We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my most relaxing stays, at a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Chino Hills, California
1 review
“One of my most relaxing stays, at a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife wanted a small personal and quite place to hang out around the pool, for her birthday. This was the perfect place. We both had a relaxing, kid free zone, to enjoy each other and have a few drinks pool side. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Got my wife and I a bottle of Champagne for her birthday, and recommended some great places to eat. There are a lot of places to choose from in this town, but I will be going back to the Desert Riviera for our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    52
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
122
1,015
39
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I cant even say enough about our stay, We came to celebrate our 12 year anniversary and didn't want to stay in one of the bigger hotels as to me they seem so cold and not very personal. My sister joined us to celebrate her birthday but stayed at a very large and popular hotel chain but she was disappointed with some of the amenities there. Upon arrival the hotel was hidden behind leafy brush wall and as we entered through the red door we noticed how beautiful and garden like (lots of hummingbirds and even a little rabbit) with a sparkling pool and lots of unclaimed lounge chairs. Walking to the office we were greeted by name and offered cold drinks since we were on the road for so long. We were given a tour and told there was a kitchen (aside from the one in our room) which was stocked (seasoning, plates, cooking utensils ect..) and had cold drinks and pastries. At the pool there was a nice bbq area to be used anytime. The pool which goes to 8 ft open 24 hrs and very nice water temperature. There is also a jacuzzi. There is also free videos and books on hand to use and lots of big lush towels with complimentary sun tan lotion by the pool. Upon entering our room it was very large and roomy. Lush cotton bath robes, two big closets, big comfy beds, nice roomy kitchen equipped with dishes, our fridge stocked with sodas, water and ice. There was also a complimentary basket with goodies in. The shower..omg had one of those large rain shower heads so taking a shower was even nice. There are bicycles outside free to use to explore the town, and complimentary ride in their van to and from downtown or nearby restaurants. This was definitely the best place we ever stayed at. So romantic, so quiet as no children are allowed which was perfect for us because we hear ours all day long. This place was super nice and I cant wait to go back!!! It was as if we stayed at a bed and breakfast, felt like home away from home,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Can only add to what had already been said, we had a great stay here as part of our honeymoon trip.

The owners Rick & Martha were lovely as were all the staff we met.

Perhaps the best compliment I can give is that it was like having our own private pool in our back garden, so relaxing and just what we needed after travelling down the coast.

We made plenty of use of the free bikes for a short cycle up to Ralphs for supplies and to Elmers for a great breakfast.

Thanks so much everyone at the DR!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place continues to exceed expectations. All the details, upgrades and enhancement do not go unnoticed. Such a treat to be able to return each summer and truly unwind. This place has personal service figured out!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

All of the reviews that say good things are all true. Judy, Stephen, misty, and anyone we talked to or met at the Desert Riviera were more than amazing. The location was perfect, close to down town and the airport but far enough away that it was quieter and less traffic. If you need to get around they have a complimentary limo, you just should tip the driver. The rooms were spotless and awesome, my boyfriend and I stayed in room #4, right in front of the pool. When we arrived (very late, I might add) we were surprised with a basket full of different snacks for our stay. They also had free DVD's and books for their guests. Even had two grills with fresh herbs from their garden. The pool is where most of our time was spent (which is open 24/7). They also have complimentary bikes (single and tandem) to take out, which we used to go to Ralph's (a near by grocery store). Although our flights were complete crap, the stay at the Desert Riviera made up for it! The staff is so helpful and friendly, and words can't describe how great they made our stay in Palm Springs. I could go on for days about how great this place is, we will definitely be going back in the future!

Room Tip: Room #4 was great, just a few steps from the pool. The A/C was our best friend. There are cute photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Came this weekend to celebrate my partner's birthday and it ended up being a relaxing retreat for us both. It was an unusually gloomy weekend in Palm Springs and we were afraid our trip would be ruined due to the weather...well, even the clouds couldn't stop us from having a great time.

What makes this place fantastic is their attention to detail. Everyone here really goes out of their way to ensure you have the best time. Stephen greeted us when we arrived and took us into the office to meet Tracy so we could check in. Both were so warm and friendly, even offering us a beer as soon as we set our things down. The hotel only has 10 units, I believe, and no kids are allowed, which makes it a perfect getaway for couples. Even with other guests hanging out in the pool area, it never felt too crowded.

The room was clean and well decorated--I dug the retro vibe. They even included a gift basket of snacks and a complimentary bottle of champagne since we were celebrating my partner's birthday. There was also free soda and bottled water in our fridge, along with toiletries in the bathroom. Although the room was cute, the selling point here is the pool area. Lounge chairs surround the pool and this morning I noticed that towels were laid out on each seat. There is also a BBQ area for guests to use and a kitchen. In the office area, there's also fresh fruit, pastries, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate.

Downtown Palm Springs is only a short drive away and their office has a rack of menus for you to look over before making a decision. They offered to drive us there, but we didn't mind driving at all. I like that the location isn't right in the heart of downtown Palm Springs. The area was less congested and it was very peaceful.

Although we only booked our room for the night, we seriously considered extending our stay because we had such a nice time there. I think this has become our go-to spot whenever we want to escape the craziness of LA. We're hooked!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Where to start? Was it the ice cold beer offered at check-in? The owner, Rick, bringing pastries to people around the pool in the morning? Or the Popsicle's in the afternoon? Don't waste your time looking for somewhere awesome to stay! This place is paradise. My wife and were there celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary with three other couples. From BBQ'ing breakfast burritos to chillin' in the pool, this was the most relaxing place I have ever been. We are already planning our trip for next summer. Hospitality was so amazing. We felt like we were in our own backyard. Don't change a thing! The rooms were awesome!!!!! We had the hotel transportation take us into town saturday night.......what a great thing to have available for guests. We are from Washington, and WE WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.