We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmdale Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Palmdale Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palmdale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 West Palmdale Blvd, Palmdale, CA 93551 (Formerly Ramada)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Palmdale
Buena Park, California, United States
1 review
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We came for a softball tournament and was looking forward to enjoying a little rest on our downtime. The 1st thing I noticed was the hotel seemed dated and dingy (reminded me of a Las Vegas hotel that has not been renovated in over 20 years). The TV had poor reception. Our bath towels were not only sand paper rough, but 2 of them were either dirty or stained. The bathroom itself had the paint peeling off the walls. You could feel the breeze coming thru the windows (when the windows were closed), which of course meant that you could clearly hear all the cars on the freeway! The complmentry breakfast did not include the juice that my children requested. Totaly not worth the $92 a night rate that we were charged. I would say it is one step above Motel 6!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    31
    31
    28
See reviews for
53
25
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quartz Hill, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hubby and I wanted a night away and purchased the express deal on Priceline. Was not a 3 star experience at all. If we were told it was a 2 star when we bought it then we would have been not that upset about sleeping on a hard bed, being originally put into a handicapped room with broken tile and no counter top in the bathroom. Front desk help wanted us to pay $20.00 more for what is called a room with a "balcony" which is a 3'x3' concrete non private pad. Will not be going there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Waited on the phone with the front desk for ten min she forgot about me. Got to the hotel one person ahead of me waited 15 min to check in the lady in front has no clue and very unfriendly. I stayed at a motel 6 cause of that night

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a great stay from time I checked in until I checked out. Donna in the resturante was awesome and so freindly.. A joy to see her every morning. Hotel Staff at check in was very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for a get-away night from home. They have done a lot to clean up this hotel, although it still needs a little work. The staff was very friendly and the room clean. The bed and pillows were perfect - very comfortable. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and pool, although it would be nice if they had snacks and drinks available poolside. Breakfast was included (best cup of coffee I ever had). It also would be nice if the bar opened earlier than 5pm. Overall we had a nice time and enjoyed ourselves, for the cost ($70 w/ AAA discount) it was worth it. We also ordered the bucket of beer (which comes in a large clam shell rather than a bucket - very nice) for $10 when we made our reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Noisy (people partying everywhere), the kids got their first look at some "working women" who where entering the hotel. When we asked for a different room the woman at the front desk said no but we could get our money back...low and behold they charged us anyway. Now trying to get refunded, what a nightmare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

For some reason, Palmdale hotels are often completely sold out - I'm guessing it's because there's a lot going on at the Edwards Air Force base, so my recommendation is book early.

Not knowing I would have to stay overnight, I booked my room late in the day to discover the ONLY hotel with available rooms in all of Palmdale was the Palmdale Hotel. This happened to me twice, so I had to stay twice at this hotel.

First impressions aren't everything, but in the case of the Palmdale Hotel, they are pretty accurate. The hotel is located around the back of an industrial-looking driveway which also provides access to a storage company. The hotel is also right next to the freeway, so be sure to get a room that is on the other side of the hotel.

Check-in was quick and the staff were friendly. My 2 stars really reflect the fact that the staff really do care despite the substandard product.

And then we get to the room. It appears this hotel used to be a Ramada but for some reason was de-flagged, perhaps because it fell below chain standards? The problem is they try to offer all the amenities, but because their maintenance budget appears to be inadequate, it sets the traveler up for disappointment when basic things like lamps don't work and ice machines don't work.

Worn out carpeting, stained furniture, dark dingy halls, strange elevators that operate independent one from the other when they do actually work, and overall just tired. To claim, as the hotel does, that it is somehow 'upscale' is just not accurate.

It would be much better for the Palmdale Hotel to forget about being 'upscale' and focus on providing a quality middle-market product.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmdale Hotel

Address: 300 West Palmdale Blvd, Palmdale, CA 93551 (Formerly Ramada)
Location: United States > California > Palmdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Palmdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palmdale Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Palmdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmdale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.