We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic desert luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Palm Springs to your Saves list
Viceroy Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Everything!
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chic desert luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Ahh the Viceroy Palm Springs, I cannot wait to book my next stay. Even though we only went for a quick birthday weekend getaway, it was so relaxing and wonderful. The staff are super friendly, helpful, and attentive. The poolside food and drinks delicious (great fish tacos and peach margarita with the perfect amount of kick and our hungover breakfast poolside was fresh and fab). Love that you can use the pools and jacuzzi at all hours as long as you are respectful of your noise level. The only pool that is not 'adults only' was deserted and we had the entire area to ourselves for quite some time which was great and surprising seeing that the place was fully booked.
The premium studio is a good size as was our balcony overlooking the main pool.
I do enjoy Citron, but for a more old school experience Melvyn's directly next door is great for a classic cocktail and steak and of course you can easily walk anywhere on the main street.
A beautiful wedding took place the weekend we were there, looked magical and made me want to renew my vows here. The whole place is just chic and sexy.
Overall a wonderful experience, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable birthday weekend getaway at the Viceroy Palm Springs and wish to thank you for acknowledging our great service, food, pools and location. We are happy to see that you are a loyal guest and that you wish to renew your vows here. We would be more than thrilled to accommodate you and your family for such a special occasion. I have shared your great comments with the rest of our colleagues. On behalf of the Viceroy team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    161
    97
    63
    57
See reviews for
70
339
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

My husband and I, along with 90 guests, had a magical weekend at the Viceroy. The service, food, rooms and ambience were excellent. My guests are asking that we have an anniversary party at the Viceroy next year. Example of the hotel going way beyond, one guest with a child needed a cab with a carseat,but none were available. The Viceroy staff member drove my guest and his daughter (in his child's carseat) to the airport - no charge! Our entire stay was filled with examples of tremendous service.
If you can, I highly recommend staying in a villa. The villas are wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Congratulations on your recent wedding. We are so delighted that you and your husband had a magical experience at the Viceroy Palm Springs. We are also thrilled at your desire to come back next year to celebrate your anniversary party. It was wonderful to learn that our colleagues went out of their way to accommodate your guest and his daughter on the trip to the airport. We are all passionate about providing intuitive service to all of guests and it is our joy to be able to make every guest feel at home and become part of our family. On behalf of our entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Loved the spectacular grounds and pools, great restaurant and excellent massage at the spa. The location is excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. We had a one bedroom villa which was fabulous! Minor issues - wireless internet did not work well in our room, bathroom could use a serious upgrade. There were 2 weddings the weekend we were there and one had very loud Mexican music, it is a bit distracting to have guests strolling around and loud music when you are trying to relax. Would love to go back and spend more time by the pool!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
I was delighted to read your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Viceroy Palm Springs. I am glad that you enjoyed the grounds, pools restaurant and your massage at the Spa. I do apologize about the internet issues you encountered and that you were disrupted by the music from the wedding that was taking place on Saturday. I can assure you that the internet issues have been resolved. On behalf of the Viceroy team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

The Viceroy Hotel in Palm Springs exceeded my highest expectations. My first visit provided me with total comfort and serenity. While the surroundings were beautiful and the ambience was embracing, it was the positive and friendly service from management and staff that will lure me back. Kudos to Diego, Don Devine, and Melissa and the rest of the crew for making my weeklong stay first-rate and exceptional, one I won’t soon forget.
My sincere thanks and warmest regards to all,
Sara Harris

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Ms. Harris,
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am thrilled that our team was able to exceed your expectations. I appreciate you acknowledging our service and dedication to our guests. We strive to make every guest feel as though they are staying at our home. I have shared your comments with Don, Melissa and the rest of the team. On behalf of the Viceroy team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest Regards,
Diego Heredia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billingham cleveland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

If you like living the American retro dream this will probably appeal.We were at the end of a Califorian pacific coastal tour needing a few days peace before heading back to the uk.The rooms I felt disappointing given brochure/ website photos. these gave a misleading view of the hotel as a whole.Our premium studio looked every bit as old as we were told (1940's) done up with some tasteless retro design made up of what looked like white contiboard held together with steel brackets It was totally useless as a functional hotel room.The shower, which was separated from the bathroom by the large unnecessary fireplace, was in one corner next to the sofa!, so stepped out of shower onto room floor area. Nowhere to hang wet towels so had to leave in wet heap until next day when they were changed.Dressing room and mirror on opposite corner of room to shower. No towel rails in bathroom either so had all to be left on floor as well.Rug in room was very grubby and in need of a good clean. Although pool area seemed attractive the buildings surrounding it looked as though they had been old farm rooms in their previous life.Not what we expected from previous reviews etc,Dining room and main lobby looked more like a proper hotel and one night we had very good service but on our last night the service was compromised because one of the managers was entertaining some other business colleagues at dinner time and therefore most of the waiters were at his beck and call whilst we and other diners were left to wait! A sure fire way to lose custom to other restaurants.This hotel has illusions of grandeur and is no way top class Palm Springs hotel more an overnight base.Blink as you drove past and you would miss it! Would never recommend it, sorry.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay. I apologize for your dislike of our décor and configuration of your guest room. Our hotel comprises a series of historic buildings and villas originally developed in the early 1930’s and we have tried to maintain the integrity of that era. The history of the buildings is part of the mystique and the charm of our hotel that makes our regular guests come back time and time again. Our colleagues welcome guests to report any inconveniences during their stay so that we can do anything in our power to make your stay perfect. I hope that this experience has not marred your overall impression of The Viceroy and that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence and restore your faith in us. In the mean time, we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Wow. The culinary team and management has done an outstanding job with the new dinner menu just released this week...oysters (who would think in the middle of the desert) are out of this world, great tuna tartare...can't wait to try everything!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments. Our Culinary team has done an amazing job creating this menu and we are extremely proud of it. We are receiving great reviews from our regulars, locals and hotel guests. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed the Oysters and the Tuna Tartar. There are many more dishes for you to try so hurry back! On behalf of the Viceroy team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We LOVED this hotel. The staff was so personable and helpful (thanks, George!). We went here for one night on our wedding anniversary and were treated like VIP's from the very beginning. It was our first trip to Palm Springs and they recommended a fabulous steakhouse for dinner, a perfect dance club, and the best casino in town.
We had an issue with the hot water, but they fixed it right away and comp'd us for the trouble. Love that first class service! Our only regret is that we didn't stay more than one night.

It was a class act, and a first rate stay. I would absolutely recommend the hotel - stylishly decorated, attention paid to detail, excellent service, and within walking distance to everything. Plus, heated pools! What a fabulous experience -- and the front desk was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. I am delighted that George and the rest of team were able to make you wedding anniversary memorable. I apologize about the issues you had with the hot water but glad to learn that the team was proactive at fixing the issue and offer the necessary compensation for your troubles. We are very proud of our entire team and your comments have been shared with everyone that was involved in making you feel like a VIP which is our ultimate goal. We hope to see you back soon. In the mean time, we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Palm Springs

Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#20 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origins in the 1930s, Viceroy Palm Springs has redefined the ultimate Palm Springs Spa Resort experience. Luxuriously updated by Kelly Wearstler to reflect the Hollywood Regency Style popular during the desert’s original glamour era, Viceroy Palm Springs offers first-class personalized and intuitive service and amenities that guarantee a memorable experience. Experience the hotel recognized on Conde Nast’s Hot list of hotels and our Estrella Spa which was voted number 16 of the top 50 Hotel Spas in the US by Conde Nast Traveler 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.