We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coachella Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Curve Palm Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Curve Palm Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
The Curve Palm Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 East Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coachella Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is my second time writing a review for the Travelodge. I stayed here during Coachella weekend. I went to the pool both days I was there and had a great experience. They had satellite radio (BPM) playing in the pool area and they also had free ice cold water w/ lemons for everyone, which was really good idea since it was over 100 degrees! The front desk was very helpful with the transportation to and from Coachella. They provided free transportation to Coachella!

They serve free breakfast (bagels, muffins, cereal, etc.). I've read previous comments that complain about the free breakfast (many 5 star hotels don't offer free breakfast!). If you're looking for eggs benedict or french toast, maybe you can drive over to Denny's or another restaurant. Otherwise, this place does the job. They even provide you with coffee in your room! (again, many 5 star hotels don't provide this!).

The rooms are pretty spacious and have flat screen TVs. The bathrooms are on the smaller side, but they are clean. If you're looking for a luxurious bathroom with a big bathtub and huge mirrors, you should pay an extra $150 and stay at the Marriott.

I'll be back...

Room Tip: Take a room that has the main pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    133
    90
    43
    22
See reviews for
63
155
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night in April, and had a generally good impression of the place. The screen door to the little patio was sagging and didn't close properly, but the room was otherwise OK--typical of this type of Motel. You can book rooms with different views (mountain, pool, etc.) for an extra price. A good idea is to make sure your room patio faces East so that the hot setting sun does not bother you if you want to have your happy hour on the patio. The management was nice in that they arranged for our party to have connecting rooms. The main unpleasant surprise was that the Motel added on about $4.00 as a "resort fee", which is normally done only by resort-like properties that have golf courses, tennis courts, and the like. This motel is not a resort, so the added fee is just a small gouge of the unwary traveller.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the pool area is nice (extra price). However, motel had no elevator in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great place to stay with excellent amenities and staff. They go above and beyond the average service levels to be there for the guest. Very friendly. Very affordable without giving up the style and subtle chic environment. Rooms are spacious and the main pool area is surprisingly cool and clean. Asst. Manager CJ, Front Desk Jessica and night front desk Aaron are clearly proud of their jobs, excellent hospitality skills and friendly vibes that you walk away pleasantly nurtured during your stay. It is clear Vanessa has selected a very strong staff to support her overall plan in the role as manager, including the morning continental breakfast staff person Christina who is delightful, full of smiles and produces a warm set up for everyone. Her attention to detail and loving nature made us feel welcome just like home.

My business partner and I enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid the overdone ritzy hotels that lose their charm and personal touch. Thank you and may your hotel be successful with the renovations and the future.

JL

Room Tip: go near main pool area well worth the small added fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Booked as part of a budget package, this was a pleasant surprise. Nice well appointed rooms in Palm Springs with good views for tourists (like us). Friendly staff, two outdoor pools for guests. Decent coffee in rooms & good TVs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Travelodge in Palm Springs for one night in late December (just before New Year's). It was a last-minute trip to meet up with friends who were already out in the desert for another friend's birthday. I booked the room via the internet on a Monday for that very same Thursday night and got a Std. King Room for $64/nt! When the Ace Hotel was asking around $175/nt for same, I figured this was worth giving a try. We knew it wouldn't be luxury, but I really like that part of Palm Canyon and thought it was kind of cool that this Travelodge had been here since the 1960s. I even found an old postcard of it from back in the day!

We arrived right at sunset and the skies were gorgeous. Check-in was quick & the front desk clerk was friendly and efficient. We were in the building furthest West and our room had a little balcony that overlooked the parking lot (with a couple of outdoor resin chairs on it). The furniture was sort of IKEA-esque, but nice and the bed was decently comfortable. The bathroom still has the original tiled shower stall from the 60s (which has definitely seen better days & is very narrow & close), but I appreciate when a vintage motel keeps a little something of its history. The A/C heating unit is a large window unit and the heat worked very well (we weren't cold at all).

