We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again after 10 years.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sun Inn to your Saves list
Royal Sun Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1700 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
BEDFORD
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Back again after 10 years.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The owners may have changed, but the Royal Sun is largely as it was when I last stayed there. OK the lift looks a bit worn now, but that's about it. The room is clean and tidy, as before and the breakfast arrangements also unchanged. All in all a good budget priced hotel.
My only niggle is the windows. They are so tinted, it makes the room seem like permanent twilight.
Watch out for the hummingbirds!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    70
    42
    17
    30
See reviews for
27
92
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Walked into room and set luggage down, started to put water in refrigerator that wasnt working and found a condom between the refrigerator and the tv stand. Went to complain to the front desk and was given a key to a room next door. The manager came to look in the first room and we showed him the condom. He picked it up with tissue and examined it like it was planted there, then flushed it down the toilet. There was also a hole in the wall with wall crumbs on the floor. WE told the manager that it was there when we walked in. Went into our new room and the refrigerator wasnt working in our second room so we asked the manager and he said you have to flip a switch to turn on. We did get it working. The shower was horrible, no pressue and you could only wash one body part at a time. I have stayed here many times before with no problems, but I will not stay again. Even in the new room, I felt like the bed and everything else was dirty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsuninn, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Royal Sun Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and observations and we take them seriously.

Upon receipt of your review, we have taken the following steps.

Hotel maintenance staffs have been trained to ensure that all amenities are perfect and functional.

Housekeeping staff received additional training in properly check and confirm the cleanliness of the rooms and amenities before checking in new guests.

We invite you to choose our hotel during your next visit to our area and experience a new hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The place is not bad. For less than 50 bucks a night I cannot really complain. The room is dated but nothing felt dirty. Couple holes in the old blanket may be time for a new bed spread but it was clean. Like others have mentioned you can hear those above you walking around but that doesn't bother me I've been in apartments the same way. The pool was really nice I went swimming at 9 o clock at night in January and the pool felt amazing along with the spa. Our view from the room is really nice view of the mountains.
The free breakfast... Well it's free haha so I can't really complain. It was basically make your own waffles, toast, or cereal (cornflakes and Cheerios) they had a few apples but that was pretty much the whole little buffet. I ended up taking my girlfriend some where else.
Over all for one night for cheap it's not a bad place no hookers bouncing around the surrounding area is pretty decent. Really close to the downtown area and better then some of its neighboring hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is comfortable. The rooms are very dated but they are quite large and have nice extras like a safe, microwave and fridge. The walls are thin and you can hear every step the person in the room above you takes. The rooms have sliding glass doors to your own private balcony with 5 star views of the mountains. Our bed was very comfortable but the bathroom could use a major remodel. The pool area is nice enough and again has a 5 star view of the mountains. Parking is adequate and for $59 a night they even supplied a small continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor for better mountain views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good value, less than a mile from Spa Casino. A little run down. Helpful staff. Has elevator old as it is, it does work. Great view of mountains in most rooms. Decent pool area. Beds were comfortable. Motel is quiet. Bathroom was also decent and clean. Shower water pressure too weak for my liking and the shower head was too low.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here over New Year, and for the $50 a night in Palm Springs, the price was great! But the place need some updating. We did love the jacuzzi, large and just hot enough and very clean, the pool is nice too. Staff is very friendly. I do like the private balconys each room has. We had a little bit of a problem with our first room, the second night we were there, my boyfriend was walking out of the restroom and walked thru a curtain of water leaking from the room above, he was not very happy, but they did get us moved pretty quickly.
They need new curtains in the rooms and bathroom renovations.
The location is pretty good, within walking distance of most restaurants and clubs, shopping.

Room Tip: get a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsuninn, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Royal Sun Inn for your recent stay in our area.

We also thank you for giving us a review and it is very much appreciated.

Thank you once again for highlighting the positive sides and also take your observations seriously for improving our guest services.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

Hotel upkeep staffs have ensured that all amenities are perfect and functional.

We hope that you shall once again choose our hotel and experience a new hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel was quite cheap, but good, for this price you can not expect something superspecial.
Room was large and clean, beds were huge and comfy. Bathroom was simple, but ok. Breakfast was good, it´s nice to have breakfast outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Address: 1700 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.