We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding In Every Way !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Vancouver
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding In Every Way !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

I just returned to Canada from an 8 day stay in Palm Springs. Normally I stay in brand name 5 star hotels but decided to try this one out due to it`s number #1 ranking in the USA of all hotels on Tripadvisor. I made the wise choice!

Larry ( one of the owners ) picked me up in his limo at the airport. He greeted me with a big smile and he and all his staff went " above and beyond " to make my stay with them truly perfect to match the amazing weather itself.

Larry took me hiking and drove me to the famous tram,..he also took me to some great breakfast spots and lunch spots and drove me in the limo to and from all my evening meals at fantastic places he and his sister Judy suggested. ( These people are on top of their game in every way,...I am very picky and they impressed me! ).

Larry went with me to check out a 1943 Bi-Plane at the local airport and took me back the next day after and he and his sister Judy arranged a 1 hour flight on it with a video ! I flew all around the area at 1,000-2,000 feet!

Larry also acted as my local real estate guide and drove me around some of the areas and showed me what was what as only a local could. He also hooked me up with a professional agent who showed me around for a day.
Talk about old fashioned service ? Simply outstanding! He even showed me his car wash which is the best one in town judging from the feedback from the locals I spoke to while I toured it.

Larry`s wife ( Patty ) was also very welcoming and made sure all my needs were taken care of daily. For example: fresh goodies in my room each day in a basket,..cold drinks free of charge in my fridge in my room,...etc.

Judy and her husband Steve ( he is a top chef to boot ! ) made some of the guests and myself 2 terrific BBQ`s by the pool that were simply yummy. Steve drove me around town to pick up some California dates and See`s Candies and also kept me company at 2 meals and is a truly nice guy. You must sweet talk him in to cooking for you if you can !

Judy made sure my laundry got done and my shirts got folded nicely. Note: they normally don`t offer this custom service but once I asked about it ,..it got done for me like magic!

The pool is very clean and the grounds are also very clean and look awesome at night. I saw at least 6 Humming Birds each day around the grounds and they were neat to watch. Larry brought out tons of fresh towels for the guests each day for the pool and for sun tanning use,...he even supplies free lotions of all types. He even offered me a pair of brand new bathing trunks to use because he thought I forgot to pack some of my own.

Each night guest from all over the world sat around the fire pit to get to know each other and it was very relaxing. All the guests were nice people.

I smoked a couple of cigars with Larry and it felt like the TV show ,..Boston Legal where the two main characters sit out on the patio talking and relaxing from the pressures of daily life.

My room was very clean and the 3 housekeeprs were super.

I used the hotel phone to make free calls back home,...another classy touch!There are also free movies to watch from their own collection if you feel like it.

Will I stay there again ? The answer is yes!!! You simply can`t go wrong with these people and what they have worked so hard to build up.

I made friends with Larry, Patty, Judy, and Steve,..and I am a fairly reserved person by nature. They are simply quality people!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,257
    51
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
107
935
39
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long beach, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

...and it was perfect, as always! We will be back next year! The staff is so accommodating and friendly, we wouldn't think of going anywhere else! It was wonderful and relaxing (even WITH the motorcycle convention going on in Palm Springs!). I won't go on and on except to say that everyone we bring with us every year raves, and they have made many repeat customers!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

The hotel is adorable, the accomodations are very nice, comfortable, clean and welcoming. But the best part is the hotel management...they are wonderful! The nicest people...they do whatever they can to welcome you and make you feel at home. There is coffee and fruit in a common area for everyone, and rooms stocked with complimentary sodas, water and snacks. The best deal and the best experience!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Okay, we admit to being sceptical about the glowing reviews of this hotel and its owners and staff but very soon learned that every bit of praise is entirely deserved. This is a very special place and (after some clever room juggling by Judy) we managed to extend our stay from 2 to 5 nights. We have stayed in some great hotels (and some iffy ones!) over the last 7 years of US road trips and every year we come home intending to write reviews and never actually get riound to it. Larry, Patty, Judy and Steve and their wonderful hotel are the first to actually impress us enough to take the time to do it! Thank you again for a fantastic stay and we can't wait to see you all again next year. Love John and Chrissy Myers xxxx

