We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Willows to your Saves list
The Willows
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   412 W. Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Wine, WiFi
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you're looking for fabulous, this is the place, from the welcome, to the excellent breakfasts and appetizers, the rooms and sense of peace and privacy. Just a few minutes walk to the main drage of Palm Springs. Gordon and Steve gave excellent recommendations for dinner one evening and great smooth jazz another.

Room Tip: The rock room overlooks the pool and hot tub, giving it an open feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
96
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently my partner and I spend 10 heavenly days at The Willows. I can't say enough about it's excellence on every level. I have never encountered a more friendly yet fully professional and helpful staff, never had a better breakfast; the wine and appetizers went way beyond our expectation of white or red with cheese and crackers. Instead there were 4 exceptional varietals along with hot and cold gourmet hor d'oeuvres that I would rate as 5 star offerings. Often, we didn't feel like going out for dinner afterwards, we were so satisfied with the tasty and substantial snacks. The rooms are all elegant and cozy, each with its own special charm. The pool is perfectly heated and pristine, the garden's are luscious and inviting. The entire property has a serene almost monastery like quality during the day and a warm social energy in the evening when guests from all over the world gather by the fire at happy hour. We stayed in the Einstein room and felt distinctly smarter when we left. The vibrations are strong! There is nothing, absolutely nothing I can complain about. In fact we are returning next winter for a month. My only hesitation in writing this rave review is that The Willows will become overbooked and we won't be able to visit as often as we'd like!

Susan Isa Efros, Fairfax, CA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemet
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the willows for our 6th yr anniversary. February 2 This place is gorgeous, it has glam written all over it. We stayed in the library room which has a fire place. The willow is a bed and breakfast. We were hesitant of a bed and breakfast but this place is beautiful. We will defiantly will pay the price for this hidden gen.

Room Tip: Plan with plenty of time. They have limited rooms since its a what I call a mansion
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in "The Library" for two nights. What a great experience! The food and service is impeccable, yet not stuffy. Walking distance to the heart of downtown Palm Springs, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. And what fun to stay in a place where Einstein once stayed! We will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent three days at The Willows in February and it was wonderful. The facility is immaculate and there are just the right number of guests so the common spaces such as the living room, pool, decks and gardens are "your own". Small things like your room being cleaned while you are enjoying your breakfast happen. You must be flexible when it comes to breakfast because they are not equipped to change the menu, but what they serve is excellent. In total our stay was effortless and delightful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having read many of the reviews on Trip Advisor about The Willows I can only but echo the superlatives expressed.
My wife and I spent four nights there starting February 8,2013. We had been looking for somewhere convenient to LA ,a place to relax and also explore and so settled on Palm Springs.After reviewing the many options,which appeared to largely cater to golfers, we decided on The Willows.We absolutely loved the experience which was much more akin to staying in a (wealthy) friends home than a small hotel.We stayed in the Loft room which was spacious,airy,bright and had wonderful views.Brushing your teeth while watching hummingbirds hover at the waterfall on the property was quite a treat! As noted by others the only downside in this room was the lack of a fixed shower head,but this was a minor inconvenience.
As noted by other reviewers we found the staff exceptional.Friendly,knowledgeable and gracious.We loved the evening "happy hour" with the choice of two red and two white wines accompanied by delicious hors d'ouevres.And then there were the breakfasts! Served adjacent to the waterfall,silver service,three course,different everyday.Delightfully delicious.
The hotel is very well situated being adjacent to the excellent Modern Art Museum and only a short walk to the centre of town yet very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We normally avoid bed and breakfast properties, but this one is truly a gem. From the moment we arrived and received a warm welcome from Steve we felt completely at home. The Rock Room was splendid. The service is impeccable and the secluded grounds are truly lovely. Where else can you sit on the same bench that Einstein sat on many times! We really enjoyed meeting other guests at the wine receptions. The restaurant directly across the street (La Vallauris) is fantastic. We just got home and can't wait to go back to The Willows again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 412 W. Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacation at The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn feels like a visit to a friend's country estate; or rather, an acquaintance who has welcomed some very famous friends into their home over the years. Nestled among stunning mountain vistas, The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn has been a Hollywood favorite for nearly a century. Today, this Mediterranean villa has been meticulously restored to its original elegance of the 1930s. Mahogany-beamed ceilings and natural stone fireplaces are accented by modern amenities such as complimentary high-speed wireless,in-room DVD players and iPod docking stations. A three-course gourmet breakfast next to the waterfall and nightly wine and hors d'oevres are included in the rate, making for an exceptional value. Tour the extensive gardens or relax by the pool. From the luxurious comforters and Egyptian cotton towels, no detail has been overlooked in this secluded desert oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.