We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a wonderful experience! Me, my husband and mother (who was visiting us from out of town), drove up to Palm Springs for our anniversary weekend and stayed at the Desert Riviera. First off, Judy and her team were so welcoming and helpful. We all stayed in lovely rooms and Judy took care of every detailed request prior to our stay. Everything from the lovely gift basket to the incredible limo they provided for us was top knotch! However, what made it most special were Judy, Steve and Betty. They were all so knowledgable, helpful and kind. Thank you all so much. Our hotel experience made our overall Palm Springs trip exceptional!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a treat it was to have your family (Husband and Yourself and a chance to also meet your Mother) for a lovely Anniversary getaway. You touched us.. as much as we touched you. We hope the next visit to have you and Mom sharing those talented voices of yours.. around the pool. Oh and don't forget to drop us an autographed glossy... in the mail... we want to add you to our celeb's gallery. Thanks for joining us, and next time... a longer stay so you can enjoy more that Palm Springs has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    51
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
114
989
39
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First off, we didn't actually stay here, but want to rate it 5 stars based on our experiences!
I booked here via email based on the Tripadvisor rating, and the pictures of the pool. Rest assurred there is no misrepresetation - the pics are truthful.
Unfortunately, when we arrived, the super-helpful and friendly ownere told us they were out of action because they were having plumbing problems. Tradies had been working around the clock to fix it, but so far no luck.
What happened was that they arranged for us to stay with the sister Hotel California down the street, where we were also treated well. The owners were obviously distressed by the situation. They said we were welcome to use the pool.
Because I wanted to swim in that pool, I returned the next morning, and had it all to myself.
The people here obviously take great care of their guests, and take pride in their establishment. It has that personal touch you don't get in chain hotels or big resorts.

Next time we go back to Palm Springs we will book again! It's a shame we hit a glitch moment, but we couldn't have been better looked after - thanks to all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a lovely written review... you so warmed our hearts, after traveling so far (the other side of "the pond")... to visit us.... yet understanding the "glitch" that we unfortunately had to bare. Thank goodness we have that all behind us... and our huge thanks that you were so kind in allowing us to stay rather, at our sister property. We loved having you back to enjoy the pool.. and I just want to say I LOVE the underwater picture at the 3ft level... Would love to have you share that with us.. on our Facebook and Website. Should Palm Springs be again in your future plans... we would love to have your return. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had no idea this hotel was this well appointed. From the street it looks like a decent desert hotel. Walk through the front doors and be ready to be impressed.
It is hip and stylish in every detail. The throwback feel is mixed with beautiful chandeliers, all the hottest furnishings and styling, the works. Fireplaces throughout the property, broad and well groomed grounds, fantastic pool. ...I can't imagine anyone, of any age, that doesn't appreciate great work wouldn't just adore this hotel.
I stay in lots of properties. This is now my desert go-to!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Fabulous hotel with friendly and helpful staff and a great location convenient for Palm Springs central. Superb little touches everywhere you look. Would definitely stay here again and can see why they keep winning the number one slot!! Go and see for yourself. It's worth it. Thanks Judy and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are very touched that our "little touches" and team efforts pleased you... our every intention! We welcome you back at any time, and promise to make your visit a memorable one. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our second stay at Desert Riviera and we can't wait to go back! It was truly paradise AGAIN! Judy and company's friendliness and warmth rubs off on all who stay. The hospitality is like non other with treats in your room, amenities you'd expect from a large hotel and a very cool mid-century theme that permeates the property. The clean rooms are generous in size with that hip decor you expect in Palm Springs. The location is close to downtown but without the crowds. Book early! Good things can go fast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHFrontDesk, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are so thrilled that the Desert Riviera Hotel that you left you again with a feeling of truly a Paradise... Our intention.. of course. We love when our guests, as yourselves have chosen to return.. our greatest compliment. Thanks for a fabulous review.. and hope we got you down for the next break.. to Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Another great vacation at the Desert Riviera; reconnecting with fellow vacationers and meeting new ones. The hotel features a park-like setting surrounding a large swimming pool, new outdoor BBQ area, in room snacks, bottled water, pop and complimentary beverage upon arrival. There's transportation in a large limo to and from the airport as well as trips to restaurants. The hospitable and fun staff (Judy, Steve, Traci and Betty) think of everything including new restaurants and fun things to do for repeat guests.
Our visit was during the Canadian Thanksgiving Weekend and the hotel hosted a turkey dinner for all of the guests. We have already booked for next April.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHFrontDesk, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
There's nothing more special to an Innkeeper, than to gather new friends from relationships that begins as quests that check in to take a break and enjoy the sun... however the joy reaches tenfold when your guests become your dearest friends, and choose to return time and time again.
You both have become the best of the best, and continue to rally the rest of the guests in making everyone's vacation a fun and memorable experience. We thank you as our guests and our friends, from the bottom of our hearts.
May your winter be mild until the next time you visit.... from your Palm Springs Family... The Desert Riviera Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights at your lovely hotel. We had a difficult time leaving! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great amenities! Loved the pool and hot tub. We had a great time watching the many hummingbirds that were feeding near the pool! The location gives great access to downtown. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHFrontDesk, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
It was simply our pleasure to host the two of you during this week of lovely weather, for golf, sunbathing and hummingbird watching. We look forward to having you and Wayne back with us again in the future. Our appreciation... Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.