We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Small and Weirdly Decorated - Service, Pools, Location, Food Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Palm Springs to your Saves list
Viceroy Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Your Entire Stay
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Pine Grove, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Room Small and Weirdly Decorated - Service, Pools, Location, Food Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The title above should help you decide. We just got back after spending valentines' day (2013) here. The city was packed and we were told this was the most popular time of the year. We wanted to stay in one of the more romantic places that they old-time movie stars used to go to to have their romantic affairs, but it was hard to find a room anywhere at all, so we took what we could get. These older, more intimate places give you rooms that are much more private and charming. But if you are more interested in a place with the strengths described above, Viceroy is a good choice. Try to include a Thursday in your booking. This is the day of the weekly, much-fun, evening Palm Springs Street Fair. The Fair is a 2 block walk from the Viceroy, a real plus. Finally, a warning for those allergic to feathers: our pillows and comforter were feather-filled (have not seen that in ages). A call to the desk, however, brought a quick change to non-allergic bedding.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet spot, ask for a room in the Fountain Court. Other rooms are near the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyPalmSprings, Director of Sales at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mike R,

Thank you very much for giving us and Palm Springs a try to host your romantic weekend! We do recommend certain rooms that lend themselves more to romance - who doesn't look good in front of a fireplace glow? If you are looking for a romantic getaway - we recommend the Villas or the Premium Courtyard Studio rooms. They all feature historic touches from the 1930's . . . and oh if the walls could talk!

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerley,
Olivia Prescott
Director of Sales & Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    171
    105
    69
    59
See reviews for
73
358
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at this tastefully decorated hotel in 2012. The Hotel was wonderful, a superb entrance greeted by fish in the pond, and through to the lobby. We dined in the restaurant for lunch after our drive from LA. The hotel has a great central location and has a great pool and fitness centre.
Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyPalmSprings, Director of Sales at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear slicknick66,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon & safe travels!

Sincerely,
Olivia Prescott
Director of Sales & Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This resort has a great feel and design mojo, but someone needs to start maintaining the place. Pretty much everything is either tattered, broken or looking tired. That said, the setting is fabulous, loaner-bikes a nice touch, food is OK, and staff are friendly. It's still the best option for a resort feel in downtown Palm Springs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyPalmSprings, Director of Sales at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear MI_Vintner,

Thank you for your recent visit and am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Design-centric resort. It's what we believe makes us unique in addition to our history. With that being said, unique pieces and historic resorts are hard to replicate easily and maintain. We are listening and strive every day to provide better services & amenities to our guests, such as those new fanastic townie bicycles. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to have a few new surprises for you as well.

Sincerely,
Olivia Prescott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Viceroy Palm Springs is outstanding! We were blessed to have our wedding at the Viceroy in November 2012, and fortunate that we were able to visit this beautiful hotel so many times in the year leading up to the big day. Each time we were there, whether we stayed for the weekend or drove in for the day, the staff was welcoming and anticipated our every need. The grounds and rooms are immaculate, each person there from the valet to the chef (and even the other guests!) is genuinely friendly and happy to help, the food is incredibly inventive and delicious, and the location is just perfect. Many of our guests shared their appreciation of the beautiful surroundings, comfortable rooms and setting, and the amazing staff. The hotel is hip, gorgeously decorated, chic, polished, and yet still so comfortable. Even with the stress of wedding planning, each time we were at the Viceroy we were able to relax and enjoy the experience. And, once the wedding weekend finally arrived, we stayed for 4 days and had an amazing time! The staff outdid themselves from the minute we stepped foot on the property (and really for the months prior too) to even after we left to ensure that everything was perfect. From the welcome cocktail party to the day after brunch, everything actually was perfect. The Director of Sales and Catering, Conference Sales Manager, and the Chef were incredible to work with. They coordinated an outstanding 5 course tasting menu with wine pairings for our 93 guests and executed it flawlessly. And then, they organized a brunch the following morning that was just as delicious and beautifully set. It was the best ending to a truly wonderful weekend. My favorite part is that we will get to return to the Viceroy year after year to celebrate our anniversary. I cannot imagine a better hotel, or better staff and service anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms, but the balcony suite near the fountain is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyPalmSprings, Director of Sales at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear KCCarrillo,

Thank you for such a candid glimpse into our Catering & Events Team. We truly have a team of dedicated indviduals with a passion and hunger for excellence. I know my entire team, from Executive Chef to Event Manager were inspired by the opportunity of creation. No two couples are alike, therefore we enjoy our client's involvement in making their dreams for their day a reality.

We look forward to welcoming you back - each and every year!

Sincerely,
Olivia Prescott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

From the time we pulled up to the door to the moment we left 7 days later we were treated so well by all the staff. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a villa as we were on honeymoon and it was amazing!
It is a beautiful hotel in lovely secluded surroundings and the staff were so kind and friendly. The Director of Guest Services was wonderful and the girls on reception were super friendly and so very professional.
I want to go back every year but according to my new husband we 'have to see the rest of the world first' If the Viceroys are the same in the rest of the world then I'll be loyal to the chain forever.
Thank you for making our honeymoon wonderful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stumbled upon this hidden gem while in Palm Springs looking for a place to get married. I had heard great things but had to find out for myself. Once we walked into the lobby my future husband and I knew this was where we would be getting married. The rooms are very charming, think 1950's charming with very cool deco-modern design. The suites are huge and most offer a kitchen and dining area. Very romantic. When planning our wedding we worked closely with the events department and Olivia and Jessica were beyond amazing. They were very helpful in helping us determine our wedding day roll out and knew so many details of the venue and weddings in general. It was great. We try to go back to the hotel every 6 months--more if we can and I can't stress enough how relaxing and great it is here. Spa is good, service is impeccable and the manager Don is prob the nicest person you have ever met. oh, and if you have dogs they are allowed!

