We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort fee ripoff!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ace Hotel and Swim Club to your Saves list
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   701 E. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Resort fee ripoff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Ambushed at the front desk when checking in with a document indicating a daily fee of $20 as "resort fee" on top of the room rate already being paid! No mention of this fee on the website when booking or the reservation confirmation. Spent many hours each day of stay poolside watching other people just walk in off the street, use up the towels and enjoy the facilities for free (according to the staff, outside guests are to pay a $12 fee to use the pool, but clearly made no attempt to police this). I spent every day ordering food from the hotel restaurant, drinks from the hotel bar and I'm the one stuck with the resort fee everyday? Bad bad business.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    158
    89
    48
    36
See reviews for
66
183
40
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed at the Ace during the first week of March while on our Southern California Elopement adventure! We had stayed at the Ace previously in August and found the stay to be memorable.
I've stayed in both a Patio Suite and a standard King. We enjoyed the Patio on our previous visit but found ours to be a bit unclean. We chose to save some money this time and went with the Standard which was totally fine. Our room was somewhat sectioned off so we never had any foot traffic coming by. Leaving the large doors open in the morning lets in a nice cool breeze.
A few small things annoyed me with this visit: we arrived on a Wednesday (granted, an off night) and the pool closest to us was being used for a photo shoot and was unavailable to guests. The photo people then moved around to the other pool area. Kind of annoying. The following morning we ordered room service breakfast from King's Highway. Room Service has stopped delivering pots of coffee to rooms, so we had to order two go-cups of coffee to go with our breakfast. Kind of weird. One other issue: its really unclear as to when the Pool area bar is open. I've stayed at the Ace twice and neither time did I see anyone working "The Short Bus".

Back to the praise. Our favorite aspects of staying at the Ace are small ones: not a single aspect of style and design is overlooked. The Rudy's Barbershop products smell amazing. We bought some to bring home with us this time. The Amigo Room runs great specials and makes good cocktails. On week nights the place is a ghost town. We really felt like we had full run of everything. They turned the smaller pool into a nice super hot tub the night that we were there (when it was pretty cold out). we loved that.

I guess my only suggestion is to maybe provide a little something extra for your weekday guests (maybe), but otherwise, don't change much. We can't wait to stop by again next year on our first wedding anneversary

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland,ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We decided to stay at the Ace as I had read pretty good reviews.. We pulled into the hotel at around 4pm on a Snday afternoon.There was a dj blaring pop tunes and the parking lot was packed. We checked in only after the front desk clerk showed us our room away from the pool. We decided to check out the other smaller pool area which was littered with beer cans and cigarette butts. Clearly not the place for us.
The rooms were OK but minimal and the noise level did go down after the live band left..
Clearly not a place for people who do not have a "party agenda" as the rooms stock a complete bar including condoms.... That was a first for me.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

A place this hip, and yet surprisingly unpretentious? We loved it, from the craft night at the bar to the great locally-sourced food to the incredibly comfy beds to the free bikes. The staff were genuinely friendly without being intrusive. It won't be for everyone--the decor is shabby chic/indie retro--but everything is clean and comfortable and even smells good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Thought this place sounded great. Reviews were good and it seemed a fun place to try out. However, I was really disappointed with the restaurant. Expensive, small portions, mediocre... I agree with previous reviews that this really does just look like a re-decorated motel. I think it actually was a motel, which in fine but the campus doesn't blow you away. Rooms were cool - liked the canvas draping. Beds were comfortable. B.S. $20 per day "Resort fee" to access the pool, etc - seriously... this is no resort... Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We came here for a few days with our 11 year old and 15 year old. They loved the pool and the general vibe of the place. It was really comfortable and convenient to all of Palm Springs. The staff was great ...we'd definitely come back.
I agree with the review that mentioned the room darkening shades...the sun woke us up very early! We also would have loved a ground floor room with "yard" and firepit but these only came with king sized beds.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

The Ace's hipster-hippy-earthy vibe was in full effect this weekend. Drawing design-aware gen-x'ers, this hotel is a scene, complete with poolside DJ, singing host at the restaurant and Palm Springs' best spiked snow cones. It seemed every single, couple or group at the pool had a small child, or dog in tow. I will definitely go back avec my dog!

Location
Set against a gorgeous mountain backdrop, the ace is close to everything, yet a little off the main hustle and bustle of Palm Springs' touristy area.
- 10 mins from airport
- 10 mins to downtown
- 5 mins to grocery store
- walk across the street for "koffi"

Rooms
The canvas-clad rooms are modern and fresh. Some of my friends made the mistake of thinking the modern rooms were 'cheap' looking. Make no mistake; they are far from cheap with lovely countertops, low-flow hatbox toilets, dual sinks, nice shower heads, marble-topped tables and comfortable beds. The moses-style robes, walking sticks and rustic blankets offered in each room are reminiscent of "bible times."

Staff
From the moment I started communicating with the ace via email re: our stay, they couldn't have been more gracious and friendly. Because the hotel didn't have an insane amount of check-ins the day we left, we were able to get a late (1pm) check-out with no issue.

Notes
- like most other hotels in palm springs, the Ace charges a $20 resort fee (includes parking) and a $20ish/night hotel occupancy tax. Expect to pay approx $40 over the quoted rate online.
- there are 2 pools
- you can bring your dog to the pool
- there is a dog park at the hotel
- free wireless throughout property!
- although i didn't eat at the restaurant, i hear it serves a mean breakfast!
- our room's bathroom fan wasn't working properly, because the bathroom smelled like sewage half the time we were there. we didn't say anything to the hotel a) because we forgot, and b) the hotel was fully booked so we wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Address: 701 E. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel and Swim Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.