We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING Campus.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford University

Stanford University
Palo Alto, CA 94305
650-723-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Palo Alto
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Breeding ground for Silicon Valley businesses. The founders of Hewlett Packard, Yahoo!, and Sun Microsystems all passed through the doors of this institution.
Mountain View
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“STUNNING Campus.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It feels weird to write a review for a university as an attraction. We all know that Stanford would rank 5 stars academically anyway, but it really is the most breathtaking campus I've ever seen. I fell in love with it when I was in college, enrolled elsewhere (cruel twist, as I wish I had discovered it sooner), but now that I live in the Bay Area I always make it a point to take my visitors here. Make sure you take photos with the esplanade, the statues, the church, and the fountains. Definitely stop by the bookstore too, as it's pretty massive for a university store.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    82
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Pack walking shoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Fountains, benches, inspirational sayings, totem poles, this campus has it all and so beautifully laid out. They're careful with natural resources as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Beautiful campus. Friendly people. Lots to see. Stop in at the visitor information for a map to tour on your own or have a student tour you around. Tours are about an hour, but they only go three times a day ( I believe).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow! I never imagined!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When I asked my Mountain View kids to swing me by Stanford University for a look, I had no idea it would mean lots of walking in a park-like atmosphere and taking an elevator high in the sky. But that's what happened. Apparently, Stanford boasts a huge variety of trees in a setting that is not only shady but inviting. People are outside everywhere on this huge expanse of campus. The place is alive!
The buildings are California gorgeous, especially the carillon tower that gives you a birds-eye view of the entire school. Guides are friendly and the whole atmosphere makes you feel that learning can indeed, be fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful campus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The campus is beautiful and easy to navigate. There are many free shuttles that can take you around the campus. There's a lot of construction around the hospital so try to no go at peak hospital hours or you may be stuck in traffic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanford University also viewed

 

Been to Stanford University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.