We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family run hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sun Inn to your Saves list
Royal Sun Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1700 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Palm Springs, California
1 review
“Nice family run hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We spent a very lazy, relaxed 4 weeks here. Very good, friendly atmosphere from both staff and other guests. Unfortunately we had booked through booking.com so it cost us $2500 more than if we had booked directly with the hotel. Very expensive lesson learned.will definitely never use booking.com again

Room Tip: all rooms comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    70
    42
    17
    30
See reviews for
27
92
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covina, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Actually, comparing it to Motel 6 probably isn't fair to Motel 6 since I haven't seen the Palm Springs Motel 6. There was a group of us staying in the area to attend a big party. Since we just need a place to sleep, we didn't want to spent a lot. The place definitely needs some updating. Carpet was torn, and it looked like they paid a couple of uncaring teenagers to paint the room. There was one spot on the wall that was not fully covered with paint plus there was paint all on the sides of the vanity mirror (guess they never heard of painters tape. The toilet ran constantly, and would randomly flush itself. Bed was not very comfortable. Showerhead was so low you had to bend down to get under it. On the plus side, the vanity area had good light, and the little blow dryer worked very well.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Our son was staying in this hotel so we decided it would be easier if we stayed in the same place. I must admit our room was clean but it was very dated, bathtub needed caulking, lamps needed new light bulbs. We heard people stomping or walking above us. The walls were paper thin. For a one night stay it was ok but it wasn't worth what we had to pay at all. For the price we paid we normally could have had a much nicer and newer room in a more modern hotel.

Room Tip: The free wifi was horrible. Sometimes it worked in our room but very seldom did it work in our son...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Good budget hotel with a nice size pool and hot tub. Also had a small gym and washing facilities. Rooms were clean and well presented. Basic breakfast included but was adequate. It's a little off the main strip but you get value for money here.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Booked with group. Asked for adjoining pool side rooms...willing to pay more. Did not accommodate. Being at the pool every night we noticed ALL of those rooms were EMPTY. Complained daily of the idiot above us who stomped & slammed between 6-9 am. Then between 10-11pm. Our 2 rooms had a 1 yr & 3yr old. It just kept going. Why would they leave requested rooms empty when we were willing to pay more? Miserable stay.

Room Tip: None. We requested pool side rooms, they didn't give us those rooms and they appeared empty the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We have been going here at Thanksgiving for 19 years. We get gound floor pool side rooms. This year there were 23 of us. The kids love it and now bring their kids. Serve yourself breakfast every morning where the kids can get thier own food and bring it out by the pool. Not the fanciest but has all you need.

Room Tip: Close to the Indian Canyons for hiking. Only about 10 minutes from Down Town. Get a pool side room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

On my way to spend Thanksgiving with family, I spent one night at the Royal Sun Inn. The hotel is convenient to downtown Palm Springs.

I stayed in a first floor room near parking, as I had requested. The single room was comfortable with a queen-sized bed. There is free WiFi. One inconvenience was the fact that there was no information for the TV and channels available. Since the TV only showed cable numbers (222.1, 305.6) it was difficult to locate even basic channels. The list of stations provided by the desk was not helpful since it just listed all the channels provided by the cable company, without reference to actual numbers as seen on the TV.

The hotel offers a typical complementary breakfast which included waffles, cereal, coffee, milk, tea, fruit, cereal, etc.

Because of this hotel's location and basic comfort, I will probably stay at the Royal Sun Inn on future trips.

Room Tip: Several first floor rooms open to the pool area and have very small patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Address: 1700 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.