We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel I've come across in P.S.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Palms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   572 North Indian Cyn., Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Ill.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel I've come across in P.S.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Went there for a weekend to do nothing. Loved this hotel. Will go back for sure. Booked a casita taking advantage of the 25% off rate on their website. Think the total per night was $275.00 Very fairly priced at this level. Hotel is typical older spanish architecture but very well preserved and renovated. Comfortable beds and very nice linens. Very nice bathroom. Outdoor jacuzzi in these rooms is just a bathtub with jets- not inviting- but the private patio was nice. The service was 5 star.

Poolside was great. Waiter service with full menu which is something you don't find at a boutique hotel. The on site restaurant is a must. Prices are cheap, but food is way above average. Actually a very nice drinks/bar scene. Outside at night they project classic movies on the side of the building so everyone outside can grab a lounge chair and enjoy the film with you cocktails.

Only downside is locals are invited to come and enjoy the pool so you may be competing with them for lounge chairs. We didn't have issues, there I could see where it might become problematic.

Our traveling companions utilized the spa/message and were pleased.

I will return here for sure. Liked it way better than VICEROY and PARKER.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    140
    63
    26
    25
See reviews for
53
355
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided last minute to go to Palm Springs for a a one night Saturday to Sunday stay. We had both never been. We wanted to stay at the Viceroy - it seemed to be the chicest place but the weekends book up pretty quickly. We went with the Colony Palms because we were able to get a pretty decent last minute deal on a casita and it was mentioned in a travel magazine as being a top spot in 2008-2009. We got there pretty early - around 11 am and were greeted warmly by the front desk. They told us our casita would be available by noon. We were able to sit by the pool and refresh with orange and lemon-lime flavored ice water. Our room was ready by noon as promised - the casitas are really hidden and private - perfect for a romantic getaway! The room was fabulous. There was a two person spa tub and a seating area with a Moroccan style table outside surrounded by high walls for privacy. Bigelow & Co. lavender & peppermint bath products and pool towels all ready to go for us. Bring your iPod because they have one of those clock radios that can play it. We put on our suits and headed to the pool. Excellent scene. We met several young couples like us. I ordered the ricotta salatta off of the afternoon snack menu - while it was tasty, it was a bit on the small side for $10. We drank the day away at the pool - service was excellent. Wear lots of SPF - it gets super hot and sunny. Also, try the lavender mojito - not too sweet and delicious. We decided to eat at the Hotel's restaurant Saturday night, the Purple Palm. They had a great table by the pool for us. The scene was very hip - pretty people all around! I ordered the lamb and my boyfriend ordered the scallops. The lamb had great flavor but it was very tough. My boyfriend didn't like the scallops. (The next day we spoke with another couple who ordered the same items and the woman didn't like the scallops either.) The waiter was very accommodating; he removed the scallops from our bill and replaced it with a hamburger and fries - my boyfriend's request. The burger was tasty. We had another drink at the bar after dinner before heading back to our room. The next morning I woke up at 7 am to get two prime lounge chairs by the pool. There was coffee and croissants as well as the LA Times available. At 10 am a jazz band started up and it was the perfect sound level. I ordered a la carte off of the brunch menu - eggs benedict on brioche with serrano ham, spinach and aspargus. It was delicious. I had a massage at 11 am at the Hotel's spa with Lucy. She is amazing!!! We checked out at 1 pm and I was so sad to leave. We will definitely be back - although we'll probably try a different restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Just came back from a two-night stay w/girlfriends and as a devotee of the Viceroy Palm Springs, wanted to try out the Colony because it seems fall in the same category of small, boutique, laid-back chic, older property-which is just my style. I LIKE small, historic properties that don't resemble the chains in any way. Besides, it's got such great reviews and the photos are charming. I had high hopes.

We were definitely underwhelmed, unimpressed, and at times quite dissatisfied with the entire stay.
No valet, no valet stand, no staff anywhere in sight (over Easter vacation!) This "valet" service is supposed to be covered by the "resort" fee of $25/night. At the Viceroy two young valets in uniform greeted us with bottled water, wished us a nice stay, helped unload our bags, and whisked our car away.
The exterior, the courtyard, pool, stairwells, etc. resemble a small, old Los Angeles apartment building. Rundown, slightly unclean, and very un-glamorous. Viceroy took the same type of property and worked some crazy design magic on it to make it actually feel like a chic resort.

I paid for an upgraded room and was told we had been given an additional upgrade for free (this would put us at the 3rd tier of their available room types..yay!) Then the desk girl warned that the room she was giving us was the ONLY room in the entire deserted property with two beds available (code for don't complain, I won't do anything). Warning signals went up. Sure enough, the room was small, stifling, and as basic as could be, and it hung over the roof of the restaurant with views only of the air conditioning units on top of it. At the Viceroy, we very nicely requested any upgrade available and they moved us from the cheapest room bought during a summer special to the most lavish villa on the property. During our Colony stay, all public spots were mostly deserted and I simply don't believe the crappy room was their best available. Did they "owe" us a room we didn't pay for? No...but don't try to pass your worst room as triple ugrade and pretend the property is booked.

