurant but there is a very well stocked honour bar from which to sip and many options in the surrounding streets. Newly remodelled rooms in typical clean modern style .... not the best but much better than average. Don't expect a view - most rooms face into an alleyway. Excellent shower. Excellent free breakfast buffet - no hot food but unlimited Nespresso and a decent selection of fruit, cereal etc. No parking but there are numerous small free (off peak) car parks within 100 yards or you can buy a day pass.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel keen is conveniently located from the train station, Stanford university & shopping center and Univ Av (which is where all the action is!) and one can easily walk down to these places. The rooms are clean and well -kept, though some may find rooms to be very small. I found the staff very nice and helpful (in particular Matt who knows the town like back of his hand and always have some good suggestions depending on what you want to do!).Free wine in the evening is also a good plus. The hotel can definitely do something on providing better breakfast with some dining space. Also, bathrooms without doors can be a problem in case two ppl are in a room. The hotel has free wifi but connection was slightly unreliable. But all these are only minor kinks - overall a good budget hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#9 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#8 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#3 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#2 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardinal Hotel
Cardinal Hotel
#10 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keen

Address: 425 High Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Keen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Keen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.