We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned after many years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Palm Springs East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Palm Springs East to your Saves list
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   595 East Palm Canyon Drive, State Route 111 at East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Costa Mesa, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Returned after many years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I used to come here all the time in my partying days. Came back for a Christmas vacation stopover. They still haven't painted the doors to the rooms (institutional green) but the value you get here is good. The room was clean, the bathroom was updated, and the front desk staff (Walter and Ahmad) were very upbeat and helpful. Got a room by the pool (the place was deserted and I knew nobody would be swimming in 55 degree weather) and it was very quiet. Good coffee in th AM. Primary reason I stay here is that dogs are allowed with no fee.

Nothing fancy, just a clean room at a fair price. The grounds are maintained well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
17
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

GM is rude, checked into a dirty room bed wasn't even made. Then charged an extra room night to my credit card, when I called to have it reversed I was told I was making it up and didn't know what I was talking about. I faxed them a copy of my credit card statement I received a call from a Stewart Walter who was blatantly rude and obviously had no guest relations experience at all. I was then yelled at for not knowing what I was talking about and he refused to reverse the charge and gave me a bs reason why he didn't have to and said he was gonna leave it up to his GM to deal with, cause he was tired of talking in circles with me. Poor customer service, terrible guest relations, Staff has inadequate training, rooms are dirty and outdated. I understand its a motel 6 but they should show good hospitality at the least.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place is very inexpensive. The rooms are small and the bed spreads are old fashioned in appearance. Does this sound enticing? Nevertheless the room was remarkably clean and quiet. The bath rooms have been renovated and are clean. Looking for a free breakfast? Nope, you won't get this either. But if you want to save a buck, this is the place for you. And guess what? This place is only a short drive from downtown Palm Springs!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is around "the bend", for those of you familiar with that southern turn beyond the downtown area.
Cons: some of the folks staying there are definitely puzzling: a couple sitting in their car ALL DAY on a hundred degree day; an upstairs man giving me the most malevolent look of my life when I pulled in my second afternoon; and an affable man with a cute little dog, that I didn't realize was dealing drugs out of his hotel room until I saw how many people were cutting across the grass area to "visit" his room.
Pros: other folks I met were really nice, friendly, and normal.
The grounds are green, green, green and the pool is large. The shade of the palm trees is perfect for cooling off and reading a book. My best memories were of doing just that with my dogs.
The neighborhood is just beautiful - an early morning cut across the street will bring you into a high income area with a mix of bed and breakfasts and the Palm Springs well-healed (without being ostentatiously healed). There are SO MANY cute little hotels and convenient shopping centers about a mile down the road.
Though I don't see myself returning, it's not out of the question because I liked the staff a lot and will just focus on the good memories . . . but I did want you to know about some of the regulars (?) who stay there so that if that is an issue for you, you can look elsewhere.

Room Tip: You'll feel safer if you ask for a room by the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was our first Motel 6 experience. Everywhere else that was affordable was booked solid as it was a special event weekend. The price was reasonable and they would take the poodle, so we took the room. The first one we went into reeked of smoke, even though no smoking is permitted. We moved to a different room that smelled better. The rooms themselves are very tiny and cramped. The shower stall was tiny too. It got very noisy at night, when guests came home from the bars. However, the management dealt with that very efficiently and quickly, and soon all was peacefull again. The rooms are clean, though, and the property well maintained in a basic plastic kind of way. The staff here are great though. The people we dealt with (housekeeper, front desk and maintenance) all went out of their way to be be helpful and accomodating

Room Tip: over the pool, not over the parking lot is probably quieter, even though closer to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Good, quiet budget accommodation in a very expensive area. Not too far from a local market which is an alternative to the very overpriced restaurants in Palm Springs. Convenient to major streets leading to Interstate 10.

Room Tip: Avoid downtown Palm Springs during the late afternoon and early evening. Allot of traffic and horre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We needed a place to stay in between our other long term reservations while we were in Palm Springs. Motel 6's are not usually our first choice, but I must say this one is different. The staff is extremely helpful and obliging and the manager lives on site. The gounds are spacious, clean, and the pool area is very inviting. Our little dog was welcome and at no charge. Our only complaint was the bed. My wife found it quite uncomfortable.
If you need a reasonable, clean, friendly place to stay in Palm Springs, then this may be your answer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Palm Springs East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palm Springs East

Address: 595 East Palm Canyon Drive, State Route 111 at East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Palm Springs East 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Palm Springs East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palm Springs East Hotel Palm Springs
Motel Six Palm Springs
Palm Springs Motel Six
Palm Springs Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Palm Springs East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.