We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walk from downtown, also reception venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth F. Gamble Garden

Elizabeth F. Gamble Garden
1431 Waverly Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
650-329-1356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 36 things to do in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Picnicking, Leisure education
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice walk from downtown, also reception venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very well-kept gardens and home in early 20th century bungalow style. It's a little more than a mile one way from the Palo Alto train station. Walking clubs (people 55+) often go there for an excursion. You can bring a picnic. It's in a residential neighborhood and there is no food for sale nearby. Because it's run by a nonprofit, this is also a relatively inexpensive (for Palo Alto) place to hold a reception. Probably not worth a special trip unless you are a garden buff, but it's a rare oasis of peace and quiet in Palo Alto.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely and tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was fortunate to attend a reception here. What a charming place. Glorious flowers and very tranquil. If you enjoy nature go wander the paths and soak up the beauty of nature.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I go often to the Gamble Garden. It's always popping with color, and the sound of water from the many water features throughout, creates a peaceful setting -- wander about with friends or sit quietly to contemplate the beauties of nature. You may even catch a glimpse of Fred the cat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I wanted to test a new macro lens for my Mikon and decided to visit the Gamble Garden. Great variety of flowering plants, small garden enclaves for rest and conversation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A nice walking destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This garden is our focal point for walks in the Professorville part of Palo Alto with its varied architecture. The gardens are a pretty good example of "best practices," so home gardeners can get tips for their own schedules. For example, we prune our roses when they prune theirs. It's also a wedding venue for small groups.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth F. Gamble Garden also viewed

 

Been to Elizabeth F. Gamble Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth F. Gamble Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.