We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyon Club Hotel Is A Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Club Hotel
Save
You added Canyon Club Hotel to your Saves list
960 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Canyon Club Hotel Is A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed at Canyon Club Hotel from March 21st, 2012 to April 7th, 2012, a glorious 17 day vacation. This was my third annual visit and stay at Canyon Club Hotel. I love Palm Springs and it's sensational climate, beautiful views, and relaxed lifestyle. I was warmly welcomed back by owners John and Chris. They are so caring and friendly. The front desk staff were all new to me, but I soon befriended them as well: Bryan is an adorable little teddy bear. Just can't stop hugging him. Ben is great to talk to, and has a wonderful sense of humor. James is a sweetheart, very attentive. Then there's the housekeeping staff. Superb! Jeff and Eliseo took care of my room. They did a wonderful job. Jeff knows how to do towel art. He made me some swans, and if I come back next year, he will make me some monkeys and hang them in the closet....LOL!! Eliseo is a warm and friendly guy, keeping my room clean and well stocked. Talking about my room......Wow! It's room 109, a luxurious one bedroom, full kitchen, huge separate walk-in shower, and washroom. There is also a private patio/sundeck, opening up from the bedroom. I had suggested some improvement ideas to Chris (one of the owners), and he implemented all of them. The shower now has a double shower curtain so you are not shivering while under the shower. There is also a new shower head, so you get a nice strong shower. Chris installed a new roomy medicine cabinet on the wall beside the toilet. He will be replacing the sink and vanity. Chris also installed a beautiful framed full length mirror on the wall opposite the shower. Very handy when getting dressed (or undressed!). He also installed a safe. Another reviewer mentioned there was no safe in his room. I think this is a work in progress. If you find no safe in your room, just ask. Also, there is now a computer in the room. Chris is very open to suggestions for improvement. He is an extremely hard working man, always working on projects to improve the rooms and the hotel in general. So much has already been done. The hotel grounds are beautifully landscaped with flowers and trees and bushes. The entrance to the back yard garden area has been enhanced with new brick stairs. John, Chris's partner owner is a social butterfly. He is the sweetest man! Always makes conversation with the guests, and even introducing guests to other guests, thus encouraging socializing. I made friends with another guest with the help of John. That guest and I often went to dinner to different places that he knew. Thanks, John! And speaking of hotel guests, everyone I met was most friendly, and great to talk to around the pool. Oh, and the pool is the centerpiece of the property. Heated comfortably, and refreshing. The Hot Tub is great in the evenings when the air is cool, and the bubbly water is hot. Adding to the level of relaxation, is the freedom to be nude throughout the property (except the front lobby). I strongly recommend to any gay men contemplating a visit to Palm Springs, to stay at Canyon Club Hotel for a relaxed, peace of mind vacation. I can't wait til next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
33
45
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I spent the weekend at Canyon Club March 23-25/12. I was in the least expensive studio king room on the 2nd floor facing N Palm Canyon Dr. Having stayed at this gay hotel many years ago, I can only say it is much improved. Upon entering the pool/courtyard you are greeted by a sparkling pool and hot tub. Lots of flowers and shrubs. New pool furniture, pool decking, and a very well kept area. Being that this property was probably built in the 1950s I am sure it is a constant money drain to keep repaired and in good order. It's small with 30 or so rooms. Helpful staff, great contenental breakfast with fresh donuts, packaged bagels, toast, cereal, juice, coffee, yogurt, fruit, and protien powder for smoothies, hard boiled eggs, and string cheese. Having stayed at several gay hotels in Palm Springs and around the country, this one had the best breakfast. It is a great value.

My room on the 2nd level had been redecorated with new carpet, furnishings, light fixtures, bath vanity, 32 LCD Panasonic TV, clock radio, small fridge and desk. New travertine like tile in the entrance and bath. Very clean with white duvet covers, high thread count sheets, efficient/quiet air conditioner etc. Very inviting.

I understand the current owners have had the property for 4 years and have sunk a ton of money into it. It is much better than it had been even 2 years ago. The only thing I could fault is the view from my window. It faces a facade front with fake windows etc. Not very attractive. The windows in the facade had been replaced over the years with painted plywood. Some still broken. The front streetside facade had some mismatched touch up paint and I trust this is one of the last things on the "to do list." I would suggest they plant a vining ivy to grow up the back side of the facade so you at least looked at greenery vs. concrete blocks. I don't come to Palm Springs for the view from the room, so it is not a deal breaker for me. The other thing is the old cast iron bath tubs and tile surround in my room needed attention. The tile needed some repairs and the tub could use a refinishing. I know replacing them is a huge project in cost and labor. It was clean, but very old and worn.

