We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Palm Springs to your Saves list
Viceroy Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Everything!
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A perfectly nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We recently spent 3 days at the Viceroy (mid-week). All in all, it was fine. The staff is nice, the food and drinks were pretty darn good and the pool areas were relaxing. We stayed in a Weatherly suite, which had the bonus of a large sitting area/living room. My two nit-picks about the room would be that the bathtubs are pretty outdated and our room did not get very much daylight. The hotel was very close to Palm Canyon Drive, so it was a short walk to other restaurants and bars. This was definitely a good place to spend a few days by the pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad that you spend 3 days at the hotel and that you enjoyed one of our suites. I do thank you for your feedback about the tubs which we are working diligently to update. Thank you for your comments about the food, drinks, location and service. Our team is very passionate about providing intuitive service to all of our guests. On behalf of everyone at the Viceroy, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Viceroy Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    160
    97
    63
    57
See reviews for
70
337
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed at the Viceroy for 8 dys, and we could have stayed a month! it was fabulous.
We now go there once a year as we are hooked on Palm springs and the Viceroy!
it's a long flight from Sydney, but it's worth it. First class service and attention from Don Devine and Diageo the General Manager. We also had some lovely meals at the restaurant and all the staff were so friendly catering to our needs. The Viceroy has a wonderful atmosphere and they make you feel like you're old friends when you return!
Can't wait to go back at Christmas. Thank you Don and Diageo for making our summer vacation so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure having you with us for eight days and we also wish you could have stayed a month! Thank you for acknowledging our service and attention to detail. Our goal is to make everyone feel as though they are visiting someone’s private home. On behalf of Don and the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back during the Christmas Holidays. We hope that you are able to spend New Year ’s Eve with us as we have another fantastic evening planned for all of our guests.
Warmest Regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Viceroy Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010 via mobile

This place was promised to be a great place but it turned out to be a nightmare! The only positive thing about the hotel is their valet service, the front desk is slow.The Citron is below par after the chef left, the furniture in the room was stained and so was the tile in my bathroom. I don't think I'll be coming back

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear Jill,
Thank you for your review. I apologize that our property was not up to your expectations. Some of the great attributes that our hotel has including the historic charm that we retained, are things that don’t appeal to everyone. Our team is very passionate about service and they actually take the time to listen and attend to every guest, this may sometime be perceived as being slow but we certainly do not want to treat our guest as a quick transaction. I do apologize about the stains on the beautiful white Carrera marble in your bathroom floor. Our plan for the future is to replace some of the pieces of marble that have been stained. In regards to Citron, we are excited to have our previous Chef’s protégé revamp the menu and bring our culinary experiences to the next level and apologize that you were here during the transition. We have some amazing items planned for the new menu and some of our locals have had the opportunity to taste some of his creations and have been delighted with the results. On behalf of everyone at Viceroy, we hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warmest Regards
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We generally stay at the parker, but we like the viceroy too. This year they had the most amazing summer deal (the breathe easy repeat package) and it was awesome! I have to say, the staff is lovely at this hotel. The room was clean, and in great shape, the hollywood regency look still fun. The food is hotel food, but at least generously sized and not too overpriced (same with cocktails, and poolside server was terrific), and I love the fact that they have saline pools. Even the minibar is reasonable for a hotel of this class. There are a few downsides....our ac wasn't the best, and there were some major light leaks (we were on the street side) and the grounds aren't as charming as the parker (which also has a more private pool), but for the staff and the deal it was fantastic! I would definitely stay here anytime they are running a great special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our Breathe easy package and all the discounts that come with it. I appreciate your comments about the service, food, cocktails and mini bar. On behalf of everyone at Viceroy, we look forward to your next visit.
Warmest Regards
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Viceroy Palm Springs is a luxurious boutique hotel set in a secluded location. We took advantage of the valet parking service and the reception was professional and friendly. Our room was spacious and had a modern decor. We were provided with high quality bath and shower products and we were made to feel very welcome. When we visited the Viceroy the temperatures were in three figures so a heated pool is essential.
The only problem we had was finding the place. Our satnav took us to the wrong end of the road and the signage for this hotel is very small. We had to drive around for half an hour and ring their reception desk twice before we found the address.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I do apologize that you had trouble finding us but glad that the reception desk was able to assist you. Thank you for your great comments about the service and amenities. We take pride in providing a memorable experience to every guest. On behalf of everyone at Viceroy, we look forward to your return from England.
Warmest Regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed for one night in August. Paid extra for a pool-side room, only to find on arrival that the pool in question was for adults only. Children were assigned to a different pool at the far end of the resort, which was not overlooked by any of the rooms. Had we known this in advance we would not have stayed here. Apart from that, we had no complaints and the food was first class

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a great experience with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our delicious food. I do apologize about the mix up with the pools. We have the advantage of being able to provide different pool experiences depending on what our guests are looking for. We have three pools located on different courtyards, two of which are for adults only and one that is for families and kids. We like to offer adults the opportunity to relax and unwind without any noise or disruptions and our kids the opportunity to be kids without the fear of disturbing anyone. We are extremely kids friendly and this is why we have a pool designated completely for kids, in addition we have kids menus available for all meal periods as well as activities for our small guests. I apologize that the location of the family pool took away from your overall experience. On behalf of everyone at the Viceroy we hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you and your family back soon.

Warmest Regards
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My favorite place to relax and unwind, the Viceroy is located in the historic part of Palm Springs In a lovely setting amidst fruit trees, winding paths and lawns. This boutique hotel has an exclusive European feel but is within walking distance to the restaurants and shops in downtown Palm Springs. Separate adult and family pools means both types of guests can enjoy themselves. The excellent on-site restaurant and bar and the outstanding on-site spa mean you never have to leave the premises, unless you feel a need for adventure! There is a gym and bicycles available for fitness buffs too.
Everyone from the busboy to the manager are so friendly and helpful and Don Devine the on-site manager makes every guest feel like a VIP. A romantic and restful destination.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Palm Springs

Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#19 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#28 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origins in the 1930s, Viceroy Palm Springs has redefined the ultimate Palm Springs Spa Resort experience. Luxuriously updated by Kelly Wearstler to reflect the Hollywood Regency Style popular during the desert’s original glamour era, Viceroy Palm Springs offers first-class personalized and intuitive service and amenities that guarantee a memorable experience. Experience the hotel recognized on Conde Nast’s Hot list of hotels and our Estrella Spa which was voted number 16 of the top 50 Hotel Spas in the US by Conde Nast Traveler 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.