We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak Motel Palo Alto

Save Saved
You added The Oak Motel Palo Alto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Oak Motel Palo Alto
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4279 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Palo Alto
1 review
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel was clean, and the service was pretty good. However, the room itself was seriously lacking. Our bathroom didnt even have handsoap, and this is the first hotel ive seen where an iron wasnt provided per room.. When we asked for one, the front counter stated that they had once iron, but didnt know where it was. Needless to say I expect for for a room that cost over $100.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
4
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I had stayed at the Oak Motel on occassion since 1995 without any issues other than it not exactly being the cleanliest or lightest of places. But of recent times, the Managers of the place have become rude, unpleasant, unaccommodating, the clientele has become those of homeless people and daily construction workers or drunken students, and the cleanliness has gone from not great to simply unsanitary. Amongst a slew of issues at this place recently, the absolute worst was when the toilet in my tiny room flooded the room, literally spilling urine/feces water throughout the carpet soaking everything... When it first started happening, I immediately called the front desk and told them it was an emergency but did they send anyone...um nope! So then I ran around the building trying to find housekeeping to get towels but when I found her, what did she do....attempt to plunge the toilet again, the last thing you do when it is already overflowing all over the room! (note - you stop the water from running by shutting it down) Hours later, after the situation was finally under control, the room still reeking of excretion, rather than call me and offer to move me rooms, give me a discount, ask if my belongings are ok, instead they call me up and tell me that the toilet had too much paper so it must be my fault that it happened!!!!!!!!!!!!! Um...I had been in a separate room for 2 weeks at the same hotel before that with no toilet issues, and really is that the way you treat a loyal customer of neartly twenty years?? Best part, they never cleaned it up even after I complained about the smell, and when I checked out, they immediately checked in someone else without cleaning it still. Have fun whomever you are that entered that room wondering "what that smell is?" and stepping on a urine soaked carpet you don't know about. Oh, and then there was the homeless man they kept letting stay underneath me who kept me awake night after night with blasting television, a disgusting whooping cough disease, and an old car full of trash parked in front of my room. And I haven't even started on the A*@#hole Manager who yelled at me day after day because since they wouldn't offer me any kind of weekly or monthly special, I opted to pay day by day (since they weren't giving me any type of discount) so that I could put my money towards an apt as soon as I found one, but that's a whole nother story...Long story short, they are cheap yes, but you get what you pay for...Take my advice and go one block down to stay at the Country Inn Motel, better rates, better rooms, and much much better service...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Nice large room with small fridge and microwave. Very clean. Good maid service. Breakfast was included but i never tried it. Convenient parking lot. I had no complaints other than the internet (free WIFI) didn't work well. I actually connected to the free WIFI from the hotel across the street and it was much faster. For the price it's a good deal.

Room Tip: I was farther away from the reception and El Camino Real Street which made for a quieter room but ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were very pleased to find such a comfortable, clean, quiet and well-equipped room at a reasonable price in Palo Alto. The owner was very courteous and helpful and the breakfast was simple and adequate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This is the price range of motel where you go because you need a place to stay, not because you expect it to be nice; the most you hope for is no horror stories. The upshot: No horror stories to report, this time anyway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011 via mobile

big rooms, comfortable bed, very poor breakfast, clean enough, price with coupon from free coupon book, thatvyou can get on every gas station, was like 2/3 of online price

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Convenient location for Stanford. Room was fairly clean but not functional. No hair dryer, many outlets did not work, not enough towels, and key failed to work several times. Only the location could justify this overpriced motel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oak Motel Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Motel Palo Alto

Also Known As:
The Oak Motel Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
The Oak Motel Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 4279 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Motel Palo Alto 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Oak Motel Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak Motel Palo Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.