All in all I was very pleased. If you want a Hyatt quality and cookie cutter hotel room, then this and most gay hotels will not suit you well. I expect clean quiet pride of ownership rooms. Not a super luxury suite from the Hyatt when I visit Palm Springs. I want to relax poolside, meet new people from all around and just hang out. Canyon Club met my needs very well. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

There's something for everyone here. The owners are investing money and steadily improving the property. The rooms are much nicer than before, and while housekeeping is commendable, the bathtub/shower could still use some work. The grounds have improved noticeably over the years as well. Breakfast has likewise improved and now includes fresh fruit smoothies, cereals, hard boiled eggs and improved bakery items. The owners and entire staff are friendly and helpful. Front desk clerk James is particularly professional, but all the staff and owners, without exception, go out of their way to be nice to the guests.

There are a few shortcomings that still need to be worked on. This is one of the few resort hotels that does not have in-room safes. While I haven't had anything stolen, it would certainly have been comforting to have a safe for my wallet and electronics. It is true that crime is lower in the desert than many other places, but it nonetheless exists. In fact, one morning while I was there the Police were called to arrest a trespasser who had climbed over the wall surrounding the "secret garden" and was found asleep near the office! There is an easy solution to that problem and management needs to consider installing a key-lock gate (opened by guest key) at the narrow entrance to the garden. While that won't stop trespassers from climbing over the wall, if the gate is locked at night, at least they won't have access to the hotel proper.

The hotel location is within walking distance to downtown and the nightlife on Arenas Road and the 111 bus is a convenient alternative. From the airport it's about a $15 cab fare so if you plan to stay on the property with an occasional visit downtown, a car isn't really needed. Trio's and Jakes restaurant's on Palm Canyon Drive are just a couple of blocks from the hotel and highly recommended.

In conclusion, this hotel offers good value accommodations and should be considered by those seeking a somewhat action packed environment without being exploited as is the case with some similar themed lodging in Palm Springs and Cathedral City. I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is the worst gay resort I ever visited!!!!nGot a day pass at Sat late afternoon just to see what it like...asked the old guys for room rate and he replied it's fully booked(Can't he understand the question ?) and was not any ..helpful or friendly. Stayed a 1.5 hours....only unattractive older 3-4guys wondering around the garden and not much action... cant wait to leave.......The fence is not high enough as only about 5' high and people live next door building can see you play from their balcony. If you intend to go there, just jump over the fence from the car park behind the hotel. Save your money to go to Inn Exile or even free after dark on weekends as the gate will be ajar. A OVERSEA VISITOR.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Canyon Club several times. It really is a class act and one of the nicest, if not the nicest, clothing optional gay resort in the desert. John and Chris have spared no expense in creating this retreat which features immaculately designed and furnished rooms, large heated pool and spa, steam room and sauna. The latest addition is an outdoor maze with cool landscaping and comfortable recliner outdoor chaise lounges. The thing I like about Canyon Club is that you have the option of looking for "high sexual energy" or just kicking back with your bathing suit enjoying a day by the pool with a good book. The continental breakfast is an added plus and features fresh fruit, breakfast breads, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, coffee tea and juice. In room porn movies are nice, as well as the play room for those who are looking for that kind of fun. Most of all, the housekeeping staff and front desk are incredibly helpful and should be commended for helping to make it a top notch resort. I was the owner of a bed and breakfast in Los Angeles and tend to be pretty picky in my lodging choices. Go for it, you won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms along the pool have private patios off sliding glass doors if you want to relax an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We went there for a visit since we were planing to stay there for a couple of days. Their web site is impressive. We went there during the week-end and the only employee that was there at the office was obviously not well organized, the reception being a mess... There were a lot of guys all over the place but it was not clean so we decided to go somewhere else...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Rooms are newly painted and clean
Its ok at weekends,but as we where only gueasts midweek felt odd/if you get cheap rate good optiuon/lovely garden

Room Tip: pool view only are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Club Hotel

Address: 960 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Number of rooms: 32

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.