We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over comfort but definitely worth a stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Ace Hotel and Swim Club to your Saves list
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   701 E. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Style over comfort but definitely worth a stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I am currently staying here for 3 nights over Christmas in one of the Simple Suites. This is a very cool, trendy and interesting hotel but it is definitely not luxurious. The suite is a great size and on first impressions it looks hip, but I think more attention has been paid to 'cool' rather than comfort. Although there is a separate living room in the suite, the 50's furniture is really uncomfortable, you can't lie on the sofa without it creaking at every move and the metal arms mean its really uncomfortable/not practical to lie down. The bed is big but for me far too soft and I woke up with a really achey back, but then I prefer a harder mattress. There is also a baby cot in the living room which I think should be put in on request as for me its a bit of an odd and unnecessary addition that takes up space and doesn't need to be there for those without need for it.

Staff are really friendly and very helpful with any requests (an asset of the hotel!) We went to the bar on Christmas Eve and the evening started well but then the night became comedy night, and (as a matter of personal taste) I found the comedy to be uncomfortably bad so we left. Would have been much better as a music night as the atmosphere was pretty relaxed pre 'comedy'.

Although I love to walk, even for me the location is a bit far from downtown, and it's $10 each way in a taxi, which doesn't sound too bad but if you don't spend all day at the pool and want to go out in the day then later at night the cost can really add up. I imagine it would be impossible to walk in blazing summer heat. Considering the $20 a day resort fee included free bikes to use, I never saw any available so guess they'd all been taken.

If you like spending time at the pool and want somewhere younger and hip this place is PERFECT. If you want luxury or comfort and a more downtown location I'd suggest elsewhere as it's pretty expensive for what you get (the spa prices are crazily high!!!) and I find it a bit odd that the feel of the place is a bit 'trendy student' but the prices certainly aren't. But absolute credit for breathing new life into an old resort and giving Palm Springs something cool and hip that it is desperately lacking. Certainly worth a stay though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    174
    95
    52
    37
See reviews for
70
195
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I went to the ACE with a friend who just loves the place because she can hang out with her dog. I knew what the room rates and charges were before I arrived, and based on her personal experience, I was expecting A LOT more than I got. Here's the deal with the ACE. It's hipster cool. This is not a compliment in my book. It means: "Basically, stylish but no substance." It's loud, populated by partiers and extraordinarily overpriced. The spa prices are outrageous. A one hour massage in the spa, not your room, is $120 for a basic, no frills swedish massage and they go up from there. A basic facial is $135. Not including gratuity, folks. I'm sorry, but that's just insane. Room prices are way too much for what you get AND they add on a $20 "resort" fee per day even in the winter time? Lame. Lame. Lame. The rooms aren't that terribly stylish. I'm sorry, but whoever thinks they've got "great art direction" should stop into the redoneTravelodge down the street. Basically, same room with carpet. The "Art" is mostly pages torn from picture books and the vinyl records they provide to play in your room are crappy rejects from Amoeba. While the bed is very comfortable and the rooms are very clean, I wasn't too thrilled with the nasty spider bite i got while I was at the ACE and having the guy in the room above me chant "Amigo Room, Amigo Room, Amigo Room" at the top of his lungs at 3am wasn't too thrilling either. My advice: skip the ACE and find something worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Ace has garnered some of the hotel industries most lush worthy praise in the last few years - you need only look at the reading material on your bed that alerts you to the fact that THIS hotel was featured in the top 10 hotels IN THE WORLD by Tablet. It's an old Howard Johnson motor in on the main drag in town. The buildings exterior remains, covered in white wash, and that's it. It features a well done mixture of old Palm Springs modern, 70s California kitsch, and slight nods to its Seattle parent's homebase (the beer and coffee are PNW exports)

It is a scene. You go to have fun, at the pool, in the lounge, at the club. Everything is about createing a exciting, intoxicating, and modern scene. You can relax, certainly, but you can also have fun.

The room I was in was a standard King, the bed looked a little like a college futon on the floor, but it was surprisingly high-end and comfortable. The shower was very small, but clean. The rest of the room consisted of a table and chairs, a pair of french doors that opened up to the patio, and a wet/bar/vanity combo that was more practical then hipster. The room was a mixture of old furniture and new, lots of industrial canvas and unpolished wood accents. A highend clock radio MP3 dock was there, as well as fast, high speed WiFi (free, too)

This isn't a place for kids in my opinion. While everyone was friendly, the mixture of people is an intense scene of all types of young people, who may or may not agree with kids (think of it this way, it's much the same as the debate hipsters have about kids in bars).