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We booked the DR for the last three nights of our two week road trip and couldn't have been happier. Arriving late after a five hour drive Larry offered us a glass then a bottle each of wine, showed us around then left us to ourselves by the poolside firepit. "Just help yourselves. This is your home for the next few days." Just what we needed. He's a natural host - generous, attentive (but not intrusive) and full of bonhomie. His wife, sister and brother in-law provide a great support team. Nothing seems too much trouble.

There's a laid back social scene by the pool at night, if that's what you want. Or a great video library to relax with. Best of all no pets and no kids! All in all a gem of a place to unwind, great location to explore southern California and a warm and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

The Desert Riviera Hotel is really an amazing place to stay. You could easily miss it from the street, but once you walk through the gate into the hotel courtyard you can tell you're somewhere pretty special and memorable. All the rooms look out onto the pool area, which is wonderfully well kept, has chairs, tables, palm trees, hummingbirds, a fire pit, lanterns, free-to-use bicycles, complimentary sun cream, a BBQ for guests to use, and the great pool itself. The rooms, we stayed in a king, are spacious, amazingly clean and well appointed. There are sodas and snacks waiting for you in the refrigerator, loads of towels and guides to Palm Springs. The hotel is a twenty minute walk away from the main drag where the restaurants and bars are, and we found that a slow evening stroll worked up an appetite for dinner, we got to see all the wonderful motel and hotel signs along the way. We took a cab back to the hotel later, and it cost under $10. In the evening and into the night at the hotel, guests sit around the fire pit reading, having a drink and chatting. The pool is available to use all the time if it's still burning hot after dark (it was). The best thing about the Desert Riviera though is the personal service from Larry and Patty the owners. It really felt like we were saying goodbye to friends when we left, after just two nights there. Larry handed us two frozen bottles of water for our drive on to Phoenix, just as Patty had handed us a chilled magnum of champagne on our arrival, as she knew we were on honeymoon. Palm Springs is a fascinating, charming, fun and completely unique place to visit, and so is the Desert Riviera. It's one of those hotels you will remember for years and years, and always wish you were back there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

This was our third trip to Palm Springs in the last 3 years and we usually stay at one of the bigger hotels, however this year we decided to try out this hotel we read so much about on Trip Advisor and boy are we glad we did!

We stayed for 6 nights at The Desert Riviera Hotel at the end of Sept 2009 and it was a truly wonderful experience. As soon as we walked through the gate the peace and tranquility of this hotel was astounding, we'd just stayed in 3 other hotels in previous weeks in California that were noisy around the pool area during the day.

When we entered the reception area we were greeted with such warmth and friendliness by Judy, the manager. Immediately we felt at home at The Desert Riviera as Judy told us about the hotel and showed us around.

Our room was airy and spacious, it had great storage space and was very comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed.

The pool, pool area and gardens were divine, especially at night when tealights are lit on the tables around the pool and the firepit is lit, in the background crystal lanterns hang dimly lit from the amazing trees, heaven on earth and so beautiful.

During our stay we met some lovely people around the pool and by the end of our stay it felt like one big happy family. Everyone, including the staff, were so friendly but not in an instusive kind of way.

If you decide to stay here ask Patty to make s'mores at the firepit - delicious!

Thank you so much to Larry, Patty, Judy, Steve (Kevin Kline!!), K.C. and the wonderful housekeeping staff for making our stay such a memorable one. We'd definitely recommend The Desert Riviera to anyone and after our stay we see why it's rated number 1 in Trip Advisor. It will definitely be our place to stay in Palm Springs in the future.

Tracey & Russell McGowan
(Northern Ireland)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list