We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garden Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Cowper Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Flash Sale
Ranked #2 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Irvine, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We picked this place based on location with all the wonderful restaurants, and shops in Downtown Palo Alto.

We had the absolute BEST stay in this hotel! From the moment you pull up in the Valet, to the way they greet you in the hotel lobby, to entering your room - you feel like VIP in this hotel!

GREAT location, right around the corner from Peet's coffee and tea, CPK directly across the street, and just a vast array of amazing restaurants, and shops!

The room was wonderfully decorated - not overdone, and very clean. It had a nice combination of being elegant with a cozy, homey feel to it as well :)

We also stayed with our baby, and they had a lovely crib for him waiting when we arrived with nice crib bumpers attached.

They also had complimentary coffee and an assortment of baked goods on each floor - we didn't even have to get into the elevator to get them, they were right around the corner waiting for us!

We would absolutely stay here again on our next trip!

Location is PERFECT, customer service is OUTSTANDING, and the surrounding restaurants, shops, and just the ambience of Downtown Palo Alto is well worth the splurge!

Can't wait to return here again soon! :)

Room Tip: We asked for a King Suite with a separate bedroom with a door - perfect if staying with baby - also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear ButterBean21,
I am absolutely delighted to hear about you wonderful stay here at The Garden Court Hotel. Everything we strive for and hope that our guests experience will be-you have so graciously shared that we did accomplish it. It is reviews like this that make everything we do worth it.
It is such a collaboration of hardwork, creativity and commitment of our team that makes it all happen. Thank you for the BEST, VIP, PERFECT & OUTSTANDING- I just want you to know how much it truly means from the bottom of my heart. I hope you will be our guest again and I would very much like to meet you to thank you in person.

Best wishes,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    30
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
52
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The garden court is a very cool boutique hotel off university right in the town of Palo.great shopping and restaurants all in walking distance.the rooms are well laid out,great bedding,and amenities.service is unobtrusive,and attentive.complementary fruit ,chocolate,coffee and danish throughout the hotel.great change from typical bussiness hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Tonytavel,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We appreciate such thoughtful feedback regarding your stay and that our special amenities are enjoyed. I am very happy that you found us all the way from Switzerland. Business travel is a very strong part of our guest demographic, it is very refreshing to hear that we are a great change from the typical business hotel. I hope you will return again.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is my second visit to the Garden Court, and it was as good as I remembered, with very welcoming staff right at the curb to get the luggage, a quick checkin and beautiful, quiet room with every amenity we could need. The location of course is perfect, a few steps away from University Avenue, etc. Just would like a little more time to get breakfast in the morning, maybe until 9:30 am - we were on holiday!

Room Tip: We had a room on the street and we were woken early several mornings by garbage trucks. You might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear mooreca53,
I am so happy to hear we we able to provide a second experience that you both enjoyed. The details you mention about welcoming staff at curb ready to get luggage, registration quick( although, informative, I hope) are so important and what we strive to achieve. I have made a notation in your profile to hold the breakfast a little later and assign a Courtyard room for your next vist. I do hope it won't be too long of a wait for your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our "In Town" Getaway. We live in Palo Alto and staying right in the heart of downtown overnight was a real pleasure. The Garden Court treated us like royalty and every part of our stay was phenomenal. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and we hardly even knew that it was already the next day when we woke up because we slept so soundly! Being right in the heart of downtown Palo Alto, we enjoyed just exploring our own town and just walking up and down University Avenue made us feel like we were actually in some romantic destination far away! The best part of the Garden Court stay for us was the staff of the hotel. From pulling up to the valet parking to pull down bed service upon returning to our room, everyone was smiling and enthusiastic and extremely helpful. We had the true luxury hotel getaway experience and would highly recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: You must experience the Presidential Suite on the top floor. It has it's own private balcony, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear johnwadeking,
It is so nice to hear about your "In Town" Getaway. Your description of your stay is exactly what we strive for. To have made you feel like you were somewhere far away, to only be a few feet from home-even better. I do hope you will make it a more frequent experience. It gives us a chance to raise our own bar of creativity and make the next time even more memorable. Until next time...

All the best,

Jeffery Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is top notch. The staff is very helpful and on it at all times. The location cannot get any better. Location is great for just walking around most any where is Palo Alto. The rooms are very spacious and staff is fabulous. Beds are very comfortable. Loved the little balconies that look out over the interior court yard. Great Italian restaurant attached to the hotel but not a typical "hotel" restaurant. Was only able to have breakfast there but food was fabulous and service was exceptional as well. Will definitely make sure I try it for dinner next time because there will be a next time at this very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sbible,
Thank you for the outstanding review, as a senior reviewer your experience as a traveler is most respected. I am thrilled you enjoyed walking downtown as our location so perfectly allows for.
Top notch, fabulous, very helpful and on it at all times is delightful to hear. I just cannot thank you enough for taking the time to say such wonderful things about the Garden Court. Please visit again soon.

Jeffery Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My recent stay at the Garden Court Hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff were gracious and attentive to the details that distinguish a luxury hotel from the chain hotel experience. The rooms are gorgeous and very quiet, with beautiful private balconies. Best of all, the location is in the heart of downtown Palo Alto, walking distance from dozens of excellent restaurants and bars. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear QC2themax,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that we exceeded your expectations. As an independent hotel, it is the special attention to details that we depend on to set us apart from the other branded hotels. Because we are small we are pleased that we can offer a warm, friendly and more persoanl touch that you so graciously shared that you enjoyed.Thank you for sharing your comments and for highly recommending us.

Best regards,

Jeffery Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and love love love this hotel! From the Marble bathrooms, to the comfy beds, to the wonderful staff, great location, excellent service, etc, etc, etc! The nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. It is very welcoming and has a something special that no other hotel offers. Everyone is smiling and is very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans on visiting Palo Alto or to anyone who just wants a nice place to get away for some relaxation. While you are there, be sure to visit Il Forniao as is has great food and happy hour is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Every room I have stayed in was excellent so it is hard to recommend which one I liked best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Heather H,
I am over joyed by your review-It is most rewarding to know that you feel the same way that I do about The Garden Court Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that everyone is smiling and wonderful-I am grateful to have such a devoted team who truly care about the guest experience. Thank you for sharing the love and for putting a big smile on my face.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Address: 520 Cowper Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.