We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property located in the heart of Palo Alto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Court Hotel to your Saves list
Garden Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Cowper Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off 3rd Night
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful property located in the heart of Palo Alto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a boutique hotel nestled in the heart of Palo Alto, walking distance to restaurants & shops. The rooms are beautifully appointed with Molten Brown toiletries. There are complimentary pastries and coffee for breakfast in the lobby and chocolates on arrival. The staff are friendly and helpful. The italian restaurant downstairs offers a good lively bistro setting. Room rates are expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    32
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
58
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

No major complaints about this hotel other than it's overpriced. Nice looking, fantastic location, friendly staff, quiet and comfortable. Only a couple of oddities. First, the in-house restaurant seems to offer only Italian food. I am originally from Italy, and I'm definitely NOT going to have chicken parm when ordering room service in Palo Alto. Second, instead of flipping through a binder like in every other hotel, in order to find hotel info you have to use a horribly slow "interactive" system that you access through the TV remote. And that includes room service: you might actually starve before managing to navigate through the system to get to the menu. Come on people, sometimes low tech is better (especially when the "high tech" solution is from the 1990's). But those are details. The only real disappointment was with the gym -- tiny and (at least on one morning) smelling like dirty socks. Upon checking out I was told that the hotel offers free passes to a health club nearby, but of course that info -- like everything else -- was only available through the interactive TV system.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I always enjoy a good hotel but I want to get what I pay for. They charge the price of a Good 5 Star hotel but lack the service that comes with it. It's a shame because the setting is nice. Rooms are good. Service is EVERYTHING when your traveling and poor service from the front desk that is to busy talking about there night out the night before is not good. The restaurant could learn a lesson about good service also

Room Tip: 3 trips have shown me a lack of service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear MichaelW
I would like to invite you to contact me directly regarding your stay. I am interested in learning more specific information about your recent disappointing experiences so that I can ensure it never happens again.

I am available at your convenience.

Resepectfully,

Jeffery L. Philllips
Rooms Division Manager
408-718-5333
jeffery@gardencourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcat26
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while attending a wedding at the hotel. The location and service were great. We could walk to restaurants and shops. Everyone was very friendly. Breakfast was good. I loved the room and our generous sized balcony. The comfortable bed combined with listening to the fountain in the courtyard made for a very good night's sleep. My favorite part of our stay had to be the bathroom. The marble was beautiful, and I could spend a week in the shower. The dual showerheads were heaven to someone who is used to zero water pressure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent New Year's Eve in this hotel and it was the best! The room was spacious and the bed was super comfy. The amenities are really top notch - complimentary fruit and chocolate and the bathroom had everything you can think of. The staff are very gracious and the best part was a handwritten card from the GM thanking me for my stay. Really first class hotel, reasonable prices and right off the main part of University Avenue. Heaven!!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard have exterior furniture that make a great hangout in warm weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights recently for business. This time I had a very large room and it was just outside the complimentary coffee service that is set up on each floor in the morning, so it was even more convenient to scurry outside for some nice fresh coffee! The bed is incredibly comfortable and the room has everything you'd need for a great stay, including free wireless! It also does not have a generic feel in the design, so I really appreciate the aesthetic. And the location is great- so nice to be in-town and not on El Camino or next to the highway. I will always stay here when I'm in Palo Alto!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear sfbarb,
We are delighted to hear all the wonderful comments you wrote about your experience here with us. We are most grateful to know that your first experience inspired you to return and that we made an even better impression the second time around. As a very experienced traveler your expert insight is most valued and meaningful to us. I hope to have the pleasure of thanking you in person-Please come back soon.
Happy New Year!!!

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Garden Court Hotel had an excellent location at Cowper and University Avenue, where all the shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. New Apple store on University Avenue. Valet parking only - $17 per day with underground parking. Very nice hotel restaurant. Check in lobby is on the second floor. Valet service is on Cowper Street. Nice visit, fairly expensive at a nightly rate for our room of $379. Recommend.

Room Tip: Deluxe bedroom with a king bed, large with nice decor. Balcony and Eco friendly lighting. Stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear EdwardSanDiego,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving stay here at The Garden Court Hotel. The option to stroll downtown or simply stay in and enjoy our guestrooms are the kind of options we are pleased our location is able to give. Great that you were able to enjoy Downtown Palo Alto and experience the new Apple Store. We do hope you will return.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Address: 520 Cowper Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.