We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Fontainebleau, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a perfect stay in august 2013, the place is so quite and beautifull , the room 10 was huge , very well decorated and so clean.
We appreciate to make a free phone call to our parents in France during our 4 weeks stay in the US.
We could stay with our 12 years old dauhgter and for that we thank the owners ( aduldt prefered place).
I wish we can go back to Palmspings one day , we will stay there again or maybe try the Hotel California , the other propertie of the owners!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Truly enjoyed sharing such a special occasion and celebrating with you and your family. It's always a pleasure to have our guests from France. We look forward to having you join us on a future trip to the USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    51
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
115
989
39
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A huge thanks to Betty, Judy, Steve and Tracy. My daughter and I enjoyed our stay thoroughly!

Many thoughful amenities like soft and luxurious pool towels, suncreen by the pool, beverages & fruit available in the lobby and family atmosphere.

We felt truly appreciated! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Nothing a sweet, as a getaway for Mom and Daughter. A time to relax and reconnect. So thrilled that you had a relaxing time. Come back when time allows.. we'll promise towels, sunscreen, beverages and fruit and our... forever.. family atmosphere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed five nights in October (our second visit), before moving on to San Diego to join a cruise.

Desert Riviera is perfect if you are looking for a small, family-run hotel where the service is outstanding and the ambiance simply mind-blowing, and children-free.

Judy, Tracey and Betty provide an oasis of calm. Our room was delightfully furnished, we had a great kitchenette, the pool is perfect for the resort. Not only that, we met so many lovely fellow guests whilst lounging round, or in, the pool.

But there are two other special points or, more accurately, people. Kirby provides a great limo service into town with his distinctive red stretch limo. And then there is Steven, a man of all the talents, who quietly and calmly supports the team and cares for the guests and the resort, particulary in the early morning and late afternoon/evening. We would have liked to kidnap him and take him home but Judy (and no doubt Steven as well) would not have been too happy!

Desert Riviera, thank you so much for being how you are and who you are, and please don’t change. We are looking forward to visit you again and also to the addition of a shower by the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dying to hear about your cruise.... out of San Diego. The both of you made our week.... our absolute pleasure to share our hospitality and "sunny oasis" with you. So happy that you made new friends around the pool.. and had the chance to meet Kirby and use the guest limo. I am happy to share "Chef Stephen" around the grill... however we would all be lost if you kidnapped him!! Look forward to catching up on travel stories... next time. Thank you Both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We felt we were part of a family who made sure we had a great time. From riding the limo to our wonderful restaurants,to making reservations for us, suggestions about hiking trails and all the wonderful amenities at the hotel we really loved our stay. There were snacks in our room and a fire pit for late night talks, a hot tub to soothe our tired muscles ... We will come back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
The secret is.... it's the guests like yourselves that... "make it"!!
Thrilled that you enjoyed the service.... and took part in the limo and other amenities. We are "tickled" when we are able to help our guests.. "recharge their batteries" and make their getaway turn to lasting memories. Thanks so much... and come back often... so much to explore in Palm Springs..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a wonderful experience! Me, my husband and mother (who was visiting us from out of town), drove up to Palm Springs for our anniversary weekend and stayed at the Desert Riviera. First off, Judy and her team were so welcoming and helpful. We all stayed in lovely rooms and Judy took care of every detailed request prior to our stay. Everything from the lovely gift basket to the incredible limo they provided for us was top knotch! However, what made it most special were Judy, Steve and Betty. They were all so knowledgable, helpful and kind. Thank you all so much. Our hotel experience made our overall Palm Springs trip exceptional!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a treat it was to have your family (Husband and Yourself and a chance to also meet your Mother) for a lovely Anniversary getaway. You touched us.. as much as we touched you. We hope the next visit to have you and Mom sharing those talented voices of yours.. around the pool. Oh and don't forget to drop us an autographed glossy... in the mail... we want to add you to our celeb's gallery. Thanks for joining us, and next time... a longer stay so you can enjoy more that Palm Springs has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First off, we didn't actually stay here, but want to rate it 5 stars based on our experiences!
I booked here via email based on the Tripadvisor rating, and the pictures of the pool. Rest assurred there is no misrepresetation - the pics are truthful.
Unfortunately, when we arrived, the super-helpful and friendly ownere told us they were out of action because they were having plumbing problems. Tradies had been working around the clock to fix it, but so far no luck.
What happened was that they arranged for us to stay with the sister Hotel California down the street, where we were also treated well. The owners were obviously distressed by the situation. They said we were welcome to use the pool.
Because I wanted to swim in that pool, I returned the next morning, and had it all to myself.
The people here obviously take great care of their guests, and take pride in their establishment. It has that personal touch you don't get in chain hotels or big resorts.

Next time we go back to Palm Springs we will book again! It's a shame we hit a glitch moment, but we couldn't have been better looked after - thanks to all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a lovely written review... you so warmed our hearts, after traveling so far (the other side of "the pond")... to visit us.... yet understanding the "glitch" that we unfortunately had to bare. Thank goodness we have that all behind us... and our huge thanks that you were so kind in allowing us to stay rather, at our sister property. We loved having you back to enjoy the pool.. and I just want to say I LOVE the underwater picture at the 3ft level... Would love to have you share that with us.. on our Facebook and Website. Should Palm Springs be again in your future plans... we would love to have your return. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had no idea this hotel was this well appointed. From the street it looks like a decent desert hotel. Walk through the front doors and be ready to be impressed.
It is hip and stylish in every detail. The throwback feel is mixed with beautiful chandeliers, all the hottest furnishings and styling, the works. Fireplaces throughout the property, broad and well groomed grounds, fantastic pool. ...I can't imagine anyone, of any age, that doesn't appreciate great work wouldn't just adore this hotel.
I stay in lots of properties. This is now my desert go-to!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.