We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Palm Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Palm Springs to your Saves list
Viceroy Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Everything!
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary in February 2014. From the moment we pulled up to the moment we left the staff took such good care of us. We were greeted by Sean Najarro who was the Front Office Manager and he gave us 2 glasses of champagne. He then gave us a few more pours to celebrate our anniversary. He made sure we got the room category we wanted and our room was ready pretty quickly. He also delivered a nice fruit tray with some waters...so nice. We did utilize the spa for a couples' massage which was excellent! We felt so relaxed and pampered. We loved our room, however, my husband wasn't that fond of the shower, but overall VERY well appointed and clean. We loved the cute little bar too at the hotel. We had great drinks and loved chatting with other friendly hotel guests traveling from London. We also had breakfast at the restaurant before we left the next morning...also excellent. Overall best Palm Springs getaway and I can't wait to go back. I found my secret little spot in Palm Springs and I don't think I could stay anywhere else : )

Room Tip: Ask for firmer pillows if you don't like them too soft. I am sure they have some other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    160
    97
    63
    57
See reviews for
70
337
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Viceroy makes you feel like an exclusive guest in a private resort. The staff is so welcoming and kind...from the 3 gorgeous pools to the attentive staff and the gardeners who keep the hotel looking like desert perfection ! It's like a home away from home, you won't want to leave. A special thanks to Manny at the pool and Sean and Marie-Helene in management ! Looking forward to next time ...until then xo. Allison L.

Room Tip: Request a room in Regency court...if you are bringing kids request Fountain court and head to Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I just returned from a rather disappointing weekend at the Viceroy. The rooms were pretty fabulous and the staff at the front desk was very kind and helpful. However, the wait staff at the pool and the bar did a pretty fantastic job of making myself and my girlfriends feel unwelcome. We had trouble getting service and when we finally got someone's attention, they acted like we were asking far too much by simply ordering lunch. Because we weren't ordering tons of expensive drinks, it was clear that they felt like serving us was a waste of their time. The valet guys were super nice, but one of them almost ran us over, and then my car was returned with a broken latch. We spent most of the weekend feeling like we were inconveniencing the staff with our presence -- not good. We left knowing we spent a whole lot of money and feeling like it wasn't enough to even get the most basic of hospitality from most of the staff.

Despite how beautiful the hotel grounds and rooms were, I'm unlikely to return. I understand that everyone makes mistakes (i.e. almost getting run over), but consistently treating your guests like they are an inconvenience is something I have never experienced, even at the cheapest hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Director of Sales at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Erin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our guests' feedback helps us put into perspective what is and is not working at our resort. I am extremely disappointed in the service you received or didn't receive- specifically in regards to pool service which seemed to have ruined a next to perfect weekend (despite the valet incident). I will be addressing with the appropriate team members. Again, thank you for your candid feedback. Should there ever be another opportunity to redeliver an experience - please let me know.

Sincerely,
Olivia Prescott
Director of Sales
D: 760-318-3018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I recently spent two nights at the Viceroy for an offsite business meeting. The good points included the cool vibe from the Hollywood Regency decor; nice grounds with firepits near the pool; terrific location within walking distance to downtown Palm Springs restaurants and shopping. The downsides of my stay included my room not being available when I checked in (they offered me a complementary glass of champagne to enjoy during the wait) and very loud air conditioning unit in the room (which I should have let them know about, but didn't find the time for). I enjoyed a manicure and pedicure at the Estrella Spa, and found the staff there to be attentive and pleasant. I would consider coming back to stay here, even though this first visit didn't "wow" me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our corporate travel agency booked us into this "boutique" hotel. Did you ever have a hotel room without a chair? How about no table? How about no drawers to put your clothes in? You thing I'm kidding, I'm not! I have traveled the world and never been as disappointed with my accommodations as i was here. How they get away with $210/night for this is incredible. In Cleveland you be disappointed with these lodgings at $50/night. Did i mention a wedding party with a DJ under my window on the night of arrival?

Room Tip: rooms by the pool seemed better, but don't waste your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

In terms of service, cleanliness and overall 'good vibes', the Viceroy must be on of the best hotels Palm Springs has to offer.

However, I have one major complaint with the hotel which would make me think very seriously before returning. That is the question of the disruption caused to hotel guests by weddings held there.

On the day of a wedding - there were 2 during our stay - two of the three swimming pools and surrounding areas were closed to guests from about 3pm. This leaves just the small courtyard pool which has very limited seating area for use of hotel guests.
There is no where else to enjoy the afternoon sun and the glorious sunset which is nicest time of the day.

We were not made aware that there would be any disruption during our stay which I feel very strongly the management have an obligation to do so. Also, we would not have stayed there if we had known - possibly why we were not informed.
Many other guests complained about this, and although the reception staff were sympathetic to the complaints said it was beyond their control.

Clearly, the management/owners choose the financial gain of the weddings over guest satisfaction.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a noise problem from either the main road or from the central courtyard pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Director of Sales at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear berfell,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your recent experience. As the Director of Sales, I oversee the Sales for both the Leisure and Group Guests (weddings) and would like to assure you they are equally important markets to us. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the events, we do know that they impact your experience which is why we always leave the main pool open along with the Spa Courtyard so that our guests can soak up the remaining sun. I can work with my team on giving proper directions to find these areas as they may not have been self apparent. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and wish you safe travels in the future.

Sincerely,
Olivia Prescott
D: 760-318-3018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I think no hotel in the Palm Springs area has it all. But the Viceroy has a refreshing atmosphere and a nice location if you want to have easy access to the restaurants and shops of Palm Canyon road. The streets behind the hotel make for wonderful morning strolls or maybe a ride on a bike. Also, the pools are very relaxing. I prefer the larger one away from the hotel restaurant area; it feels peaceful and a little Mediterranean. The basic rooms seem small and it's worth it to upgrade at least one level. The bathrooms especially seem in need of renovation. The service is nice overall. The restaurant's food was not my favorite, but the bar mixes great libations.

Room Tip: consider spending a bit more and getting a cottage near the larger pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Palm Springs

Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#19 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#28 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origins in the 1930s, Viceroy Palm Springs has redefined the ultimate Palm Springs Spa Resort experience. Luxuriously updated by Kelly Wearstler to reflect the Hollywood Regency Style popular during the desert’s original glamour era, Viceroy Palm Springs offers first-class personalized and intuitive service and amenities that guarantee a memorable experience. Experience the hotel recognized on Conde Nast’s Hot list of hotels and our Estrella Spa which was voted number 16 of the top 50 Hotel Spas in the US by Conde Nast Traveler 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.