We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return my next visit to Palm Springs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #46 of 69 Hotels in Palm Springs
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will return my next visit to Palm Springs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my first stay in Palm Springs and i really enjoyed the Riveria. From the moment we checked in the concierge, Rigoberto, greeted us with a smile and extremely professional and helpful attitude. He was very knowledgeable about the area which was nice it being our first time there. When our pool view room did not have the view or balcony we expected he easily and quickly arranged our upgrade to a jr. suite. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean.
The pool area can be crowded but being there in Nov. we didn't have any problems finding lounge chairs/daybeds and the poolside service was friendly and quick. This hotel is a little way from the main downtown area but is an easy cab ride. We even walked it one evening but definitely decided on a cab ride back. I really enjoyed my stay and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Mediterranean Junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
El Cajon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

swim meet 2012. Amenities promised with the additional fee were not provided. We had a person with injury needed ice. Ice machine was broke and never fixed the entire time we were there. It to forty minutes to get a bucket brought to themroom. Shower head was broke spraying water everywhere this was never fixed. Called to speak to a Manager were told they would return call this was on November 20th still have not received a call back. Next meet we will look elsewhere for a room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phipa910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Even though I'm giving this hotel a two star - it is solely based on my dissatisfaction of the room, it's proximity and it's accomodations versus what was requested. Unfortunately, we stayed during the Thanksgiving weekend - it was EXTREMELY busy with noisey kids running amuck. I'm not used to kids - particularly unruly ones. So when checking in to our King Room, I asked if we could have a room with a view - and she stated that there weren't many view rooms for the King Room - but she would place us in a room with the Garden View. When we got to room #3104 it turned out to be an interior corner room - so the view was not of a Garden View, but of a concrete wall. Also, since is turned out to be an interior room - we were next to the central door, plus the stairwell - so we had the pleasure of hearing slamming doors, kids screaming in the halls, plus stomping up the stairwell. In addition - it was the smallest room that I have ever been in, in my entire life (other than my college dorm room). I'm guessing since it was the end-unit for the interior - the walls were six sided instead of four (cutting off the corners) - and due to lack of light (remember the wall outside?), it was VERY dark inside. So sleeping in this small, dark, six walled room resembled a coffin. I did appreciate their attempt to make this small closet presentable by their trendy furniture - including the bed, which was extremely comfortable - if only I could have slept better without all of the noise surrounding the room. Even my Noise Cancellation headphones did not drown out the temper tantrums and door slams (so our first venture out was to buy a large bottle of vodka). As for the remainder of the Resort - I thought it was quite beautiful. The pools were beautiful, the fire pits were great for sitting around at night, the exterior hallways consisted of well-manicured hedges, tennis courts, awesome front bar, excellent food at the restaurant (Circa 56 I think) - even the service there was wonderful. Great staff - maid service was prompt - they even followed up at night since I spent the day in the room during their regular cleaning hours. So my only issue was how aweful the room was - size, placement, everything. Since I'm the type of traveller that likes to actually STAY in the resort rooms, and only venture out every once in awhile - this was not the ideal setup for me. I disliked the room so much, it forced me to get out of there do "other things" in PS instead of relaxing in the room, and enjoying a view. But I'd give it another chance. LIke I said - everything else was awesome there - I just need try a second stay there and see if all of the rooms are this bad, or if it was a fluke.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeDSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my second visit in two years.

The service remains excellent and Andrew at reception was extremely helpful and went out of his way many times. There were four of us and we had a lot of requests which he delivered on with a smile.

The rooms were very roomy and spacious. Albeit the bathroom is a little small but for two nights I didn't mind. The shower was powerful and the room was well lit.

The view of the palm trees and the mountains in the morning was stunning. The a/c was very powerful and did the trick with all the heat outside.

The pool service was great and so was the food. Sometimes it took a little while but nothing too major. The bloody mary's are recommended!

The self parking is definitely worth it over the valet and convenient to get to from our rooms.

I would always request a top floor room and of course away from the elevator. There is a gas station just next door and a 7/11 convenience store.

