We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel Palm Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel Palm Springs to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Viceroy Palm Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Your Entire Stay
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Poway, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We went to Palm Springs for a 2 night get away for our anniversary. What a great choice. Tucked away - all staff pleasant and bent over backward to please. Dan by the pool made sure we always were stocked with comp. cold waters, brought our lunch and great restaurant reccomendations. The food at the restaurant for breakfast and lunch was far above average. They showed a movie under the stars one night , brought watermelon around to all guests by the pool - just plain great service and loads of ammenities.

We would gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    172
    107
    69
    60
See reviews for
74
363
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

We were looking for a nice place to stay and got it here! The guests averaged 30-40's. The pool side service needs a little attention, but the spa is great. We got massages and facials. Our car got scratched in the valet, but we can't be sure it happened there. Overall, it's a very romantic place to stay. Get a room that faces away from the pool cause it can get loud at night and they pump music to the pool area during the day near Citron.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

I had to go to to Palm Springs spur of the moment. They offered me a great rate and them upgraded me upon my arrival to a lovely apartment suite with a bottle stocked kitchen. I could have hosted a cocktail party if I wanted to! There are three pools, but only one is available for kids. The bar and restaurant were quite good. The grounds are lovely. Good service.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckenham kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

This is a lovely hotel, peaceful and beautifully kept. My only bad comment would be the front desk staff not very smiley but would still stay here again.

  • Liked — very comfy beds
  • Disliked — non smiley staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We celebrated our wedding anniversary there last year and are coming back this year! Almost everything was perfect. Don't miss out on the package "Viceroy All-Inclusive" - it's a really good deal. If we had gone to Las Vegas we would have probably spent 3 to 4 times as much on the same quality accommodation, dinning and spa treatments. The room (Wetherly Suite) was comfortable and clean. Citron restaurant truly deserves 5-star rating. My husband can't wait to go back next week. Perfect place for a romantic getaway!

  • Liked — Food, spa
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

I spent three days at the Viceroy, and overall really enjoyed my stay. The lounge chairs at the pools were very relaxing, and the endless supply of water bottles made it easy to stay out there for a long time in the heat. The poolside service was great, as were the food and drinks. The room was good sized, with a balcony overlooking one of the pools. The beds were comfortable, and the AC worked great without being too loud.

So, the bad things. When I checked into my room, there was only one robe, with an empty hanger saying they'd charge you $115 if you decided to take the robe home with you. I also only had one towel. A quick call took care of these things. However, every day I was there I'd leave the room around 9am and put the "please make up room" sign on the door. Both days I'd get back around 3pm and nothing had been done. Once they finally came, they did a great job. Also, although two of the three pools were supposed to be adults only, including the main one next to the restaurant, two children spent a lot of time in the main pool making all the expected noise. All sorts of hotel employees saw this, and no one did anything.

All in all I really enjoyed my stay, and I would return.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

The hotel is in a perfect location--close but not on the main drag. The restaurant is worth the accolades, and the "scene" all the other reviews describe is in full hipster effect.

But somehow lost in the shuffle were the basic services of a hotel. The rooms are a nice size, and the beds comfortable. But in two days, my TV broke, my coffee maker broke, and there was only one hanger in my insanely small closet. The pathetic air-conditioner was noisy and inadequate for summer. The desk staff polite and attractive but clueless...

Because this was off-season, i got a deal and think my experience was adequate for what I paid. But I wouldn't come here for top dollar.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Disorganized
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Palm Springs

Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Viceroy Palm Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#27 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs is the newest addition to our family. The quintessential Palm Springs resort sits in stunning contrast to its desert setting, nestled between Downtown's main drag and the foot of the rugged San Jacinto Mountains. Set amongst four acres of fragrant, beautifully manicured gardens, this luxurious Spanish Eclectic-style stunner channels Palm Springs' storied Golden Age, exuberantly updated with Hollywood Regency interiors by renowned designer Kelly Wearstler. Whether they're savoring the cuisine of Citron, sunning by one of three pools or indulging in a massage beneath a private cabana, guests (and their favorite four-legged friends) delight in experiences elevated by Avalon's flair for trend and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.