It's next door to Lyon's English Grille (great old 60s steakhouse/lounge), the Caliente Tropics hotel (tiki architecture) and a short walk to the Ace Hotel (Amigo Room bar). It's also a quick cab ride or drive into downtown Palm Springs.

Honestly, this stay started out as a 4-star experience (hovering toward 5-star), until the morning of check-out. When we arrived back to the room at night after dinner & drinks, I called down to the desk to ask for a late check-out (check-out time is noon). The night clerk said that she could give us until 1:00 p.m. I said that would be fine. The next morning, we were leisurely taking showers and answering emails, knowing that we had until 1:00 p.m. to check out. At around 12:10 p.m., I received a call from the desk clerk demanding to know why we hadn't checked out yet. I told her that the night clerk had promised us a 1 p.m. check-out. She immediately barked, "Who did you talk to? What was her name?" I said I didn't know, but it was a woman who was working the night desk shift. She then launched into a 5 minute tirade that started with "Well, there is nothing noted in the computer and I have a full hotel tonite and need everyone checked out already." When I, once again, told her that we had been promised by an employee a 1 p.m. check-out and that we weren't trying to shirk our check-out time (and that I was standing in a towel), she reiterated that she had "no record" of my request and she needed me out of the room IMMEDIATELY. I told her we would do our best & she hung up on me.

I appreciate the need to get people out on time, but 10 minutes later when we walked down to the car, there was no maid cart anywhere NEAR our room (so, I'm not sure why it was so necessary to shuffle us out half-dressed). I still think this hotel is an incredible value in a fine location, but think that Travelodge needs to have a word with their Palm Springs desk managers about good manners and customer service. It definitely took a nice overnight stay and ended it on a sour note.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

One of the cheaper options in Palm Springs, had a bit of a Pontins feel to it. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and well equipped. The room had obviously been recently decorated and looked nice. The only problem is they forgot to renovate the bulding itself so quite a few things were broken/in poor repair (balcony door, bathroom door, safe, windows...!). It didn't really bother us too much - we were only there 2 nights and you do get what you pay for. Breakfast was basic but free. Outside downtown Palm Springs so a car would be preferable. Mexican restaurant El Mirasol (left out of the hotel, follow the road round to the right and it's on your righthand side) is excellent, as are the Indian Canyons.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanueva del Trabuco, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

for the price that we paid, under $60, this was definately an OK place to stay. we just wanted to save money, and we felt safe here. it is a bit run-down, and needs some TLC but felt clean too. the beds were really comfortable, and the linens on them looked and smelled clean and new. the pool and jacuzzi were nice, hopefully they clean the pool regularly. the fire pit area was nice although the wood needed to be in smaller pieces, and grill/picnic area nice too. i don't like the 'outdoor' beds--kinda creepy and i would never sit or lie on them. i fly for a commercial airline and have stayed in dozens of hotels, reaching both ends of the spectrum, most on the much nice side of course. But, for the money, this was worth it, saving about $50+ easily for 1 night stay. we rode the bikes (free) and it was only 11/2 miles from downtown. the staff was very nice. we were in room 254, i don't know if other bldgs or poolside views may have been better, or worse. it all depends on what you are looking for...don't expect the best or the worst !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Curve Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Curve Palm Springs Hotel

Also Known As:
Palm Springs Travelodge Hotel
Palm Springs Travelodge Hotel Palm Springs
Address: 333 East Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Curve Palm Springs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curve Palm Springs is located in America's Desert Playground with classic mid-century modern architecture. We are surrounded by majestic snow capped mountains and extraordinary views. The Curve Palm Springs is located minutes from downtown where you will find world-class shopping, entertainment, dining, fabulous golf, tennis, hiking, other outdoor activities and unlimited sunshine which makes this a desert oasis! Enjoy our casual atmosphere at affordable vacation prices and take in all the desert has to offer. Visit The Curve Palm Springs and make your Palm Springs experience a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Curve Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curve Palm Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.