We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy comfort: luxury, location and service at a reasonable rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel Palm Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel Palm Springs to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Viceroy Palm Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Your Entire Stay
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Sausalito
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classy comfort: luxury, location and service at a reasonable rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This gem of a hotel is only steps away from the main shopping/dining street in Palm Springs, so you don't need a car if you stay here. The free bikes are a great perk. Like most hotels here, this is an older property but it has had an extensive makeover. The decor is a bit Beverly Hills posh, lots of mirrors and white marble. You'll definitely feel like you're on vacation, maybe even like a movie mogul. Little details like adding a magnifying mirror in the bathroom would be helpful. This is little stuff. The staff could not be more courteous and sincere. I've stayed in many, many hotels in Palm Springs. This one offers classy comfort and genuine service at a reasonable rate. I'm coming back with friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGouhier, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear James, Thank you for sharing your great experience at the Viceroy Palm Springs. We are so glad to know you had a great time and enjoyed our quaint property
All the best
Marie Helene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    176
    111
    70
    62
See reviews for
75
381
39
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Drove down from the Grand Canyon to Palm Springs, arriving late afternoon. We found it difficult to find the Hotel Entrance and it was my wife who spotted a small sign; Viceroy Valet Parking. The receptionist was very helpful and explained that the car would be taken care of and our luggage taken to our room. The car keys were retained by valet parking. The following day I needed access to the car and went to reception to pick up the keys. I was told that I could not have the keys and they would call the valet to open my car. When I queried this arrangement, i was told that it was a precaution to prevent any damage to other vehicles. The irony was that no cars were in that line of parking and, of course, you are obliged to tip the valet for the minor task.
The inside of the hotel was fashionable with the option of having meals and drinks served outside adjacent to one of the pools.
The room was clean and pleasant with a view over the pool. We were concerned that it might be noisy, but it was quiet and we did not see many people.
This hotel was booked through Trailfinders and they described the accommodation as Premium Studio with Breakfast. The hotel gave us a voucher when we arrived for breakfast, value $30. We ordered the cheapest item on the menu and coffee and the bill was $41.76, inclusive of tax and gratuity.
Every time you used the valet service you felt obliged to leave a tip.
Although the Hotel was lovely, it did not feel a relaxed stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGouhier, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to give us your great feedback and really do appreciate.
Warmest Regards,

Marie Helene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Viceroy over Thanksgiving weekend for a little R&R. I had read many mixed reviews of the hotel before we booked it, and as it turns out, we came away with mixed feelings about our stay as well.

We were looking for a stylish, luxury hotel within walking distance of downtown, with a lively but sophisticated scene. We did not want a "party" hotel, which is why we ultimately chose the Viceroy over our other choices, the Parker and the Riviera. We booked our room through the Visa Signature luxury hotels program because the rate included free continental breakfast, an automatic upgrade, late checkout, and other perks.

We liked the lobby and grounds of the hotel; we found them to be stylish and fun. We spent time relaxing at the Presidio pool, which is supposed to be the "family" pool, but there were no kids while we were there and it was very peaceful. The other two pools were busier, but still inviting. We enjoyed drinks at the bar and the food service was good as well. The staff at the Viceroy was mostly young, but very friendly.

We had deep tissue massages at the Estrella spa on the property one day. My husband reported that his massage was great. My massage was good as well, but the therapist ended it 8-10 minutes early for some reason. The hotel gym was very small and was crowded both times we used it. I ended up leaving and going for runs outside because the treadmills were always busy.

We splurged on a Wetherly suite at the rate of $375/night, plus the resort fee. We were not upgraded to a villa, even though the rate we booked was supposed to include an automatic upgrade. We were told that an upgrade was not possible because the hotel was full, but we were assured that our suite was one of the nicest accommodations on the property.

Our second floor suite, #324, was like a one-bedroom efficiency from the 60s. It included a bedroom with ensuite bathroom, and a living room that opened onto a small, somewhat decrepit balcony overlooking the Citron pool. There was a second, smaller bathroom near the front door. The living room area was large, but we found it to be cavernous and unappealing given the way it was furnished. If we were to stay again as a couple, we would choose one of the pool view studios instead at a lower rate.

I agree with past reviewers who observed that the rooms at the Viceroy were given a "lipstick" renovation. The master bathroom in our suite had an old, plastic, stained bathtub that looked like it was from a Motel 6. The other bathroom had a cheap plastic shower stall. The furniture (with the exception of the bed) seemed like it was from Ikea and was neither useful nor comfortable. The sofa in the living room was dingy, uncomfortable, and smelled like wet dog. There were no drawers for clothes, only closets. The butterfly doors to the media cabinet at the foot of the bed would not stay open so we could watch TV. The TVs were flat screen, but were not high def, and the picture quality was terrible. The TV in the bedroom was tiny, probably 14" at most, even though the cabinet could have accommodated a much bigger one.

We did like that the king bed was ultra-comfortable and outfitted in high quality linens. (Weirdly, the towels were sometimes nice Sferra towels, and other times thin scratchy no-name towels). We also liked that the bathrooms were stocked with wonderful, full-size Neil George bath products (so nice not having to mess with all those little bottles!) We also appreciated some of the design elements that WERE included in the renovation: cool wallpaper on the bedroom ceiling, funky light fixtures, the bright yellow chairs (although not comfortable to lounge on).

