We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, comfortable, super-friendly retro hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 4th night FREE
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
west sussex
1 review
“Cool, comfortable, super-friendly retro hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

These guys know how to make you feel very welcome and make your trip a customer service heaven. Free phone, internet, wi-fi, coffee, room snacks, use of bikes.
Great pool and loungers. Other guests there to chill-no noisy kids (or adults)
Rooms good size with kitchenettes.
Simply put-the place is dreamy. Larry and Judy had to practically throw us out. We didn't want to leave. Go here-you'll love it.
Thanks a million Riviera team
Karen & Richard (England) x x

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    52
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
130
1,054
41
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I did not sleep here, but my friends did and let me say how nice Judy, Larry, Patty and Steve were to all of us. As you can imagine from the other reviews, the Desert Riviera books very quickly and has many repeat visitors. My husband and I decided to tag along with our friends on their trip, but we were unable to get a reservation for the same time period. We decided to go anyway and stayed somewhere else. Unfortunately, we quickly learned after our first visit that the Desert Riviera was the place to be.

Judy and Steve were incredibly accommodating to us all. Making golf tee times, spa recommendations and dinner reservations, they took care of everything. One evening, we decided to barbeque after golf and they helped with all of the condiments and Steve even insisted on helping grill and brought his own meat thermometer. Now tell me, where else could you stay and receive that kind of service?

Next time we visit Palm Springs, we will definitely stay here and hopefully there will be room for all of us.

Thank you to the entire Desert Riviera staff for making our trip so memorable. I have traveled to many places and I must say that you cannot get this kind of personal service anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This Family run Business bends over backwards to make your stay Awesome! Love the bikes and the movies and more...all free. A nice restoration on a small Mid Century Modern Hotel. Very clean facility with beautiful grounds. The pool is clean and not heavily treated. Very nice staff and guests, who we look forward to seeing again next year. They even left an Easter Basket, on our door for the holiday. Turns out all the reviews are quite true... really... Yes...really!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

You have to try the Desert Riviera it is everything you have read and more! Patty, Larry and their staff extend a genuine welcome which surpased anything we have ever experienced. The resort is charming a delightful place to relax but also to take part in the activities Palm Springs has to offer with Patty and Larry only too willing to make suggestions and make bookings for you. We tried a tandem, hiking sticks, rode in the limo, ate at the recommended restaurants and climbed the canyons close to the resort. Our immaculate room (No 5) was fantastic, with a sumptuous bed and neat kitchen. With the beautiful weather and hosts who went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect we will be back. PS. The sour dough recipe has been tried too!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I'm not one to write reviews. But I had to sign up for a Trip Advisor account just so I could talk about this place. The first time my wife and I went there our car broke down. They took us in and treated us like family. Not only did they drive us around in the the limo wherever we needed to go, they helped us out in getting the car fixed and taken car of. On top of that, the food they cooked out by the pool and let us take part of was fantastic. There's great customer service... and then there's Desert Riviera Service.

We went there a second time and we were sure it wasn't going to be as great as the first. But then it was even better! Some of the best catfish I've ever eaten my my life was grilled up that night by the pool. They are like family to us now. We're about to book another weekend there.

From the pool you can swim in all night, to the tandem bikes, to the limo, to the stylish rooms, to the cookouts by the pool, to the one of the kind customer service... you will not find a better place to stay in Palm Springs!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We arrived hot and tired after a long drive through the desert and we were greeted with welcome, would you like a cold beer, and in unsion, we sighed!!! This is going to be a good experiece. The hospitality including complimentary limo rides any where, international telephone, movies, bikes, and on and on were great but it was the onwer/operators that were there to look after you, that made the 6 day visit so very relaxing. We described what we wanted, reservationswere looked after and we sat by the pool and smiled. WE would definelty go back and recommend it highly. Randi and Brian

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Desert Riviera Hotel for 4 nights recently. We can't say enough nice things about this hotel. Larry, Patty, Judy & Steve were wonderful, they made sure we always had everything we needed. Rooms were spotless, bed was very comfy and the pool area was gorgeous! The limo rides to dinner were so convenient too! What a neat place to stay! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a visit to Palm Springs! We'll definately be going back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.