We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs to your Saves list
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This property at one time must have been fabulous. The setting, views, and location are great. However, everything is showing signs of deterioration and cost cutting. Our room was tired and the tile floors always looked unclean, probably because of the many chips. Bedding and linen barely passable. Ice machines in pool areas not working. Breakfast minimal and variety limited. John at front desk accommodating and checked us in before 4:00 pm time limit. We would look for other possibilities before returning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Charles,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us and the hotel staff and management strive to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's. The hotel is continuously upgrading the guestrooms, public areas and overall service and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    106
    46
    25
    32
See reviews for
67
101
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you have children and expect them to have FUN swimming in 80+ degree temperatures while staying in this run-down facility - forget it. This place only allows people under the age of 18 in a 3 1/2foot deep pool while there is much bigger 4 1/2 deep pool just steps away. The front desk guy, David, will act pleasant while he takes your money the night you check in but in the morning he'll quickly lie to your face. He'll tell you that there is no manager on site to take your complaint and tell you a Korean lady owns this dive. Then he'll call Frank and lie to him and tell him that your family of 4 jumped the locked fences at 900 am in the morning to swim in the pool. The gates will be unlocked with other guests sitting poolside but DAVID will still lie to FRANK on the phone and FRANK will continue to tell you, his paying guest, that you should read the signs posted in the doors by the pools. Even if you are traveling from out of state DAVID and FRANK expect you to read these signs from your home. They will tell you all about the pool on the phone but fail to mention this MAJOR detail.
They also have limited pillow supplies, the worlds dirtiest and stained carpets, cloudy off white water from the tap, towels big enough to dry off a chihuahua and the most limited "continental breakfast" in Palm Springs. Expect a cold bagel and instant coffee.
I'd recommend this hotel to no one including people who like to be treated like trash, lied to and cheated.
I bet DAVID and FRANK's mothers would be so proud of them as men.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management take great pride in delivering the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's. The vast majority of comments about our hotel are very positive and your experience was certainly the exception and not the rule. We look forward to exceeding all of your expectations on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are happy with this place - the room was larger than we thought with a frig and micro so we liked it even though it could have used a better cleaning -- the light switch in the bathroom was grimy when we got there and the housekeepers skipped our cleaning the first day (management - check up on those housekeepers). The rest of the decor was dated but reasonably clean. The common grounds, great! Beautiful pools, steam room, hot tub and nice and quiet. The exercise room is pretty standard for these days and everything works, we used it and are happy. The other reviews are right, though: the breakfast is very skimpy - just carbs like toast, bagels, cereal, sad-looking danishes, not-so-great coffee and sugar water juice. Management: Hard boiled eggs, yogurt and a waffle maker wouldn't cost much and would bring you up to speed with real continental breakfasts. And could you just add a few more chairs?

The location is great -- we walked the mile to town and its a close drive to anywhere you want to go. The price was very good and only went up $40.00 for the Friday, not hundreds. We'll likely be back -- we are right next to expensive resorts and enjoying cold drinks by a lovely pool for a good price.

Room Tip: we stayed on second floor and it was quiet but honestly I think it would be quiet enough on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sending us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel continues to look for ways to improve the overall hotel experience and we will certainly take your recommendations into account. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just returned from a first time stay (5-days Sun-Thurs) at this property. Since we were busy attending a tennis tournament during most of our stay and really only needed a clean, comfy place to sleep at night, we wanted a convenient, affordable hotel. This hotel fit the bill perfectly.

Since our stay was not over a weekend, the hotel was not terribly full and we got a great rate. Our room was better than expected (not as outdated as some reviews have said), although the carpet was a bit stained and needed replacing and the TV was old. The fact that our room had two separate sinks/vanity areas was an unexpected and convenient amenity. The beds were comfy and the room was very quiet. The adult pool was large, quiet, and clean. The small workout room by the pool has minimal equipment. We found the hotel staff to be efficient and friendly. The only disappointment was that the continental breakfast was VERY minimal and was served in a conjested area with little seating. You're better off spending a few bucks and eating a nice breakfast at either of the two nearby full-service restaurants (next door or directly across the street). They're both excellent.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back corner on the 2nd floor (#233). There were fewer people in that area so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Bill,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. I will be certain to pass on your kind words to the staff and management. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wonderful Hotel. CLEAN,FRIENDLY, VERY HELPFUL STAFF,I love that you have your own patio area.Also a separate pool for families. Totally enjoyed my stay. Prices soo reasonable expecially for PALMSPRINGS Hotel centrally located easy walk. Lots of Great Restaurants nearby.Also included a nice continental breakfast.Can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: Across from adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's not like me to put friends visiting me up at a hotel for a few days without first checking it out but I heard from another local friend that this place was pretty cool. Cool? The place is awsome! My friends enjoyed the hotel so much we spent most of their stay at the hotel pool and not mine! The staff was top notch, the grounds were very nice quiet (until our thrird cocktail poolside anyway..lol) and the rooms were extreamly comfortable. We also took full advantage of the free continental breakfast each morning and endless cups of coffee. The best part was, my friends have decided they would rather stay at the Garden Vista durring future visits instead of my place. Perfect! Less cleaning up after guest for me!!

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the back of the property you get a pool view from your patio and a mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Brad,
Thank you for the compliments and we are thrilled to hear that your guest's enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to their next stay with us when their travels take them to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here when we first arrived in Palm Springs because it offered resonable value and was on the main drag. Rooms were OK but dated and could have been cleaner. However we find out that the room prices on weekends go from $79 to $299. The rooms are not worth that much, that to me is just price gouging. There is a breakfast in the lobby but it is a joke, go to Ricks or Dennys and get a decent meal.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors if possible as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience to each of our guests and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Address: 1875 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.