The maid banged on our door at 8am the next morning to start cleaning. Totally unheard of..woke us all up, including a very pregnant friend!

The air conditioning was locked and only adjusted by 2 degrees either direction

The resort fee of $25 is laughable since there are NO amenities-not even in-room coffee offered at the cheapest dives these days-one small pool and self-parking in the alley do not a resort make. Viceroy has three GORGEOUSLY furnished pools lined with beds, cabanas, chaises, copious lemon ice water, and huge free vats of sunblock.

The $10 breakfast buffet was Motel 6 level, with Yoplait yogurt and Special K bars (NO KIDDING!) A few paltry slices of pale, unripe watermelon...gross. The morose and horribly oppressive waiter lurked around us until the bill was paid, then took $40 for a $30 self-serve meal, assuming the $10 change was his "tip" for watching us gloomily as we served our own cereal bars to ourselves (by this I mean he did not ask or offer to bring the change...just took it as soon as the money was set down and left)
At Viceroy I had the best breakfast meal of my life, and it was included in my extremely discounted package.

$14 drinks were mostly ice

The jacuzzi was gray and there was many days worth of filth clinging to the tiles-it was subsequently roped off the next day.

We felt that this property offered nothing in the way of amenities, service, style, hospitality, room comfort, customer relations, etc., and felt that our time and money had been badly spent there.
They should keep in mind that if people feel cheated and overcharged, and are not engaged by the staff in a friendly way at ANY point in their visit, then they will not spend money at the property. We cancelled dinner there because we couldn't bear the lame, depressing idiots working there and had the sense (due to the rest of our experience) that the dinner would be overpriced and disappointing. On the other hand, because the Viceroy pleased us so unexpectedly in so many ways, we ended up spening much more money than we had planned, on dining, room service, and spa treatments, because we felt so positive about our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights with 2 young children and couldn't have been happier. The staff at checkin were excellent and willing to help with absolutely everything. Rooms were clean and large. Location of the hotel was also great - walking distance to restaurants and main street. Overall would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

1) If you enjoy a swanky pool scene, this is a good spot. Otherwise go elsewhere.
2) Regular and Superior rooms are small and disappointing motel makeovers where they slap some nice shampoo in the bathroom and hope you don't notice the cement painted floors.
3) They charge a $25 "facility" fee for use of the pool. Even if you don't get a lounge chair or check in after 3 p.m.
4) Pool wait staff are rude and very hard to get a hold of.
5) Music at the pool is nice, Sundays include live music and a nice brunch at the restaurant.
6) Spa is small yet treatments are good. Downside: The air conditioning in the spa is so loud that you feel like you are stuck in a wind tunnel
7) Check your bill. I had charges for the previous room tenants on my bill in excess of $300.
8) Use your privacy sign. The hotel expects you to be out late. We had room service come in at 9:45 P.M one night while we were tucked in bed watching movies.
9) Make sure you have an extra roll of toilet paper in your room. We ran out and when we called room service there was no answer, for about 4 hours. We finally gave up and made the most of the tissue box.
* If you enjoy coffee before 8 AM, be prepared to drive over to Starbucks. There is room service after 8 AM and coffee at the pool bar (no decaf).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los gatos, Ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We just returned from 3 glorious sun- filled amazing days in Palm Springs. Our boutique hotel, the Colony Palms, was stylish and sophisticated with a Southern California casual vibe. It had a great old Hollywood feel with all the modern amenities and then some. Our "casita" was bright and welcoming. The shower was huge and we had a private courtyard with cushy louging beds and a jetted bath tub to enjoy under the stars, VERY cool! The pool was sparkling clean and we lounged around it daily. The food and drinks were delish! The grounds were immaculate. The workout room was small but at least there was a place to burn off those cocktail calories!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

My husband and I just wanted to get away for a short vacation, just a couple of days. We were lucky enough to get a reservation at Colony Palms Hotel. Our room was beautiful it was as if we were visitng a good friend in their home. Hardwood floors, a canopy bed and for me the best was a stand alone claw foot tub in a very spacious room. It was pure heaven. Not wanting indulge in sunbathing and swimming we were able to sit on the balcony over looking the pool and relax and read a book. It was just what the doctor ordered. We didn't get to indulge in their restaurant, but the menu made us want to come back and definately try it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Address: 572 North Indian Cyn., Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Luxury Experience in the heart of Palm SpringsDowntown Palm SpringsSituated in Downtown Palm Springs and the Uptown Design District, this romantic hotel is close the Palm Springs Art Museum, Palm Springs Convention Center and the downtown shopping and restaraunt area.Restaurant and SpaThe hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Voted by Condé Nast Traveler as on the top new restaurants in the world, this popular restaurant features upscale Mediterranean cuisine.Luxury In-Room amenitiesHD LCD televisions include premium cable/satellite channels. Guestrooms also feature beds with pillowtop mattresses, premium down bedding, signature C.O. Bigelow amenities, full minibar with top shelf liquor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.