We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous at the Colony Palms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Palms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   572 North Indian Cyn., Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous at the Colony Palms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

I celebrated my birthday this January while staying at the Colony Palms Hotel, and fell in love with every aspect of this beautiful boutique hotel. Renovated with such understated flair, hacienda style with larger casitas available, our double was sumptuous, with a lovely large bathroom, flat screen t.v., and thankfully quiet and private after the New Years' festivities. Our room's front door gave a perfect view of the stunning mountains with a small private back patio where we could have coffee before going out into the glorious sunny Palm Springs day. The pool and jacuzzi are wonderful, beautifully laid out by the hotel's fabulous Purple Palm Restaurant, which serves the most well thought out and delicious menu in all of Palm Springs. Period. Great access to downtown Palm Springs, hiking, the must-do mineral hot springs at various easy to find locations, and shopping. The staff is courteous, efficient, warm and welcoming, with a very personal touch behind everything by the Hotel Manager. Do not miss this gem of an experience, both in fine dining, and stylish accomodations!

  • Liked — Hotel design, room appointment, pool area, fine dining.
  • Disliked — No breakfast other than modest continental offered, no info in our room for hotel's services.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    129
    57
    23
    24
See reviews for
48
337
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

The makeover of this hotel is simple but incredibly stylish. Every detail in terms of the room has been attended to, including high quality linens, toiletries and an abundant mini-bar. Some very basic hotel services had problems though, which detracted from the overall experience. Most disappointingly, when we arrived for dinner at the restaurant at 9pm, we were told the kitchen was closed! We had to ask a guest in the restaurant for a recommendation for somewhere to eat, as the waiter was unsure. When we asked about the fitness centre hours, we were told that the fitness centre was being refurbished. This was not specified on the website, which advertised the hotel's fitness amenities. The front-desk staff have the manner one would expect at a much more exclusive property - this was off-putting at times, especially when basic services were lacking. Beware the in-room music-on-demand system. You don't get a chance to confirm your selection - before you know it you have spent $10 on music.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We stayed at the Colony Palms for one night. When we booked, we asked for a room with a fireplace, which we paid extra for—$354 per night including taxes. We got room #3. In the end, it wasn’t worth it because the fireplace let out a gaseous odor. Also our room was dark and did not have much of a view. A hotel on the upper floor may have been better. The hotel has a pretty layout with the rooms around a pool, which we could not enjoy the pool because it was too cold. At one end there is the restaurant with a nice bar. This place is classic Palm Springs. One of the best things about the hotel is the location, within easy walking distance to the main downtown area, which is a nice walk. We spent an afternoon at Kofi, a cool coffee shop just down the block. The staff at the Colony Palms were superb—very kind and gracious, especially at the front desk and during check in.

  • Liked — Free internet access, front desk staff
  • Disliked — High price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

The Colony Palms is a very nice boutique-ey hotel, very stylish but has a few issues. The hotel is an older property but has been beautifully renovated. You get the feel of old time Glam Palm Springs here. The hotel overall is a small property just a 5 min walk from the main drag with all its shops and restaurants. It has a gorgeous pool -a great place to lounge especially if you're young and beautiful. Their restaurant is also gorgeous-we had a good though unusual Thanksgiving dinner there. Our room was nice though we did not have one of the casita rooms, just one of their average rooms in the back. The decor was pretty, the headboard is a padded Moroccan quilt headboard in bright colors, and the bed has a nice fluffy white down comforter. The pillows were too overstuffed-my husband and I both complained of neckaches. (I'm not one to bring my own pillow when I go on trips but after this one, I might change my mind). The room had a flat screen TV on a side wall which meant you had to turn your head to your left to watch tv from the bed. The room also had a minibar and a huge selection of booze displayed on the countertop-they're definitely hoping to sell a lot of booze. The bathroom had a nice saltillo-like tile floor, black carved wood vanity and a couple of "artsy" framed photos for decor. I had one big issue with the bathroom: there was no tub, just a huge shower that is an accident waiting to happen. Whoever decided to put glossy 4 inch tiles on the bottom of a hotel shower and no grab bars anywhere is not too smart. I nearly slipped several times. The other safety issue I had was that the hotel rooms are open from the street and our door had no peephole. Someone knocked on our door at night and we weren't able to see who it was-a little unnerving. Lastly, one of the artsy photos in the bathroom kind of offended me. It had a photo of an implied threesome -a man and two women in lingerie on a bed having a pillow fight. I guess I'm just not hip enough, and that would probably be my last comment. This place is hip and I think it wants it's guests to be too. It was nice enough for us once but we'll go somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — Beautiful garden and pool area
  • Disliked — Slippery shower tile-an accident waiting to happen
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Ours was the first wedding of its size at this newly renovated hotel and they did a spectacular job. We filled the hotel with family and friends and received nothing but raves about the ambiance, comfort, and service. The staff was extremely professional and helpful in every way imagineable, making our wedding and the entire weekend there a huge success. From the reception speciality drinks to the last crumbs of brunch on Sunday, every catering detail was carried out as promised, and then some. With the number of people served (170) everyone expected "banquet" quality, but the hotel outdid itself: the dinner was spectacular, as good as in their fine restaurant, served beautifully - and hot - from the first to the last guest.

  • Liked — Overall ambiance.
  • Disliked — No detractions.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

The Colony Palms Hotel is a hidden gem in the desert. The friendly and courteous staff makes the stay a complete joy. The pool is completely relaxing during the day and is pure magic at night with the spectacular moon setting. A truly memorable weekend....

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

The boutique hotel has the advantage of location. The view of the mountains is stunning and town is a 5 min walk away. I spent most of my time on the property, hanging out with friends by the pool on the chic day beds and dining at the restaurant, which has one of the best chefs around. The intimate size makes it feel cozy--you just run into your friends who are also staying there, with no need for texting or planning. It would be a great place for a wedding or retreat. I had a great massage at the Moroccan themed spa.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Address: 572 North Indian Cyn., Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Luxury Experience in the heart of Palm SpringsDowntown Palm SpringsSituated in Downtown Palm Springs and the Uptown Design District, this romantic hotel is close the Palm Springs Art Museum, Palm Springs Convention Center and the downtown shopping and restaraunt area.Restaurant and SpaThe hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Voted by Condé Nast Traveler as on the top new restaurants in the world, this popular restaurant features upscale Mediterranean cuisine.Luxury In-Room amenitiesHD LCD televisions include premium cable/satellite channels. Guestrooms also feature beds with pillowtop mattresses, premium down bedding, signature C.O. Bigelow amenities, full minibar with top shelf liquor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.