Room Tip: Wetherly Suite and Dorrington Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a tricky review to write. First off, for me this hotel sits firmly between 4 circles and the 5 I have given, but on balance I think 4 would be unfair and it's probably a 4.75 overall!

I should say that we ended up at the Viceroy by default. The hotel we were due to stay at was simply unacceptable, so we checked out and checked in to the Viceroy. This wasn't ideal as I normally like to spend time carefully reviewing hotels, cross checking with numerous 'review sites' and checking maps / street view on google etc, not to mention ensuring I achieve the very best value possible. After a fairly limited search, I resolved to stay at the Viceroy and from the moment we arrived, we were so delighted. Of course, some of our delight may have been influenced by simply escaping from the awful hotel we had just left..!!

It is so important for potential guests to understand that this is not like a typical branded and standardised hotel. If that's what you are used to and enjoy, then it's best to steer clear of the Viceroy. That said, the Viceroy is quite difficult to describe as individual experiences are certain to differ, but here goes...

We found the hotel to be very cool, relaxed, peaceful, friendly, safe. It's a place where the stresses and strains of modern life will genuinely disappear as you are cocooned in what feels like true 'old Hollywood' style! In many ways, even though this was our first time (and certainly won't be our last) it strangely felt like you were staying somewhere familiar. The staff were so friendly, so attentive, but not obtrusive. They seemed genuinely interested in us and they were certainly interesting people, but no conversation was forced.

The hotel is 'boutique'. It is small, with a low number of bedrooms, small bar area, small restaurant area, but all perfectly and tastefully appointed. The outdoor areas are exceptional. Very well maintained with lots of private little corners and very mature landscaping throughout which has been further enhanced by the use of lanterns and small lights wrapped around the tree branches. Breathtakingly nice. The pool is so inviting and has a great hot tub adjacent.

For me, everything above is a solid 5 circles, but the bedroom is the one area that for me, makes this hotel 4.75. A number of the previous reviews are accurate when they point out that the property has been around for a long time. This is true, but in many ways this simply adds to the charm of the venue. It brings a warmth and character that new hotels could never hope to achieve. However and this is important to be note, this does bring the need for a certain guest mindset and compromise. Yes, the air conditioning (heating & cooling) is provided by a single wall mounted (below the window - motel style) unit. It is a little noisy, very ugly, but effective. The rooms are well decorated and stylish, with furniture to suit. Some of the items have marks on them indicating signs of use. To me this is 'shabby chic' as the furnishings and fittings still felt very clean. The bed was very comfortable, linen and towels spotless. The bathroom was spacious with quality toiletries provided. The shower was a bit strange, in that there was no light and when the curtain was closed behind you, it was quite dark! Not really a big deal as I know where my.. er, 'bits' are located, but possibly an issue for anyone unstable on their feet or with eyesight issues? I guess what I'm saying is that if you want to see this hotel bedroom negatively and be critical, it would be very easy. However I genuinely feel that this would be unfair and unnecessary, probably saying more about the author than the hotel...

The breakfast by the pool was delicious, filling and there are healthy options too. Food in the bar / restaurant was also delicious and very good value. An excellent choice of beers, wines, spirits and cocktails.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel. If the rooms were perhaps a little more updated with modern air con etc, this would probably be the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but despite this it is incredible in so many ways, very different and we will definitely return. We're delighted to have found this gem of a hotel, but frankly it's probably not for everyone!

Room Tip: The hotel offers many different room styles, positions and outlooks within 2 or 3 different room typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyPalmSprings, Director of Sales at Viceroy Palm Springs, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mr_E_Tour,

First let me start by saying WOW & THANK YOU for such a thorough & thoughtful review. Perceptions most certainly vary based on expectations. And yes, we have gently used pieces which in some aspects is to be expected for a historic property and part of the charm. However we also recoginize that some areas should not be which is a continuous process for us. It is our goal to provide the best possible product within our ability and great service.

Since you clearly indicated that you will be coming back and would would like to extend a proper thank you in person, please contact me directly upon your proposed return.

Sincerely,
Olivia Prescott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Palm Springs

Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#28 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origins in the 1930s, Viceroy Palm Springs has redefined the ultimate Palm Springs Spa Resort experience. Luxuriously updated by Kelly Wearstler to reflect the Hollywood Regency Style popular during the desert’s original glamour era, Viceroy Palm Springs offers first-class personalized and intuitive service and amenities that guarantee a memorable experience. Experience the hotel recognized on Conde Nast’s Hot list of hotels and our Estrella Spa which was voted number 16 of the top 50 Hotel Spas in the US by Conde Nast Traveler 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.