We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice vibe, nice spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Palm Springs to your Saves list
Viceroy Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Everything!
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice vibe, nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I think no hotel in the Palm Springs area has it all. But the Viceroy has a refreshing atmosphere and a nice location if you want to have easy access to the restaurants and shops of Palm Canyon road. The streets behind the hotel make for wonderful morning strolls or maybe a ride on a bike. Also, the pools are very relaxing. I prefer the larger one away from the hotel restaurant area; it feels peaceful and a little Mediterranean. The basic rooms seem small and it's worth it to upgrade at least one level. The bathrooms especially seem in need of renovation. The service is nice overall. The restaurant's food was not my favorite, but the bar mixes great libations.

Room Tip: consider spending a bit more and getting a cottage near the larger pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    161
    97
    63
    57
See reviews for
70
339
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Overpriced for what you get. The room was very small. there was a refrigerator in the sleeping area. The blinds did not close property to ensure privacy. The shower was ridiculously small - a man would not be able to shower in it. The nicest part of the hotel was the outside.

Room Tip: The Regency room was not close to what you would expect, very disappointed, very small shower ( a ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We thought the hotel was a highlight of our stay in Palm Springs. Fabulous pool areas.

Somehow they had no record of our reservation (good thing I carry a smart phone and the reservation paperwork); nevertheless, they accommodated us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

While we never stayed at the hotel, I wanted to write a review of their responsiveness. We needed to cancel our reservation and had difficulties trying to accomplish this online. However, once I reached Sean, the office manager, he immediately took care of the issue and made sure we would not be charged. Thanks Sean!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here for one night in January and I will never step foot into this hotel again. The shower water was dirty and has some disgusting sort of sediment in it. The hotel manager blamed this on the city's plumbing issues. The electricity went out for a good 20 minutes and the manager blamed this on the age of the hotel....I'm sorry, but is this place a hotel or a hut in Jamaica? The desk manager, Sean, was unhelpful and belittling. He should really be replaced immediately...the valet guys were lovely, they probably fill his spot very nicely. The general manager credited us back for the room charge and gave us a credit receipt before we left showing that the charge had been refunded. Funny thing though, they never actually credited us back. It wasn't until almost a month later that I realized this and connected them again. They apologized and offered some poor excuse about crediting to another credit card which made no sense. Finally it has been credited, but be warned that this place is gross and not worth $1. The building is old and there is nothing of luxury about this place. Food was marginal too. Stay at the Parker instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Director of Sales at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear trojanheart05,

I do apologize for the lack of utilities you experienced while on property in January. While many find the age of the resort charming, it does occasionally have it's idiosyncrasies. Your experience is not the norm and do hope that you will give us another try. It is quite a charming and peaceful property in the heart of downtown. Should you want to reconsider, please do contact me directly so that I may oversee your stay.

Sincerely,
Olivia Prescott
Director of Sales & Marketing
D: 760-318-3018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a really cool spot in Palm Springs. Service friendly, but firm. Instantly got a vibe of being back in northern italy. Good start! Nice pool areas - they have three. Excellent service all the way, from check-in to pool waiters.

Extra plus for the friendly service upon arrival - we were given a complimentary glass of champagne. Gotta like that!

Stayed here for just one night, but cant wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The décor of this place is high style. Some of it shows a bit of wear, but it is very pretty and yet comfortable. Bathroom could use more light. The gym was bare bones equipment and would benefit from an upgrade. The pools were lovely though and the grounds are so pretty. Staff was very accommodating. It is a convenient and safe location with the mountains in the background. It is just one street over from the main drag so it was nice and quiet. Overall a pleasant stay. With some minor tweaking it could be excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Palm Springs

Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#20 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origins in the 1930s, Viceroy Palm Springs has redefined the ultimate Palm Springs Spa Resort experience. Luxuriously updated by Kelly Wearstler to reflect the Hollywood Regency Style popular during the desert’s original glamour era, Viceroy Palm Springs offers first-class personalized and intuitive service and amenities that guarantee a memorable experience. Experience the hotel recognized on Conde Nast’s Hot list of hotels and our Estrella Spa which was voted number 16 of the top 50 Hotel Spas in the US by Conde Nast Traveler 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.