We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Memorial Church of Stanford University

The Memorial Church of Stanford University
Palo Alto, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Romanesque church sits in the most historic section of campus, the main quadrangle.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was fortunate to attend a couple different weddings at the Stanford Memorial Church. It's simply a truly beautiful place to spend any time in, even the kids seem to sense the serenity and change their usual behaviour in accordance.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    22
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place to visit. So much history and style. They have evenets every night, most are free for Stanford students and faculty.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The face of Stanford University”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's on every picture of Stanford campus and is a gorgeous church with wonderful mosaic work on it. Lot of history too. The Rodin sculptures in the garden in front, the quad, all make great pictures and memories

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I wandered around the Stanford campus while visiting my friend in Palo Alto. I love a good church and knew I had to step inside of this one. It was one of the most ornately decorated churches I've seen in the U.S. The mosaics were to die for, especially when the sunlight hit them and the gold seemed to light up. It's definitely a must-see while you're in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Catch a music recital if you're in the area. Wonderful acoustics. Beautiful stained glass windows. The organ is out of this world.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Memorial Church of Stanford University also viewed

 

Been to The Memorial Church of Stanford University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Memorial Church of Stanford University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.