We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Palm Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best of Palm Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Rick and Martha are the best owners, on hand and always interacting with customers. Judy, the general manager, is tops in customer service. Steve, always there first thing in the morning, prepping everything, and to have an early cup of coffee & chat with.

We stayed in the new VIP Suite & are now totally spoiled!

Room Tip: Room #1 and the VIP are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    51
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
115
989
39
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable, affordable and warm hospitality. It felt like a home away from home. I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling without young children. It was peaceful and I am already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a quick and relaxing getaway, and the Desert Riviera in Palm Springs definitely fit the bill. The grounds are well kept, the pool is inviting, and the fire pit and outdoor lighting in the evening help to create a very calm and romantic mood. All the staff go out of their way to make each and every guest feel comfortable and welcome. We really appreciated the "little things" the hotel had to offer such as fresh fruit everyday, water bottles and sunscreen at our disposal, the 24 hour atrium that is open for guest use, etc. The list goes on and on. We also met some wonderful repeat guests of this hotel and enjoyed chatting with them in the early mornings over coffee, at the pool, or around the fire pit. When we go back to Palm Springs, it will be at the Desert Riviera and we hope to see some of our new friends again. Thanks to Steve, Judy and Misty for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Usually we stay at other hotels in Palm Springs, but I think we found our new favorite. Every detail has been so well thought out here.
The pool area is amazing. The grills came equipped with all the tools, condiments and rubs for bbq'ing. On Sunday morning the owner walked around the pool and offered fresh pastries to everyone.
Steve, Judy and Misty are SO friendly. Everything was so relaxing and luxurious. Very affordable. The only complaint -- it's hard to leave! I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed in Palm Springs for a night before going to Las Vegas. The Riviera was recommended. It was a Great hotel with Friendly Staff and Nicely appointed Rooms. They guys on the driveway were helpful at getting cabs organized and assisting with directions. Great Stay. I would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had a fantastic stay, Judy Steve Tracey and misty are awesome.kudos to the new owners Martha and Rick for the subtle changes that add to the desert riviera experience.
Spotlessly clean rooms ,beautifully maintained gardens,perfect weather,,pastries and ice cream whilst lounging by the large heated pool and great company .what more could you ask for.
Hey even the Easter bunny paid a visit before a great Easter breakfast.Thanks again guys hope to see you soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Desert Riveria Hotel in April for our honeymoon. We were given a fantastic warm welcome and greeted by Judy Block (Hotel Manager). Never have we been made to feel so welcome. Judy is a wealth of information and knowledge and expert in the local area, she was able to cater for our every need.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. We stayed in a kingside pool room, which was spacious and light. The decor is tasteful and modern. The room had a fully kitted out kitchen, clean and tidy bathroom, luxurious bed and plentiful storage for personal possessions. The attention to detail is great and cleaning staff fantastic. We stayed over Easter, and woke to chocolate surprise outside our room and an Easter brunch hosted by the hotel staff (Judy and Steph) and owners (Martha and Rick). It was a pleasure to meet all of the staff and enjoy a Sangria together in the morning sun (a really nice touch)!

The hotel staff certainly made us feel like we had found a home from home, with both the staff and other guests being so welcoming. The hotel has a pool of bikes for use at your convenience, endless poolside books / games, and are able to cater to all requests - they even arranged our golf lesson and sourced some golf clubs for us.

One of our favourite features of this hotel was the outside cooking grills and the support of Steph Block in the outdoor kitchen area. Steph was fantastic at lending a hand and giving some encouragement, and also whipped up a delicious Easter Sunday brunch. Two double outdoor grills with a range of utensils and condiments for use are provided. Cooking steaks in the early evening sun is heaven!

The hotel is perfectly located near to Palm Springs down town with easy access to nearby attractions: restaurants, Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Taqhuitz and Indian Canyons, El Paseo Shops, and endless golfing opportunities. There is also a small shopping complex just over the road, with a Ralph's market.

Without doubt we will be returning and recommending to our famliy and friends.

Room Tip: The King Poolside rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.