We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Springs favorite for locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicale

Tropicale
330 E Amado Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
760-866-1952
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tropicale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 271 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Encilia
Vancouver
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Palm Springs favorite for locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Fun place with great ambiance for a night out with friends. Service was efficient and courteous, the selection of the bar food menu rates between adequate and innovative, so nothing to complain. The prunes wrapped in bacon and stuffed with gorgonzola were delicious, other appies slightly less so. In all, a great, casual place to hang out and share stuff at a reasonable price. If you go after eight, the atmosphere turns into a party mood big time. Be prepared. I would certainly go back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    129
    27
    16
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The dishes at Tropicale leave little to be desired: creative, nicely presented, and--above all--delicious. Service is fine. My only complaint is of the noise level. It's hard to hear others at the table, especially if you're seated near the 3-piece band (which plays too loud for my liking).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great party venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Cocktails and dinner to celebrate a friend's milestone birthday. Drinks and munchies were great. Our server was superb. She saw that we were well lubricated and flawlessly transitioned us to our dinner table. The food was very good with large portions. We had a wonderful time. Not high end dining but excellent for what it is.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, disappointing service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Visited this restaurant for a second time after a good experience a few years ago. The host was very friendly and seated us quickly. The server was the main disappointment of our visit. She greeted us with "can I get you a drink". After drinks she then just asked if we were ready and didn't seem to really care of we were there. The food came out correct and was well done. After no one coming to see how the meal was we waited 15-20minutes after we were done out meal. Finally we flagged down a bus boy to clear our plates and waited more for our server to come and ask if we were ready for the bill. We didn't consider asking for a dessert menu because it took so long to get our last plates cleaned. It was a busier night but we were disappointed by no feeling if anyone cared whether we were there or not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resturant Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great for indoor or outdoor dining. Nice food selection and good portions sizes but a bit overpriced. Would defiantly return.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicale also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Tropicale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.