The worst part of our stay was the noise factor on Saturday evening. Our bedroom backed up to the Presidio courtyard and pool area, which is one of the hotel's popular outdoor wedding venues. At 4pm we returned from a hike, wanting to take a little nap before dinner. The music from a large wedding in the courtyard was already blaring and made napping or even watching TV impossible...it was like the wedding band was right in our room. We called the front desk and were told that the noise was unavoidable, and that it would stop by 10 pm at the latest. So, we skipped our nap and instead listened to the wedding music, wedding toasts, first dance, cheers, and crowd noise while we got showered and got dressed for cocktails and dinner in town.

We returned to our room at 10:00 pm only to find that the wedding party was raging even harder and louder. I called the front desk again. They were apologetic and said they would speak to the wedding coordinator. At 11:30, the party and music was STILL blaring. I called again, and was told that the wedding coordinator was supposed to be shutting it down but there wasn't much they could do. They asked if we wanted to switch to another room. Um, thanks, but NO we don't want to pack all our stuff and lug it to another room on the last night of our stay. About 15 minutes later, we heard police sirens outside and saw what looked like a police officer (although it could have been a security guard) approaching the courtyard. The party shut down pretty quickly after that, and we thought we would finally be able to get some sleep.

Unfortunately, right before turning out the lights, we noticed a bunch of ants streaming all over the nightstand next to the bed. We had not had anything to eat or drink in the room so I'm not sure where they came from. We squished as many as we could with a washcloth, but the rest of the night we were both waking up thinking ants were crawling on us. Icky.

The next day, I called the front desk to let them know about the ant problem because we could still see a few of them crawling around the nightstand. I also requested a late check out, because our flight did not leave until the evening. The desk clerk said said they could do a 5pm check out for a $75 fee. When I mentioned that the rate we booked was supposed to include a late check out, she said that meant a 1 pm checkout (regular checkout is at noon). I then mentioned all the problems from the night before, and asked if they could possibly comp the late check out fee. The desk clerk said she would check with her manager. Her manager later approved it, but I was a little annoyed I had to ask in the first place, given the issues we experienced.

Overall, I might return to the Viceroy, but only at a MUCH cheaper rate, and only in a room that is not located near the wedding areas.

Room Tip: Pool or courtyard views are the best. For a couple, the Wetherly suite is not worth the upgrade fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGouhier, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the noise disturbance from the Wedding party at your last stay with us, and hope you will be able to come back and have a relaxing stay.
Warmest Regards
Marie Helene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Well, I feel it is a little necessary to write a "counter-review" to that last review complaining about a wedding and being kicked out at midnight (yes this is residential, so noise laws are a consideration Im guessing) as well as food poisoning....Actually, my brother got married there in October, and first of all, it was amazing, at least from the guests' point of view (me). The food at the reception was pretty good (I should know I am a foodie NYer) and the front desk was fabulous - they even helped me try to find my lost ipad all day...shout out to Bunnie at the front desk for her service. And also the manager, a helpful gentleman (sorry, I don't remember the name!), who literally sat with me for an hour trying to figure out the tracking system on the ipad. I liked the free coffee in the morning, so many thanks! The staff did a great job...ok, yes, the renovation was a "lipstick" renovation as someone called it on another review, and yes needs more drawer space, so may eventually require more upgrades, but the place for the most part is a lovely intimate property. It is very boutiquey.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are better than those overlooking the street/parking lot (although that i...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is perfect for a weekend get away. It's still very close from LA so you can go for the weekend but far away enough so you can relax. The decor of this hotel makes me think about old glamorous hollywood. I have so many wonderful memories here with my fiance by the swimming pool having a drink in the warm desert night. Unfortunately I'm very far away from it now since I `currently live in Paris but I can wait to go back. If you plan to go to Palm Springs you should also try to have dinner by this hotel costes like restaurant called Jake's downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGouhier, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are so glad you have great memories from your stay with us and cannot wait to welcome you back in the desert! All the best et a bientot j'espere,
Marie Helene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were dissapointed with the Viceroy. The rooms are large, but there is almost no hanging space for your clothes, no drawers and almost no shelving. We wanted to unpack for our four night stay but there was nowhere to put your clothes. The airconditioning was very noisey and if you shut your curtains it blocked it out as it was placed behind them. They had no English breakfast or black tea only Earl Grey which is not the same at breakfast so we had to buy our own. The bed was comfy and the staff very nice and would do anything for you. We had a nice stay but the points mentioned spoilt it for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGouhier, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We will follow up and address. Sincerely, Marie Helene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved this place. It was built in the 1930s and was a haven for Hollywood celebrities. While celebrities have moved on to other places, the Viceroy retains the look. The hotel is well-hidden, but just a block off the main avenue. So well-hidden that I drove past it (there is no driveway, just a small valet stand). The staff couldn't be nicer, the rooms are magnificient and the poolside restaurant is very good. All this at a price that is reasonable. The Viceroy is added to our small list of memorable hotels.

Room Tip: We found the view of the pool to be more attractive than the nearby mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGouhier, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We cannot wait to welcome you back!
All the best,

Marie Helene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Avalon Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Palm Springs

Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Viceroy Palm Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#28 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs is the newest addition to our family. The quintessential Palm Springs resort sits in stunning contrast to its desert setting, nestled between Downtown's main drag and the foot of the rugged San Jacinto Mountains. Set amongst four acres of fragrant, beautifully manicured gardens, this luxurious Spanish Eclectic-style stunner channels Palm Springs' storied Golden Age, exuberantly updated with Hollywood Regency interiors by renowned designer Kelly Wearstler. Whether they're savoring the cuisine of Citron, sunning by one of three pools or indulging in a massage beneath a private cabana, guests (and their favorite four-legged friends) delight in experiences elevated by Avalon's flair for trend and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Avalon Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.