We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in Palm Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Willows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Willows to your Saves list
The Willows
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   412 W. Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Wine, WiFi
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in Palm Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was my first trip to Palm Springs and I was trying to decide if I wanted quiet luxury or large hotel amenities. I went with quiet luxury and am glad I did.

The hotel is in a great location in Palm Springs. You can walk everywhere in town, so you don't use your car very much. The breakfast was delicious and the appetizers were something we never missed. They serve wine with the appetizers and actually pretty good wine, but they don't share what wines they are pouring unless you ask. I think this is a miss with the clientele that stays at this hotel. People would appreciate that the wine isn't coming out of a jug or box!

My husband and I are in our early 40s and were the youngest people staying at the hotel which was fine with us.

We stayed in the Loft room which was large and beautiful. My only issue was there was a clawfoot tub with a hand shower but no where to mount it on the wall. So we had to sit in the tub to shower.

We would defintely stay here again and would recommend it to others but likely not in the Loft room due to the shower!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
97
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

In a town where a lot of hotels are kind'a dated, this hotel is a breath of fresh air! The grounds are gorgeous and generally speaking the staff is friendly. Our only odd experience was at check-in: the woman who checked us in met us in the courtyard, and had me look up the room we had reserved cuz she really didn't want to walk back up the stairs.

We had the Library room and it was huge with a beautiful semi-private patio with lounge chairs and a nice table and chairs. The bathroom was large and air; though there was a dressing table in front of the toilet that crowded my 6'5" boyfriend, but we managed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have returned to The Willows many times since they opened. Every room is a unique pristine fantasy of comfort and luxury. The cheerful attentive staff really takes care of guests. As intrepid travelers we always find special places but this is the treasure that we return to again and again. It is our home away from home. The attention to detail has been covered in other reviews but it should be noted that there is such a wonderful understated elegance and cozy comfort throughout. You will be ensconced in comfort and peace.

Room Tip: The Marion Davies Room is my favorite; bright, large, private, and elegantly appointed. The Library...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a boutique type hotel. The reviews on here are all accurate. This is the first lodging location I have seen that did not have a bad review. I would agree with everyone else. It is very unique and lush both in the rooms and grounds. We stayed in the Palm room which overlooks the pool. We pretty much kept our window open the entire time that is above the pool. The weather didn't cooperate during our 4 night stay there so we didn't take advantage of sitting by the pool. The breakfast in the morning was ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!!! Fresh fruit, a muffin or scone, and the gourmet main meal. We were spoiled on the first morning there with their eggs florentine. Unreal with the flavors that go into that dish. It is served in a large ramekin of some sort and it must have been baked but that was by far our favorite. The afternoon hors d'oeuvre were very nice. You could eat enough to fill you up or just enough to take the edge off until you go out for dinner. The wine is nice too. Either a red or white. I preferred the Pinot they had but after the 2nd day they only had the Cabernet, which was nice too. It is in an ideal location for the restaurants right in downtown Palm Springs.

Room Tip: We didn't get to see the other rooms but the Palm room is an affordable option that is spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I had our second visit to The Willows and it was just as special as the first! Having wine and appetizers while watching a sunset is as good as it gets. We had a waterfall just outside our room. I highly recommend The Willows for a relaxing and romantic vacation.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We love The Willows! We recently returned for our 4th visit. Everything about The Willows is magical from the moment you enter the gated premises. We inhaled the fragrance of the colorful spring flowers as we made our way through what became our home for the next several nights. You quickly feel as if you are visiting friends after meeting the warm, caring staff.
We were immediately drawn to the 50' waterfall that was cascading down just outside of the dining area. Lucky us, we had a room that looked right out onto the waterfall. The grounds were so beautiful with chairs and tables scattered along the path. Everything was perfect about our entire experience.

Room Tip: Every room has its own charm and character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Wow! An incredibly majestic and peaceful place to stay and a wonderful way to spend a weekend in Palm Springs. You may think it has to be a joke that The Willows consistently gets 5 out of 5 on here... well, it isn't.
From the swallow-you-up-and-forget-about-the-world matresses, to the claw-footed bathtubs, elegant food and breathtaking views, The Willows doesn't disappoint. I could have spent a whole year there; you can't help but walk around with your head held that little bit higher! As soon as you arrive, you are part of this sumptious mansion and it's lifestyle- so enjoy it!
A true getaway and a beautiful place. Worth the money- treat yourself!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 412 W. Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacation at The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn feels like a visit to a friend's country estate; or rather, an acquaintance who has welcomed some very famous friends into their home over the years. Nestled among stunning mountain vistas, The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn has been a Hollywood favorite for nearly a century. Today, this Mediterranean villa has been meticulously restored to its original elegance of the 1930s. Mahogany-beamed ceilings and natural stone fireplaces are accented by modern amenities such as complimentary high-speed wireless,in-room DVD players and iPod docking stations. A three-course gourmet breakfast next to the waterfall and nightly wine and hors d'oevres are included in the rate, making for an exceptional value. Tour the extensive gardens or relax by the pool. From the luxurious comforters and Egyptian cotton towels, no detail has been overlooked in this secluded desert oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.