We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Palm Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Palm Springs to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1699 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Vancouver BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was the 3rd or 4th time we stayed at this location and we were still impressed with the overall value. The pool is exceptional. Breakfast good and the rooms are clean and equipped with microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Ours had a flat screen TV - although I understand that not all rooms have been converted yet. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Top floor would be my choice for quiet and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    137
    53
    16
    25
See reviews for
77
121
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed four nights here and were pleasantly surprised.The location is perfect for down town Palm Springs and the other desert communities. The room was a decent size with very fresh bedding and towels. It could have done with being modernised a bit, nothing a fresh coat of paint would not have solved. The pool facilities were really good with lots of sun beds available. Breakfast was the usual standard fair, nothing hot apart from the waffles. However it was more than adequate. Again however, the breakfast serving area needs to be bigger and modernised. There were plenty seats outside to eat at but it was very cramped inside and plastic tablecloths while functional are a bit passe. All Staff were really pleasant and helpful.
This is a good value budget hotel, but not for those looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Always a top floor and away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Let me first tell you that I have stayed here several times before and have had good experiences. The weekend March 21st - 23rd was not one of them. First, they gave me a smoking room when I requested a non-smoking room. I really don't have to tell you how bad the room smelled, but I was stuck cause it was a full weekend. Second, the pressure in the shower was just a dribble of water. I complained about it but it took a full day until someone would come and attempt to fix it. It was a little better, but still terrible water pressure. Third, it was definitely not the quietest stay. We were awaken a couple times by drunk patrons who do not know how to hold their liquor. This was at 3 in the morning. Fourth, room was not clean, no toiletries left. coffee wasn't replaced. This was definitely a bad experience here.. Too bad. I really did like this place on my prior visits.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Why would you want to book anywhere else? Good size comfortable, clean rooms. A good breakfast .A pleasant pool and spa bath but best of all the Staff. They could not be more pleasant or helpful. The location of the motel is excellent and gives easy access to all the amenities of the Coachella Valley. I would happily return to the Vagabond Inn.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor directly opposite the reception and experienced no undue noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was tired of the Budget Motel with a number in its name, but I did need to spend only a little on lodging so a friend suggested Vagabond Inn. I spent two weekends there and think it is very good value for the money. You get a bigger room than the Number place and the room is clean with microwave and fridge. the décor is pleasant enough, if generic, and the room was clean, smelled nice, and was spacious. The beds were comfortable and the TV, while not a flat panel type, worked fine. Each time I was on the third floor, reached by an outside balcony, and this worked fine. If I had any quibble at all, it might be with coffee. I liked the generous breakfast choices (I made my own waffle each day) but they seemed to run out of coffee during peak times and the overworked lady in the dining room had a hard time keeping up. Again though, the front desk staff is first class and everyone there is accommodating. The swimming pool is large and very nice too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merishausen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed for several times in the last 4 years, always nice stays. Now we noticed that cleaning staff makes shortcuts, as corners of rooms stay with accumulated dust, hairs. Carpet of the first room we got seemed rather in need of some attention and room smelled bad. Were given another room which was fine. Still a good destination

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My Wife and I flew into LA X, rented a car via Enterprise, and drove to Palm Springs after a full day and 12 hour flight. You could imagine the jet lag, and without any complaint the Clerk Leyla organised an early check in for us when everywhere else in town seemed booked out. The pool and spa were much appreciated.
Thank you for our short stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem the same, clean and well organised, room service was so well organised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Palm Springs

Address: 1699 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Vagabond Hotel Palm Springs
Vagabond Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.