We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, cozy and delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Room

The Wine Room
520 Ramona Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
650 322-1292
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 273 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Murphys, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, cozy and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The food was amazing and the service was perfect. We were having such a fun and romantic evening and our waiter caught our vibe. He was very confident in giving his opinion on menu options and when we couldn't decide on an appetizer he said he would take care of it...and he did. An evening to remember!,

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stanford, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite place pre-dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've been here numerous times. Nice ambiance, good wine...perfect to have a drink before dinner...love the Wine Room

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went there to meet friends & liked its atmosphere. Sofa by the fire place, grouped settee, very intimate, relaxing, great for conversation. Better than the usual bar option.
Staff were friendly although at the time a bit under staffed. We had 2 bottles of red & both great. Also tried the charcuterie, not bad but the ham was a little dry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This seems to be the main wine bar in Palo Alto, and it's quite charming in terms of interior and decor. There's a great back room with couches if you'd like private conversation in a comfy environment. But overall I find it a bit stuffy and overpriced, I prefer Vino Locale or Gravity - the crowd is a bit less pretentious in both.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Exceptional wine place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great wines in very relaxed atmosphere!

People who know my reviews know how hard it is to get 5 tar review from me. Out of 100+ places on different websites I gave no more than 5 maximum ratings. Mi reserve it only for places with outstanding food/drinks, great service and comfortable setting.

The Wine Room has it all! We tried 5 wines recommended by the staff and each of them was really very good. We ate few cheese plates and at the end the either pointed out, that the service was already included, which has happened to me for the first time the US!

So I recommend this place to all wine lovers, amateurs and people who just want to spend great time in unique place !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Room also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to The Wine Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.