We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Palm Springs

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Palm Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than I thought...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Was pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay at the Viceroy. The location is great - a block away from the main restaurant/shopping area of Palm Springs but quiet. Outdoor space at the Viceroy was excellent - very charming with three pools (two adult, one family) and lovely gardens. The Wednesday night champagne and music night was the best - the singer was exceptional and well worth planning your stay around. He also plays Saturdays at the Viceroy. Staff was fantastic - very much an "small town inn" feel with nice attention to detail. I would say that the rooms are fairly tired but the staff and outdoor space more than made up for it.

Room Tip: The little cabins are charming - we stayed in the hotel portion and were transferred to a downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    149
    92
    59
    55
See reviews for
65
324
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in June after driving down from San Francisco to LA and wanted a 2 night getaway. The hotel reception has a modern feel and the staff were eager to please. Our first room had an ant problem in the bathroom and generally looked tired. After raising this with the front desk we were quickly moved to a better room.

There are 3 different pools in the hotel and non were busy, which meant we could relax and take a dip without being bothered. There was great poolside service and the bar man was a great guy. We made a reservation in the restaurant on the first evening, but cancelled it because we would have been the only one in and we were looking for something livelier.

All in all a pleasant trip.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We planned on staying at the Viceroy, and moving around Palm Springs trying different restaurants.
Our room was beautiful, clean, well appointed, and well equipped.
We ended up eating all but one meal in Citron, and the food was creative and excellent. The singer on Wednesday night was excellent, and not overpowering.
We unwittingly booked with the Breathe package which made all the prices all the more acceptable.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Inquire about the Breathe package when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Viceroy Hotel & Resort is a charming, beautifully landscaped resort that reminds one of small boutique hotel but on 4 acres. It has a welcoming ambience, an enthusiastic & attentive staff and a marvelous chef at the hotels' "Citron Restaurant" that deserves the accolades he receives. Guests can choose from 3 various swimming pools to rest & relax including a pool designated for "family". Beds are very comfortable, bathroom shower water pressure is "out of this world" and gigantic sized bath lotions, soaps, shampoo & conditioner are fabulous.
For early risers (6:00AM) coffee,tea & rolls are available before breakfast is served (8:00 AM); definitely sit by the Citron Pool & enjoy the newspaper. Rooms have a safe, mini refrigerator & cupboard stocked with all sorts goodies for purchase....Honestly, the nuts were a bit stale but the chips very satisfying.
I did read & note other reviews both "pro & con" from Trip advisor re. the resort. I have to agree the Resort is showing its age and does need to be freshened up here & there. But none the less, it was very comfortable and I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Viceroy for 4 nights in September 2012. A lovely location, right by the main street with shops and restaurants. Great service when we arrived from the valet service and staff at reception. We found all the staff very friendly. Anna and Roxy in particular on the reception desk were so helpful and friendly. Anna went out of her way to get us on a tour when we had trouble getting hold of the tour guide and Roxy was great with recommendations of where to eat and shop! We loved them!
The two adult only pools were a great idea and we enjoyed some time in both of them. Our room was huge, with two really comfortable queen sized beds so plenty of room for us to stretch out in! We were disappointed with the wardrobe space though, as two of the doors didn't open. If there had been more than two of us, as there originally was, we wouldn't all have been able to hang our clothes up. Definitely more wardrobe and drawer space is required for a room of that size. Also a mirror in the room would be useful. Apart from that we loved our room.
All in all we really liked the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Viceroy for one night for a wedding in September. It took us a while to find the hidden front entrance, but once we walked into the small lobby, it was clear that decorating superstar Kelly Wearstler had been there. The white and yellow tile wall which graces the cover of one of her books is a beautiful backdrop to this intimate place. The room we had was incredibly spacious with a little wetbar and two bathrooms and a very comfortable bed. But it oddly only had window air conditioners and felt under-furnished for its size. The in-bathroom toiletries were great. The grounds are fantastic, as the hotel is comprised of many buildings and bungalows and has multiple pools, some of which are adults-only. It was very hot so we enjoyed a cocktail while sitting on a bright yellow lounge in the pool. But what we couldn't help notice, despite the good service, was the paint chipping off the walls and the odd Regency touches that Ms. Wearstler added atop what was originally Spanish style architecture. It all felt rather like someone had done a 24-hour makeover for an HGTV show rather than a full-scale renovation. The grounds and landscaping are beautiful and the service was great. And breakfast by the pool the next morning was delicous. I just wish that for the money they're charging (a lot!), they'd take more care of the actual buildings; it's time for a pick-me-up for the exterior and rooms and i wish they'd PLEASE install central air... All that said, we had a fantastic time and would go back again if we could get a better deal on the room. And be aware that one of the pools is open 24 hours, so if you're staying next to that, be prepared for a lot of noise at night if a large party is staying there.

Room Tip: Even though the bungalows look adorable, you might want to be away from the main pool which is open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I booked expecting a small luxury hotel and though we got an upgrade our room looked and felt like a clour co ordinated motel room.
We got the lemon chair and pretty chandelier but the rooms are in a motel style block and really didn't have the luxury feel that I was expecting.
The room was spacious with a balcony looking onto the rear carpark and then the mountains.
The pool areas are pretty and well serviced and we had the use of cabanas too which gave luxurious feel. The jacuzzi is open 24 hours and we felt very lucky having the place to ourselves at midnight
Staff are very friendly and happy to help with advise on places to eat/drink.
The fountain area has lovely bungalows and I would recommend anyone thinking of staing here to book one for a truly luxurious stay

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow/villa in the fountain area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Palm Springs

Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#36 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Palm Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origins in the 1930s, Viceroy Palm Springs has redefined the ultimate Palm Springs Spa Resort experience. Luxuriously updated by Kelly Wearstler to reflect the Hollywood Regency Style popular during the desert’s original glamour era, Viceroy Palm Springs offers first-class personalized and intuitive service and amenities that guarantee a memorable experience. Experience the hotel recognized on Conde Nast’s Hot list of hotels and our Estrella Spa which was voted number 16 of the top 50 Hotel Spas in the US by Conde Nast Traveler 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.