Room Tip: top floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, General Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that you had such a great stay and enjoyed the facilites. We are looking forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I recently stayed here with my husband and 3 1/2 year old for Thanksgiving week. I knew from previous reviews that this was not a hotel that families with young children would like. However, the rate I got was amazing and I have been going to the Palm Springs area for vacations for over 20 years. The hotel staff was courteous and pleasant. The grounds were well kept and we had a terrific time at the pool, although there is no children's pool. The only negative issue that we had was that our room was never cleaned! I have never stayed at a hotel where the rooms aren't cleaned every day. We stopped the maids in the hall and requested our room to be cleaned, we called the front desk asking for a maid....it never happened. Each day I had to beg for the trash to be emptied and for new towels and glasses. There was also an issue with the bed frames. They stick out way past the mattress and are hidden by the comforters. Needless to say, all 3 of us had banged up our knees, feet, and legs daily as a result.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kottichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, General Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have shared the concerns with the appropriate departments and do apologize for the inconsistency on cleaning the room. We certainly hope we get to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Riviera Looks Like A Cool Place To Stay With Its Old School Vegas Glitz And Glam But Its All Window Dressing ! Our Family Was In Palm Springs For 2012 Thanksgiving Baseball Tournament And It Was A Disaster ! DAY 1 > Wrong Room Type Given At Check In, Waited 2 Hours For Right Room Due To Housekeeping Delay. Elevator Broke; Shut In For 15 Minutes Until Help Arrived. Missed Patriots / Jets Game. No Bath Towels, had to call Housekeeping 3 Times ! DAY 2 > Housekeeping Delay (AGAIN!) Away At Baseball Until 3:00pm, Returned To UN-Made Room. Because We Had Dog With Us, Had To Wait Another 2 Hours Outside For Housekeeping To Come Clean Room (They Don't Allow Pet In The Room While Room Is Being Made Up) Had To Cancel Dinner Plans. Day 3 > You Guessed It, Housekeeping Delay ! We Even Called Housekeeping Sat Morning (As They Advised After Friday's Problem With Housekeeping) And Requested Room Be Made Up By 1:00pm Sat; They committed by 10:00am. Came Back From Baseball 2:00pm...guess what...Room Was Not Made Up Yet....We Checked Out Early. This Was THE Worst Customer Experience I've Had In A Hotel....Ever.

Room Tip: If You Want A Good Room - Book Another Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, General Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Alan,

First of all, sincerly apologize for the challanges you experienced during your most recent visit. We have shared the comments with the appropriate department(s) as we value the opinions of all of our guests. We truly want our guests to have a great stay and enjoy the hotel and sourrounding areas and we would hope for a return visist to show you that we can make it right. Please contact Geoff Young, Managing Director if you have any further questions or concerns. Again, we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I've been coming to Riviera for years and I've always really liked staying here. The last time we were here, they had a line of guests who were having problems checking in at the front desk. This time, when we got to the hotel (2 hours after standard check in time), they told us our room still wasnt clean. So it took 25 minutes for them to find us a room (facing the parking lot). Once we came in to our room, we saw that housekeeping left dirty towels on the bathroom floor. The hallways aren't kept up either. Service by the pool used to be quick and easy, but now it takes an hour to flag down anyone to order drinks. and the pool area wasnt even busy today. I'm now writing this review out of frustration because we called housekeeping 2.5 hours ago to come and tidy up our room. No one came! so we called again about a half our ago and we're still waiting. Really wish that hotel management read all these reviews. This is such a great hotel but such a shame that they're not keeping up the service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PServat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, General Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing the feedback from your most recent visit. We sincerly apologize for the challanges you experienced and all feedback/comments are shared with the rest of the departments. It is a great hotel and we hope to welcome you back to truly show you that we are a great product that offers a great stay. Please don't hesitate to contact Geoff Young, Managing Director for any further questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#34 of 69 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
#29 of 69 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#44 of 69 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Triada Palm Springs
Triada Palm Springs
#20 of 69 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#39 of 69 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legend is surpassed, in mythical and mystical proportions, as 24 voluminous acres rise from the Palm Springs desert like a phoenix, capturing and challenging the imagination. More an epic and contemporary Mecca for cultural sophisticates than just another hotel in California, The Riviera Palm Springs draws from the best Palm Springs resorts of all genres to create a theater of relaxation, rejuvenation and indulgence amid world-class golf, shopping and vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing