We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your average Motel 6” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Palm Springs East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Palm Springs East to your Saves list
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   595 East Palm Canyon Drive, State Route 111 at East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Better than your average Motel 6”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We needed a place to stay in between our other long term reservations while we were in Palm Springs. Motel 6's are not usually our first choice, but I must say this one is different. The staff is extremely helpful and obliging and the manager lives on site. The gounds are spacious, clean, and the pool area is very inviting. Our little dog was welcome and at no charge. Our only complaint was the bed. My wife found it quite uncomfortable.
If you need a reasonable, clean, friendly place to stay in Palm Springs, then this may be your answer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
8
16
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
226 hotel reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed in all kinds of places from high end resorts to common motels (and even worse). There are many places I've liked, but I always like to try new places. So, if there is a place that I return to time and time again, it is a place to stay.

Make no mistake, the rooms are pure Motel 6, and not even the most modern version of Motel 6 with the fake wood flooring and euro-styling, but this is my favorite Motel 6 in the entire country.

Why? Well, it was one of their first (number 9 I think) and it has a style not present in their cookie cutter motels from later periods. It sits in a nice quiet curve in the windless part of Palm Springs. There are a couple of nice places for dinner within walking distance. The pool is massive for a Motel 6. The landscaping upscale. I really enjoy drinking the free morning coffee at one of the sheltered tables. Town is a hike, but the bus stops right outside, wisking you either downtown or out to the other towns in the valley. I especially like riding over to El Paseo and Rancho Mirage.

I always ask for an upper room overlooking the pool if posible (which makes watching your car a bit more difficult). The laundry and vending area is clean. The employees helpful. The price is OK, but has been creeping up over time.

Will I return? You bet I will.

Room Tip: Upper floor is better. Pool view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here again. Very basic but clean and cheap. Free HBO. Free local calls. Walk to the Koffee Espresso Shop for coffee drinks and pastries. Hang out with the urban hipsters next door at the Ace Hotel (formerly a Howard Johnson's). But pay one third what the hipsters are paying. (Not exactly-the word is out so you will encounter hipsters now at this Motel 6--a first). My only complaint--the hipsters staying at the Motel 6 woke me up at 2am when they stumbled home from the place next door.

Room Tip: Face the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nice property with pool. Friendly and efficient staff. Small rooms. Clean, but old smoking burn holes in the sheets, blanket and bed cover. Good price of $50 in this city of $100+motels during high season. Be sure and count the annoying $3/day extra charge for wi-fi.

Room Tip: We use the fan setting on the a/c unit to drown out the inevitable parking and other guest noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The room is bland as can be with almost nothing on the walls. Our bathroom had spiders crawling on the walls of the showers. I realize Motel 6 properties are no frills but there was no shampoo supplied in the room and none even available at the front desk for purchase. The pillows were flat and the mattress was worn out - needed to be replaced. All in all I would pay slightly more at the Caliente Tropics next door (where we have also stayed) for a MUCH better experience. Won't be staying at this Motel 6 ever again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We had stayed at this particular Motel 6 for about 8 or 10 other time, and had always returned to this Motel 6 everytime we come out here to do a little bit of shopping or just staying the night for a Western road trip. The location is Great it is near the Smoke Tree Shopping Plaza (Which was the original sight by Walt Disney to put the Disneyland theme park, which later was built in Anaheim, CA), a Beautiful view of the San Jacinto Mountain, and what is very rear for a Motel 6 wonderful customer service skills by there staff, they do a great job making sure the guest are comfortable, and also they have a wonderful nice size large heated pool, and the rooms are clean with a quiet air condition. I highly recommend this particular Motel 6, while poor quality and poor customer service is getting worst in alot of these establishments, this Motel 6 stiill remains one of the top Hotels in the Desert for it's nice low price, and again great Customer Service which is a rear find.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

pros:
loved the pool,very clean and refreshing
had a good nights sleep
a big grass area for dog to run and play

cons:
having to pay for internet

but all in all,I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Palm Springs East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palm Springs East

Address: 595 East Palm Canyon Drive, State Route 111 at East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Palm Springs East 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Palm Springs East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palm Springs East Hotel Palm Springs
Motel Six Palm Springs
Palm Springs Motel Six
Palm Springs Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Palm Springs East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.