We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO SMOKING ESTABLISHMENT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Palmdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Palmdale to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Palmdale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38630 Fifth Street West, Palmdale, CA 93551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Palmdale
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“NO SMOKING ESTABLISHMENT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked through a site that the hotel is anonymous until the end of purchase. At the end of transaction, this hotel comes up, which is very affordable for the area, and in my opinion, in a nice spot. However, on the travel site, it has no indication that this is a non-smoking hotel, and I feel like after so many complaints, the hotel and travel site need to work together in giving proper advertisement of accommodations and allow the customer to make a choice of whether they choose to stay in a fully non-smoking establishment or not.

It was extremely inconveniencing, due to the late hour that we checked in. I had to leave and go to the parking lot to call the travel site and see if they could help me. Hotel, nor travel site, knew if the surrounding hotels had smoking rooms available, so I got a refund from the travel site. The good thing is that I had money to purchase another room, because it takes days to receive the refund.

So, my review is solely based on the check-in experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnPalmdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Palmdale, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your insight and suggestions in improving the advertisements of accomodations for the hotel. I will investigate this further and take the necessary steps to provide a clearer understanding of our establishment when booking through travel web sites.

Tony Zilobaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
7
10
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently held a week long training program at the Palmdale Holiday Inn and stayed there as a guest. EVERYONE that I encountered, from the general manager, event manager and housekeeping services were extremely professional and friendly with a definite focus on customer satisfaction. Kudos to the management for instilling this culture. During the training event, Tina, event manager, saw that we had everything we needed / requested to ensure a successful event. Our company has used other hotel facilities in the past, not acheiving the same excellent results that we have at the Holiday Inn. I would highly recommend hosting an event here or just staying as a guest while in the Palmdale area. The rooms are very clean and cheery, equipped with everything I needed while working away from home. Great job guys, I look forward to seeing Tony, Tina, Mark and the rest of the staff on my next business trip to Palmdale.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnPalmdale, Manager at Holiday Inn Palmdale, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel. Tina, Mark, and the rest of management and staff will be moved to know they have left a very positive impression. We would love to have you again and hope to see you during your future visits to the Palmdale area.

Tony Zilobaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked this hotel for a long weekend (3 nights). Being a priority club platinum member, we got a free upgrade and coupons for breakfast + drinks which was definitely nice. However, the man who checked us in gave us breakfast coupons only for 1 morning - when we noticed that and returned to the front desk he said it was correct and that was all what we were going to get. The next evening lady at the desk explained us that they only give them 1 day in advance so you have to pick them up every day. I guess it would not hurt the guy to say that the night before. Also, we needed housekeeping only 1 day, despite that neither the cups or coffeepot got cleaned. Outdoor pool was not the biggest, but it was well maintained. Overall, the stay was nice. The staff in restaurant is very(!) nice and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnPalmdale, Manager at Holiday Inn Palmdale, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m happy to see that you enjoyed your yourself, and I will be sure to follow up on the items you mentioned. We hope to see you again soon!

-Tony Zilobaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am a fan of Holiday Inn Express and stay with HIE or HI about 250 days a year. This is my first time at the HI Palmdale. I stayed for 10 days and it was an absolute delight. The staff was fantastic, especially the restaurant's. Due to work I was forced to miss two meals there and I was deeply disappointed to be forced to eat elsewhere.

The meal vouchers are a great cost saving and the meals were excellent. The staff acted like I was an old friend that they were just overjoyed to see.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnPalmdale, Manager at Holiday Inn Palmdale, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and your continued loyalty to Holiday Inn! I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel and our staff. We hope to see you during your future visits to the Palmdale area.

-Tony Zilobaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel for a stop over on the way from LA to Death Valley. Rooms fine, quiet. Small bar and restaurant. Food ok. My only real bit of feedback and recommendation to the hotel, and this is not an issue solely with this hotel in this part of the U.S is give people time to eat their appetiser before bringing the entree. It's a bit ridiculous when you order 2 courses and the waitress stands with your entree 4 minutes after bringing your appetiser and then looks a little helpless when there's no room on the table for the food. You then need to decide which food to eat and which to leave to go cold. Seems a pretty simple issue to solve and other than that the hotel is ok.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnPalmdale, Manager at Holiday Inn Palmdale, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! Your insight is valued and I will make sure to pass this on to our restaurant staff. Hope to see you again when you’re in the Palmdale area!

-Tony Zilobaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The manager Mark, front desk Michelle and Lehua,
and Natalie have been tremendous at helping with
our stay and we will be coming back on a regular basis.
They could not have been better. Very clean, a very good
fit for us. We will probably not want to go to any of the other
Holiday Inns in Southern California, which we have been
doing on a monthly basis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnPalmdale, Manager at Holiday Inn Palmdale, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am so glad to know you enjoy our hotel so much! Thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon!

-Tony Zilobaf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

You get what they decide to give you regardless of confirmed reservation booked category. The manager and front desk staff of this hotel are unprofessional and unethical in the practice of intentionally downgrading guests apparently due to mis-management of room allocations to reservations. As a former frequent guest, I experienced consistent downgrading with no explanations, apologies or rate adjustments. Additionally I observed chronic complaints at the front desk but staff appears to be trained to take no ownership for the mis-management. My attempts to resolve this lead to no apologies or offers of future stay resolutions. Therefore I can only advise if you need a specific room type, look elsewhere with a hotel that has some integrity to meet its confirmed reservation obligations.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnPalmdale, Manager at Holiday Inn Palmdale, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the experience you described and wish to express that this is not a policy at our hotel. I am concerned about the issues you reviewed and would like to discuss them with you further. Please contact me directly at the hotel and I would love to continue this discussion with you.

-Tony Zilobaf
General Manager
661-947-8055
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Palmdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Palmdale

Address: 38630 Fifth Street West, Palmdale, CA 93551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palmdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palmdale
#4 Family Hotel in Palmdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Palmdale 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for the Antelope Valley!Welcome to the Holiday Inn Palmdale/Lancaster, a 2008 Torchbearer and Brand Excellence Award winner. Nestled off Interstate 14, Holiday Inn of Palmdale/Lancaster offers quick access to all desert attractions and the Lancaster National Soccer Center! We welcome your sports teams! Whether traveling on business or leisure, our 149 non-smoking rooms are designed to offer ultimate comfort and convenience.Our beautiful 5-story, full-service hotel is equipped with the modern amenities that savvy travelers desire including a restaurant, cocktail lounge, meeting rooms and more. Our guests can relax in our heated outdoor pool, whirlpool or engage in an exhilarating workout in the fitness center. Our on-site restaurant offers verity of menu items, or enjoy a cocktail from the lounge. The Holiday Inn of Palmdale/Lancaster offers complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel.We are located in Palmdale, CA, and just minutes away from major companies such as Lockheed Martin, Boeing, Northrop Grumman, NASA, Bae Systems, and more! Give us the opportunity to serve you and you ll quickly find that we are your home away from home.The Holiday Inn of Palmdale/Lancaster offers over 2800 square feet of flexible meeting space with access to all of your equipment needs. Our event coordinators are eager to help you plan the perfect function. Our staff will provide you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Palmdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Palmdale Hotel Palmdale
Palmdale Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Palmdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.