We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Trip Advisors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronet Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coronet Motel to your Saves list
Coronet Motel
2455 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Thank you, Trip Advisors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Like several other reviewers, we needed a simple, inexpensive place to stay for one night near Stanford. Based on TA reviews, we chose this place. It's not perfect but, value for money, it's the best bargain around Stanford. The **only** drawback this place has is that it's on El Camino, which is a busy 4-lane street, so there is some traffic noise. I sleep with ear plugs anyway, so it wasn't a bother for me. The woman working at the front desk was extremely helpful, even bringing us a lightweight blanket more to our liking that the duvet on the bed. It was 80+ degrees when we arrived and I smiled when I saw the air conditioning unit -- It was just like the ones we encountered in Southeast Asia, super efficient. The rooms have been recently remodeled and they are very nice. The bathroom, with the glass-enclosed shower stall and tile walls and floor, was definitely a step above any similar-priced place I've ever stayed. There was a little kitchenette, a good desk and office chair, and free WiFi. Back when I was traveling for business this would have been ideal. HIghly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
7
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Needed to stay somewhere one night to visit Stanford. Most places in Palo Alto are very expensive or very questionable. I booked here based on other reviews.

When we pulled up, my wife thought I had made a big mistake. From the outside, just an old questionable motel. But the rooms were very updated, and very nice, and the beds very comfortable. It was also very clean, even the bathroom sparkled. It was plenty good for a quick stop for the night.

My wife was a bit sketchy with the location on the strip, but I've stayed in Palo Alto on the strip before (at Creekside) and was not worried about it.

And Izzy's Brooklyn Bagels was right around the corner. And the Stanford visitor was about 7 blocks away. That worked for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Coronet was the perfect place and the right price! It is newly renovated and they have the best mattress I have slept on in a hotel- ever! The place is clean- the owners are friendly and it is conveniently located on the free shuttle route to Stanford-plus walking distance to nice restaurants and groceries. We were very pleased with our two nights here!

Room Tip: no elevator so if you dont want to hike up stairs with your luggage then ask for a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night while visiting friends nearby. The rooms all appear to be the same: a small efficiency with living area / kitchennette in front half and bedroom / closet / bath in back half. Bath had nice walkin shower only. The room had lots of natural light and ventilation from the rear operable windows. Check in and parking were smooth. There is a nearby commercial street that had a farmer's market on Sunday morning - but nice 50's style shopping street on the rest of thedays. I found everything extremely clean and comfortable and would definitely stay here again. The photo is of the concrete block wall around the small kidney shaped swimming pool - Go Saints!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a such a wonderful experience here. Husband and wife that own it were so helpful and nice. They really made us feel at home. The rooms are newly renovated, clean, and spacious. Especially liked the little kitchette area. Lots of parking and it was right outside our room, so we had an easy time transporting our luggage and belonging in and out of our room. The motel is also near places to eat too. We had a bad experience with another hotel, so we called Coronet Motel that same day we checked into the other hotel, to see if they had rooms available, and Coronet were willing to accomodate us. They are awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, newly renovated rooms. Great friendly staff, a little road noise. Very comfortable bed. I just can't say enough nice things about this place. Great value! Staff was so helpful with public transportation schedules. Did I tell you wAs a single woman alone on this stay and felt VERY safe! Don't miss this jewel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This place is very clean and has a simple elegance. I had a very enjoyable stay at this motel, and the front desk was very courteous. Even though it is a motel, it is probably better than many hotels. It is also close to many restaurants and Stanford University.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronet Motel

Address: 2455 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coronet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronet Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.