We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further In Palm Springs, CA (unless they're already booked))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs to your Saves list
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Look No Further In Palm Springs, CA (unless they're already booked))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I never fill out these reviews, but the management suggested I do, after my partner and I went on and on to thank them for a lovely stay. Truth is, I wish this place would stay a secret ... but maybe they'll get so popular they'll buy out the horrid Days Inn on the other side of the restaurant between them (yes, stayed there too). Our stay was in the King size bed (w/hide-a-sofa couch) double occupancy suite. Long story short: best value in all of Palm Springs (unless friends or family let you stay at their place and then have the decency to leave...good luck with that). If you have more than three days here and don't mind riding a bus or taking a cab, then you could stay here without a car (unless it's Summer, then you'll want A.C.). I can't believe this place ever has a vacancy ... it's that good! Yes an airport shuttle! Also a No Fuss Breakfast Buffet, WiFi, Clean-Spacious-Quiet Rooms (with microwave/fridge/coffee&tea maker in room). Great breakfast dinner next door and best value family restaurant in town across street. If you're driving ... parking is free and you're close to everything. Cheers - Guy (seasoned Yankee business traveler to UK & Europe)

Room Tip: Second floor - further in back very quiet ... first floor in back quiet too (in case you don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    106
    45
    25
    32
See reviews for
67
100
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Location is prime, a few blocks from downtown. The rooms are huge with lots of room. The pool is very nice and wonderful staff.

I think the place offers good value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed 10 nights, including the Thanksgiving weekend, and the following weekend, in a "King Suite" room.
This was an enormous room (certainly by UK standards!), with a kingsize bed, a sofa, dining table/chairs and a good size desk. There was also a sink in the room, with a fridge, microwave, and a coffee-maker. The bathroom was also a good size, having a tub with a shower over. Outside, there was a small balcony overlooking one of the two swimming pools.
The hotel lobby provided a "continental" breakfast, with unlimited quantities of food available - but not a huge choice. There is also a computer available for guests to use. We were in a room furthest from reception, which had the advantage of being the quietest spot.
In addition to the two pools (one for adults and one for families) - there is a small gym (with limited opening hours) and steam rooms - which we never figured out how to access.
The hotel is located about 20 mins walk from the downtown area. People seemed shocked that we were capable of walking that distance !!. But the walk was easy & safe, with several bars and restaurants en route. Also, the hotel runs a free (but you are expected to give the driver a small tip) shuttle-bus on request to local areas such as downtown, or the airport, between about 8am and 9pm. So it is quite possible to survive there without a car.
While we were there, the hotel was not busy - even at weekends, so the shuttle was always available.
Overall, the hotel was kept clean, and the facilities maintained in reasonable order. For us, it was a good compromise between a "budget" hotel and an overpriced "boutique" facility.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloinns, General Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear TWinster13,

Thank you for your recent stay and review all the way from the U.K. We appreciate your kind words and perceptive comments. I would like to comment on one item …. although I’m sure our drivers may appreciate a thank you gratuity it is not required. Our shuttle is 100% complimentary as a provided service for staying at Shilo Inn Suites, the same with in-room long distance calls, free wifi, etc. I also enjoy the short walk to downtown, far away from all the traffic and congestion but conveniently close. We look forward to your next visit, same time next year?

Happy Holidays!

Gary Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel staff are what really make this place great. They are very friendly and accommodating. Quick to solve problems and get what you need. The rooms are a bit dated, but make up for that by being huge! In room coffee, microwave, and fridge. They have an adult pool, so those who aren't interested in hearing noisy children from your balcony, can be put there. Great location for getting to the tram, and not far from downtown restaurants and shopping. I stayed here 10 days and had a great time. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back by the adult pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Between the great service, complimentary Continental breakfast and the clean rooms with flat screen, I was surely amazed. My girlfriend and I had a nice stay for a weekend getaway and were both impressed with the kind staff and well put together rooms for half the price of some of these similar hotels.

Room Tip: Back room was quieter and lower units had easy quick access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Guess I was expecting better since Travelocity gave this place 3 stars. Definitely not up to Holiday Inn or Courtyard standards. Big rooms but so old and dated. The carpet in my room was stained all over-dozens of black spots, really gross. The tile in the entry was cracked, the shelf in the bathroom was broken, the laminate peeling. Would be good for families on a budget but if you are looking for a nice room to relax in, I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We read the reviews and were expecting to have a nice time, but our experience exceeded our expectations. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, from giving us advice on which restaurants to eat at, to recommending attractions (but the way, we have a 4 year old girl and a 5 year old son, and I highly recommend the Airport Museum, interesting, thought provoking, and heartfelt listening to the Veterans tell their stories. The breakfasts were very good and the variety satisfied both the adults and chidrens' needs.

One of the nicest features was the family pool (3 1/2 feet deep), so even if our son was a little loud, he fit right in. The pool is a little cold, but the kids did not mind.

We will definitely return and suggest the Shilo to all of our friends embarking to Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor if you don't have pets. Every room has a view of the (family) pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloinns, General Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Lloyd,

First thank you for the kind words re: your family stay ay Shilo P.S. We appreciate the fact that you recognized what separates us from most hotels: 2 pools, one for kids and the other for adults. Especially in the summer this is a huge factor “why” people like to stay at the Shilo P.S. Our Director of Sales has worked hard with local attractions and vendors to provide dining options and things to do in and around P.S. We even have a Tram Package that you should look at for your next stay for your family. Glad to see you took advantage of our offerings from our front desk. But of course all of this would have been for naught, if you did not find us friendly and helpful during your stay!

Cheers from P.S., we look forward to serving you in the near future!

Gary Costello - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Address: 1875 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.