The hotel is just well done. Some hotels are about a look, or the destination. This hotel is about the experience. It really made me enjoy Palm Springs more then I should have. I socialized with a great bunch of SoCal people at night, and had a great time. The restaurant is a gem - more PNW cuisine then Californian, but I loved it.

The staff is fine. While everyone checking in ahead of me was a repeat customer, either with expensive sleave tatoos or carefully altered vintage tees and black fram glasses, I was more or less a bit more Nordstroms then Urban Outfitters. I didn't get the high-five and hugs at check in, but then again, I had never seen a hotel have that before! How could you get mad? The two requests I made were prompt and courteous.

This is a perfect single traveler destination. Palm Springs has always been about relaxation, but much of the local environment is based on couples and retirees. Ace provides a haven for people under 40 who are single or traveling with friends/partners/etc. Highliy recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed just one night having "named my own price" through another site. This was the only time in many years of using that site of not being satisfied. After a miserable first night, I called and was able to have the remaining two nights refunded by helpful hotel staff and happily found another place in Palm Desert several miles down the road in a room 3 times the size with free bkfst, parking, etc. for &25 less/night - well worth the drive.

My ACE hotel room was small and the attempt at retro 50's/60's/70's decor left me cold. The mid-century modern wooden chairs were in sad shape from too many wet-bathing-suited bottoms.
The bed, while comfortable, was less than two inches off the floor. I am only 52 but found it hard to get out of. I was happy to see a small refrig, but disappointed to find it stuffed nearly full of beer, wine, soda and juice to be purchased, along with the row of liquor bottles above the fridge- the first thing to see when walking in the door.
Pool is open til 2 AM, with an "event area" for bands, parties, etc. as well. A bar is by the pool. I asked for a quiet room and was given one on a small side street. BUT, next-door neighbors came and went often and loudly until 3:30 AM; then a neighbor on the other side left at 4:45 AM, with the rolling luggage making a racket on the concrete wakway right outside and just a thin wall away from my bed. Security doors were not part of the original motel and each time any of the heavy doors from other rooms up and down walkway were opened or closed, it was quite loud the whole room shook.
Employees gathered outside in the parking lot below just before 6 AM to catch up and have some laughs.Then not long later large idling delivery trucks pulled up outside with produce delivery for the restaurant.
Besides some old-looking robes, there was a walking stick hanging on the wall. I bemusingly wondered if it was actually to confront loud fellow guests and staff...
Small computer for guest use stuck in the hall by retaurant was rather difficult to use.
"Resort fee" of an additional $20/day was quite excessive. Fortunately, the pleasant staff refunded my next two nights and they were spent elsewhere . I will never go back and would ONLY recommend this hotel to those wanting easy access to bar/ pool to party by until early morning hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I love this hotel. The style and art direction are so fantastic -- you can tell it's luxury but it feels so comfortable. The beds and pillows make you want to stay in bed all day but the great pool and poolside bar drag you out. The food's good, the service is laidback and ultra-friendly, and dogs are allowed!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

super fun, young energy. great scene. pool area had some shoddy service, but it was still great - we didn't want to leave. the restaurant had diner relaxation vibe with high end food... what more could you want?

my grudges would include not knowing about the $20/night resort fee in advance. and additionally, when i booked online i was told by the website that i would get a $20/per day voucher to spend on the property. when i checked in i was told that was not available to me since i had gotten the website's lowest rate (discount).

so clearly something went wrong, either in a system error or a front desk training error. either way, i was paying $40 more per day when you factor in the resort fee and the lack of credit i was promised when booking.

all that said, $80 more for two nights wasn't the end of the world and we still had a fabulous time. nice to see a hip hotel with a fresh energy. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Let me start by saying that this hotel had a lot of potential. The layout was great, the interior designing was right on, and there were plenty of amenities. I would have loved to have taken a spin on one of their scooters if I had more time, or even a ride on one of their many bikes. However, the hotel is basically a remodeled HoJo. They essentially put lipstick on a pig by redesigning their rooms, lobby, and pools. The pool scene was a scene, but then there was the pool nazi. He insisted on looking in everyone's bag. He claimed to be looking for glass, which is wise, but his real purpose was to make sure no outside food and drinks were brought in. I even witnessed the nazi making people throw out a bag of nuts. I can understand their desire to protect their potential revenue, but the service at the pool was abyssmal. It took 2 hours for us to get any poolside service, yet management insisted that we starve by the pool instead of grabbing a cheap snack of our own. I would go back, but I would better prepared for a lack of service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Address: 701 E. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#16 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#30 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel and Swim Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.