We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very chill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Lodge

Save Saved
You added Desert Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 S. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
joshua tree
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very chill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

The hotel room was a decent size and clean. Nice pool and hot tub. Good place to kick back with friends. The staff were very polite and helpful.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    7
    7
    53
See reviews for
5
16
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gujarat
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We found beautiful hotel to be very good. The food was good and varied day to day,
The pool and areas were clean and the pool was cleaned nightly.
The hotel rooms were clean and the maid service was really good.
The hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

This is one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in or outside of the United States. From the dirty rooms, the inadequate equipment, the shoddy bedding and the stench all have led me to forego ever going to this place in this life or the next one. If you have an enemy, buy them a room here. If you want to show your in-laws that you don't like or care about them, have them stay here. If you want to see what it feels like to live in hell, stay here for one night. Simply put, this place stinks!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here two nights on a break in our month long trip last August/September. Did not expect much for the price in Palm Springs but was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the rooms and halls are dated but ours was not dirty, smelly or infested. Our ground-floor room was first entered from the hall which was a bit dark but not a problem. The sliding glass door opened to a small patio with two chairs just off the parking lot so we were able to park right outside and bring in our luggage through that door...a blessing as we are both handicapped. Also, a place to sit and have a smoke as the room was non-smoking (yes, we shut the door while we were outside smoking). The room itself was large and comfortable, as was the bed. The pool area (huge pool) resembles something you might see in a late 50's early 60's movie. sparkling clean water and deck area, palm trees, comfy lounges and chairs, plenty of tables plus a whirlpool for your aches and pains. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and, if we are in the area, will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I have no idea why the DHS (Department of Health Services) has not shut this place down. It is not even fit for "desert rats".

I stayed there on business because my ususal haunt, the Las Brises was full. Take a hint folks, in Palm Springs if it's cheap, think twice!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

VJ, the manager, may be one of the nicer guys around. The hotel is $39 per night and this is a case of you get what you pay for. The pool is clean and sparkling. The rooms are clean but extremely dated; the bathrooms are a cut below my college dorm. If you want a really cheap hotel in a good location, this could be it. Don't expect anything and you just might be pleasantly surprised but if you have a strong sense of smell, you may have to avoid this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

mold smell and bugs! unavailable staff. dirty sheets and bath tub was gross. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Lodge

Address: 1177 S. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Desert Lodge 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Palm Springs
Desert Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.