We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Hotel California
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palo Alto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
2431 Ash Street, Corner of California Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Palo Alto B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our second extended stay at Hotel California and it was just as pleasant as the first. Probably the most conveniently located hotel in town. California Ave has a dozen restaurants: Subway is nearby and down the street is Cho's dim sum stand, almost next door to a price fixe $200 per person place. Palo Alto's best wine shop (Vin, Vino, Wine) and weekday bus service to Stanford and the VA hospital.

The hotel has a shared full kitchen and two markets are nearby. Coffee/doughnuts/fruit in the morning, and a washing machine you can use in the evenings.

It is not to everyone's taste: the rooms are small and the furniture is antiquey, but my wife and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
1
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Most motels in Palo Alto are on The Strip (El Camino) and run like one. They may be OK, but for $100 a night, Hotel California is on a real street, with a great coffee shop next door and great places to eat or have a drink just steps away. Most notably, it's run like a country inn from my childhood - personal touches, a shared kitchen and lovely patio. Fruits, breads and coffee set out early each morning. Beds very comfortable. Rooms are small, quaint, and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The rooms are tiny and the TVs sure have about 20 years behind them. The shower was almost too small for a 6'/200lb person, and the closet and the bed should've gone to an antiques shop. However the location is fantastic, and the kitchen is nice. I expected more from the "complimentary breakfast" though. The free wireless internet works well, and the patio inside is a nice place for a morning cup of tea or an evening a smoke.

Room Tip: Check the size of the shower and the age of the closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

Our room (119) was infested with bed bugs. I trust they're remedying the situation, but beware. I've stayed there many times, and I generally like the place. But I probably won't again any time soon. Pay no attention to my ratings; I just wanted to mention this issue.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

This is the smallest hotel I've ever stayed in. I am literally not sure a fat person would fit into the shower. The decor and amenities are laughably outdated and meager. It has a kitchen and free breakfast if you enjoy bad coffee and frozen pastries.The management, though, was friendly, and this hotel has a quaint charm to it. The best part is it's location. It is a few blocks from CalTrain and from Marguerite. The Stanford campus is a nice walk away, and there are several restaurants and coffee shops nearby. It's one of the cheaper options around and transportation convenience and free Internet also helped make it good for a budget. Basically, it's a good option if you just want someplace cheap, clean and convenient to stay at night while you do other things most of the time. I stayed there for a Stanford Reunion and it was perfect for that purpose.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec city
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located but is so overpriced! The room was very very small. Everything was so old (bed, linens, pillows,13'' tv, AC, furniture). The clearly have not spent any money to update the rooms for a long time. Nevertheless, it was very clean. There is a 24 hours kitchen available to the guest and a basic continental breakfast (cereals, toasts, costco muffins). They also have a free wifi internet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

Absolutely a total dump - someone in a cafe on University recommended it - so I thought "how bad could it be" - Palo Alto - near Stanford etc - Ugh! It was the sorriest excuse for a hotel I have ever seen - I moved to the Four Seasons as early as I could the next morning!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 2431 Ash Street, Corner of California Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Palo Alto
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.