We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, very tasty sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jin Sho

Jin Sho
454 S. California Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306
650-321-3454
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 315 restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
california
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good place, very tasty sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Jin Sho is easily the best place for sushi in Palo Alto. It is a friendly place, it is fun to sit at the counter and watch the chef prepare the food. It is always good, some of the combinations tend to be more fusion, but are always tasty, nevertheless. Especially good is the salmon with jalapeno sauce salad and spicy tuna salad. Service can be a bit disorganized, especially during peek hours, but servers are nice and polite anyway. Always good food, never disappoints.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    11
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great creative Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wonderful sushi and hot food. Clean, light and fresh. Always perfectly seasoned. Soft shell crab appetizer is delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wow! So good I came back the next night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Everyone raves on how good Nobu is. Well, we are fortunate that the Bay Area is host to two previous chefs from Nobu and we were treated to this high standard of food. We had the omakase and was not disappointed with every fish. I particularly enjoyed the sushi and grilled black cod with miso.

So good that I had to come back the subsequent night!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Steve Jobs Had Good Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had heard this place was an area favorite of Steve Jobs, and I wasn't disappointed when I tried it myself. Good sushi at decent prices. Friendly staff as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Palo Alto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

By far the best sushi in Palo Alto and Mountain View.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jin Sho also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA

Been to Jin Sho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jin Sho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.