We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very disappointing way to start a holiday!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterraneo Resort to your Saves list
Mediterraneo Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   2300 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly The Adriatic Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Anacortes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very disappointing way to start a holiday!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I read glowing reviews of this place in Palm Springs and booked it for a 9-day stay. When we arrived it was filthy and looked deserted. The grounds were not clean, leaves were floating in the pool and filthy garden furniture was piled up around the edges of the pool. There wasn't a soul there (even in the office) and since it was late February it should have been bustling.

Save yourself a major disappointment and book elsewhere. I sure don't know where some of the great reviews on here could have come from.

Paddy S

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    7
    3
    14
See reviews for
13
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I decided to try this place out on an RCI exchange. On this program, I'm sorry to say, you usually do not get the premium rooms. To our surprise when we checked in Chris told us he had rooms available other than the studio that we expected. He proceeded to show us several rooms and gave us our choice as a free up-grade. We ended up with a beautiful one bedroom with two baths and a full kitchen overlooking the pool area. The room was recently up-graded with new everything. Such as appliances, cabinets, flat screen TV's, carpets, furniture and paint.

The resort reminded us of some of the places we stayed at in Key West,Though it is not overly impressive looking from the street once inside it is very well kept and clean. We never once had a problem finding seating at the (2) pools or getting use of the BBQ area.

It is located on the north end of town and it was about a mile and a half to the main part of town. We like to walk so it was no big deal to us but half way through the week we rented a car to do a little exploring. The good thing is that Dickie O' Neal's Irish pub & restaurant was only two blocks away and we went there at least once a day for various meals (Great food and Prices).

Chris was there to help us out whenever we had a question about things or area attractions. He was always around to make us feel welcome and make sure we were having a good time. In fact he even gave us a ride back to the airport saving us the hassle of getting a cab

To sum it up, we would not hesitate to recommend the Adriatic Villa to anyone and will stay there again when we go back to the Palm Springs area.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask Chris to show you the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We've been going (my daugher & I) to Adriatic Villa now since 2006. We always have a fantastic time there, and they improve it every year! This year by the pool they have covered areas for shade, also the chaise lounges have thick cushions [the whole thing] like couch cushions. and even actual couches too.
it is a dream vacation, service is absolutely outstanding, rooms are beautiful!! if you are thinking of going you will be so happy you chose it. My daughter loves it too.
From what I understand you just need to call to make sure they have openings for the time you want and you can even rent for a day or two but we go for a week every year (and wish we could stay more)

Room Tip: Any are fine! We have stayed in front building, and the back in multiple roooms and they are all gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I got a kick out of the classical radio that played for our poolside enjoyment here, something our Croatian -American owner set up. We enjoyed a choice of two pool areas, a hot tub for the evening AND all of those cabanas...so Mediterranean. If there were kids in the warmer pool, we could choose the other pool farther away and quieter.
Our fun manager Chris gave us a great deal on an upgrade to a one bdrm, 'tho we traded in with an RCI studio. This older resort seemed to have the right balance of casual yet structured. Our rooms were well decorated, upgraded, a bit tight but we enjoyed two baths and even two TVs. Loved our tiny kitchen, too. One negative was the loud air conditioner, but we just shut it off at night.

Room Tip: Ask to see some room choices upon arrival, really fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here. We were greeted by Chris the hotel manager who showed us around. We stayed in the Debbie Reynolds suite. It was perfect for us,having a separate bedroom and living area. We had everything we needed, plus they have an excellent restaraunt attached to the property. We stayed 5 days ,and would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: nice view from balcony Debbie Reynolds suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when I checked in, due to some negative reviews I'd read. But, from the moment of my arrival, the Manager, Chris, did everything in his power to make me feel welcome and comfortable. He took me on a tour of the facility and showed me a few different available rooms. The decor is fresh and charming. The courtyard pool and spa delightful. My entire stay was pleasant and relaxing. This is my new "go to" place in Palm Springs. Thank you, Chris.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at this property in north Palm Springs. The central courtyard with pool was a most relaxing place to sit and smell the flowers. And the perfume of the flowers was present all day and into the night.

Our host made sure we were in a comfortable room, taking us to each possibility in person. He was also a source of excellent advice as to what to do in and around Palm Springs. We'd visit this place again.

While it is a bit of a walk to the downtown, there are a number of good restaurants in the immediate vicinity and the price for the room was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterraneo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Resort

Address: 2300 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly The Adriatic Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterraneo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off North Palm Canyon Drive, The Mediterraneo Resort is minutes from the entertainment of downtown Palm Springs, with golf courses, casinos, shopping, hiking, and the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, which was recently voted in the top 5 best trams in the world, located less than a 5 minute drive away. Offering guests majestic mountain views while sunbathing in either of the two pools, the resorts onsite restaurant offers poolside service and a full bar menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mediterraneo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Adriatic Villa Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.