We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis within the Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Palms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   572 North Indian Cyn., Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orange County
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Oasis within the Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I took my bride of 35 years away for her birthday for a couple of days to Palm Springs. Over the years, we have stayed at several PS lodgings ranging from the quirky to traditional BBs to mid-century, rat packish glitz; and have enjoyed all of them. Upon a recommendation from my company's PS office manager, we booked a couple of nights at the Colony Palms. Simply stated, we will be returning.

CP is classic PS with a blend of history, mystique and class. It is within easy walking distance of downtown, but very quiet. CP has a classic inward facing Moorish design with buildings surrounding a very nice pool and landscaped area. Very quiet, private and intimate. The pool is directly adjacent to an outdoor bar which then transitions into the onsite restaurant. One can sit in this central area or find a semi-secret nook or two (including one that has a nice fireplace) to read and perhaps enjoy a quiet drink (and nice cigar) without interrupting anyone or being interrupted.

Our room was very spacious, clean and equipped with an impressively stocked mini-bar. The bathroom is connected to the main room via two large doors within an semi-circular doorway. The bathroom, with shower and vanity, was very large and comfortable. And the bed was very comfortable facilitating a nice night's sleep.

Probably the highlight is the restaurant. In a community boasting a large number of very nice restaurants, this was the best dining experience we have had yet in PS. It has a very nice, demure interior - dark and intimate - allowing for conversation at a normal decibel level, or dare I say, even a soft conversational level - something that many restaurants are absolutely clueless about these days.

From its limited menu, my bride selected a seared salmon and I opted for the bouillabaisse. I have bouillabaisse many times before, all throughout the western United States and parts of Europe; and this was the finest in memory. The chef understands seafood and the need to maintain its delilcate balance. We selected a nice chard to go with dinner and it was definitely one of the finest meals that we have enjoyed in a long time.

Finally, the service was superb. Again, PS is a competitive destination resort area and establishments cannot risk having mediocre service. The CP staff completely grasps the understanding of attending to your needs without approaching that annoying, constantly-following-behind-you bantering. Everything that we requested was immediately addressed with an absolutely positive response and the staff actually appeared that they enjoyed working at, and were proud to be associated with Colony Palms.

Do yourself and that special someone a favor and book a couple of nights at CP

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    140
    63
    26
    25
See reviews for
53
355
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Probably one of the best places I've stayed in Palm Springs. Very friendly staff, amazing beds, amazing pool. Nice and quiet, and the odd celebrity having dinner 10 ft away from me. It was a very wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

One block off the main drag in Old Palm Springs, quiet but walking distance to everything. Comfortable and relaxing with great music around the pool - no hotel piped muzak here! For 3 perfect days in Palm Springs stay at The Colony Palm Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is the sweetest little hotel in Palm Springs. Best for couples, romantic, nice rooms, but the most wonderful thing is the outdoor environment. Beautiful landscaping and little private getaway areas all over the place - even a lovely outdoor fireplace. There are hummingbirds that are so friendly that you can get right up to them and the place generally gives a wonderful feeling of serenity and centering. Highly recommended.
Only one criticism: what's with the starched sheets? They look nice but are murder to sleep on!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were very impressed with the hotel. The rooms are lovely and the pool area is beautiful. It's within walking distance of good cafes and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. The beds were super-comfortable and it was so quiet that we slept really well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I agree with what has been said with previous reviews on TripAdvisor. Wonderful setting and quite. The rooms are real large, but nice area to sit out by the pool or outside of the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

to keep is simple: WOW
I've been coming to PS for many years as a weekend respite from living in LA LA LAND.
I had never heard of this hotel prior to this trip, now that I've stayed here, I will NEVER stay ANYWHERE else when I come to the desert.
This hotel has the FULL package, amazing service, top notch food and drinks, comfortable bed, huge shower, fabulous SALT WATER pool, it's beautifully landscaped and has a great location - right behind the main street in PS - it's such a GEM.
I'm in the travel industry and have traveled quite a bit for both work and pleasure - so to be this impressed with a property is quite rare for me.
ENJOY this highly recommended fabulous desert oasis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Address: 572 North Indian Cyn., Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Luxury Experience in the heart of Palm SpringsDowntown Palm SpringsSituated in Downtown Palm Springs and the Uptown Design District, this romantic hotel is close the Palm Springs Art Museum, Palm Springs Convention Center and the downtown shopping and restaraunt area.Restaurant and SpaThe hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Voted by Condé Nast Traveler as on the top new restaurants in the world, this popular restaurant features upscale Mediterranean cuisine.Luxury In-Room amenitiesHD LCD televisions include premium cable/satellite channels. Guestrooms also feature beds with pillowtop mattresses, premium down bedding, signature C.O. Bigelow amenities, full minibar with top shelf liquor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.