We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and amazing pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Palms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   572 North Indian Cyn., Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and amazing pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Old Hollywood style hotel with a lot of charm. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Bath products are wonderful. Pool staff is extremely friendly. The lobby / reception area needs a renovation. The no kids policy makes the stay quiet but also the pool is open 24 hrs and that is great in PS heat!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    145
    66
    26
    27
See reviews for
55
367
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful. The music they play is perfect for the ambiance (we even asked for the pandora station they use). We usually stay here mid-week & it's very quiet & not too many people. We stated here for New Year's Eve & it was a little different, obviously. The restaurant turned into an outrageously priced fiasco (so much so, we no longer felt comfortable dining there.. We picked up food from our favorite Mexican place & ate at one of the many outdoor tables on the property).
They created a great vibe with this hotel. It's walking distance to the end of town & really closed to Cheeky's (a MUST for breakfast!) give yourself enough time to grab food & enjoy it poolside before checkout (Cheeky's gets way too crowded).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here one mid-week night on business travel. The common grounds have been beautifully restored and fully showcase Palm Springs' old world charm. Our room (room 24) was very simple, but had a very comfortable bed (great mattress, great sheets, etc.), a gigantic shower, high-end toiletries, and a substantial air-conditioning system (which is critical in Palm Spring!). No patio or balcony, just faced cars on the street. It's most likely one of the rooms you get when you book a discounted travel deal (the "Garden" room).

The best part of the hotel is the central pool area. Moroccan design elements, hip music, and swanky guests make you feel like you've been transported to a movie set. The only downside is the service. As a mid-week guest at a half-empty hotel, we were surprised that we had to search for someone to get a pool towel (the bin was always empty), and the service at the restaurant was horrible (waited 20 minutes to get a breakfast menu, took "forever" to get our order taken, and 30+ on top of that to get food). Poolside service was fine.

A note to families with kids: I'm not sure what the hotel policy is regarding children, however there was a family with kids at the pool and we got the feeling that guests did not want to have children there. Just an observation.

The location. It's not a bad location... but we prefer to be closer to the heartbeat of downtown Palm Springs.

Last but not least, we asked for a late check out and were told that it could not be granted because someone else was coming in to that room. That may have been true, and I'm not sure how all of that is coordinated, however the hotel seemed to be pretty empty (midweek, height of summer, discount deals all over the internet). Couldn't you just put them in room 23 or 25? We were disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed here on our way to Northern California. It was 109 degrees outside when we checked in, but the lobby was cool and peaceful. The grounds are shaded and nice. We stayed in an upstairs room, with a huge front porch, nice bench outside overlooking the gardens and pool .

Enjoyed dinner at the Purple Palm, good service. We only had the cheese and charcuterie plate, but nice selection of wines to choose from for our small dinner.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs room, overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Do yourself a favor and book your room today! We have loved every moment of our stay here. The staff are extremely attentive and professional. The property is beautiful and the rooms are exquisite. The room's bathroom was very comfortable and luxurious as well. And, you might just see a celebrity when you go to the pool. We did! During the week, you'll find the property to be bit more quiet than the weekend but we didn't find the pool to be nuisance because of the number of guests either. There was plenty of space for everyone but get your place early in the morning to secure the best real estate!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. The room looked amazing, Mexican/Moroccan mix style decor. Huge shower. Very nice pool with Luke warm water. Pool is 24 hrs! Also had a decent breakfast at the Purple palms restaurant by the pool. I just wish the most was on by than, which it wasn't till the afternoon, so we ate inside the freezing AC cold . Also had a massage that was nice. Only reason the service is only 4 stars because the manager had a hard time honoring the discount my friend was promised by the front desk the night before ( for massage).
Get the Living Social deal if you can !!!! Can't beat that price !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Needed to get outta town and Palm Springs is usually the place for us since its only an hour and a half drive from North Orange County. Between the Hotels Tonight credit and the Hotels.com free night that I had, this was a fairly inexpensive trip. As people have said, the Colony Palms has the old Hollywood charm and character that makes for a charming stay. While we were in the very basic room that they offer, the wonderful sheets, comfy bed, great soaps and lotions made this a special treat. They have great little private areas within the foliage around the pool and between the misters and well padded loungers it was very relaxing. I like the location just a block off of Palm Canyon which makes it close to all things downtown. Drinks by the pool were pricey but we hope to stay again (if we can afford it).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#15 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#12 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs
Triada Palm Springs
#18 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#30 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Address: 572 North Indian Cyn., Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Luxury Experience in the heart of Palm SpringsDowntown Palm SpringsSituated in Downtown Palm Springs and the Uptown Design District, this romantic hotel is close the Palm Springs Art Museum, Palm Springs Convention Center and the downtown shopping and restaraunt area.Restaurant and SpaThe hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Voted by Condé Nast Traveler as on the top new restaurants in the world, this popular restaurant features upscale Mediterranean cuisine.Luxury In-Room amenitiesHD LCD televisions include premium cable/satellite channels. Guestrooms also feature beds with pillowtop mattresses, premium down bedding, signature C.O. Bigelow amenities, full minibar with top shelf liquor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.