We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Just returned from our honeymoon which included 4 fantastic days at the Desert Riviera Hotel. Having read many of glowing reviews on Trip Advisor we were induced to book this hotel for our honeymoon, but wondered if they really were true. Much to our delight, our already high expectations were fully met and then some. The enthusiastic greeting from Larry complete with glass of wine was just as advertised. Things were definitely looking up when we got to our room and found a magnum of champagne on ice waiting for us. We've stayed in many hotels for business and pleasure all over the world (my bride and I are both in our 50s, so we are not inexperienced travelers by any means) and we've never felt so comfortable and looked after as at this very exceptional hotel. Larry (his sister Patty was away on vacation) was always there with a great restaurant recommendations, and a greeting by name as you come and go. When we headed out to the desert for the afternoon at Joshua Tree National Park he immediately provided us hats and frozen water bottles for the day trip. The free wireless, accessible poolside or in the room, for internet addicts like my wife and me was also a very welcome feature.

  • Liked — Service, welcoming atmosphere, pool, wireless, and period decor and music
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    51
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
115
989
39
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canary islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Do not look anywhere else - this is as good as it gets. We stayed here (8-11th July) as part of our 25th wedding anniversary tour and cannot praise it enough. From the initial phone calls to book ,to when we left ,we were treated as part of a family. Each room is spotless with own kitchens and so quiet and comfortable . The pool and spa are lovely with pretty well kept gardens which are lit up with candles every evening - there are even humming birds in the garden . There is also a great BBQ/grill.Coffee is provided free as are bicycles, d.v.d,s, a limo service and phone calls including international !!
The most impressive part however was the owner Larry , sister Judy and husband Steve. Never anywhere have we been made to feel so at ease. They are so very helpful, friendly and were always on hand to give advise on where to go and what to do and made reservations for us.
Our only complaint - we should have stayed longer. We will return
Jan & Peter Moore ex Leeds U.K. ex Florida now Canary Islands

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

On our honeymoon tour of California, our penultimate stop was at the Desert Riviera Hotel. We'd chosen this hotel based on the positive reviews we had read on this site. It would have been easy to have been let down by the experience after reading so much hype but we weren't. Relaxed, informal, cool, friendly - our stay was 2 nights but we could have stayed much longer. Larry and Patty played the role of our hosts well - introducing us to other guests, advised us on restaurants and attractions and made us feel at home but let us get on with things at our own pace. Free bikes, free dvds, free snacks and drinks plus the limo service were all lovely touches (we stayed over the easter weekend and the easter bunny even left a basket of chocolate goodies outside everyone's door) . They have a library of nearly every local restaurants menus for you to peruse and will help you with bookings. The bedroom, pool, jacuzzi, firepits, loungers and small garden with mountain views are all tastefully done and add to the vibe. An added bonus was seeing a beautiul hummingbird around the pool area and I recommend the cable cars up into the mountains if you want to cool down a bit (take a sweater). Thanks Larry and Patty, we would love to come back someday!

  • Liked — art deco style, amenities and friendly hosts
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We had an amazing getaway at The Desert Riviera - a long weekend in a quiet paradise - great people, relaxed atmosphere and sun by the pool. Could not have been better

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Made the reservation with Judy who was so very sweet. But she was away by the time we got there so we checked in with Larry who was awesome. Will look forward to meeting Judy next time.

Everything you are reading here is true. This hotel deserves its #1 rating!!!!!!!!

We had a blast and left refreshed and we started talking about returning even before we left.

  • Liked — The friendly people and the friendly rooms
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

What can I say about this wonderful place? Everything!

This trip was a get away from the big city and I was along for the ride, not knowing where we were staying (it was supposed to be a surprise) and what a surprise it was! From the outside it's rather modest and clean, but once you walk through the gate you are immediately given a sense of the old 60's Hollywood style hotel and pool. The landscaping is beautiful and with plenty of tables and chairs all set around the pool, you feel very welcomed.

Upon our arrival we noticed several guests lounging in the pool and talking and having drinks, several said hi to us as we walked by. We walked into the office to be met by Patty who knew us by name and offered us cold water/beer or wine (very needed from the heat). After checking in, Larry met us and gave us the tour, I was thoroughly impressed. There are stacks of books and DVD's to borrow and a free computer to access (but if you stay here, you'll never want to touch it). There are adorable beach cruiser style bikes (even a tandem!) to borrow and ride around Palm Springs (we took them out to breakfast one morning and it was so refreshing). We were shown to our room (only 1 of 10) which was very tastefully done in a late 50's retro style but with modern touches such as a flat screen TV and in the kitchen a microwave, blender and mini fridge. My guy had set up champagne and they even provided strawberries that were hand dipped waiting for us! There was a basket of snacks and cold drinks in the fridge (no charge for this minibar!). The bed was huge and very comfortable and the room itself was spacious yet cozy. So much charm and character!

We got ready for dinner and we were met by Larry who took us in the complementary Limo to this great steak place which was recommended by them. If you ever want to know where to eat, they will suggest places and make reservations for you (take their advice, they didn't steer us wrong). When we got back later that evening a small group of the guests were in the pool/jacuzzi and by the fire pit talking and socializing by the candles and beautifully lit palm trees. It was more like a family then hotel guests.

Over the next few days we lounged by the pool with a never ending supply of towels and in the pool with nice pool loungers that were provided. We were even met with complimentary margaritas by the pool brought by Judy (Patty's sister) and just a great atmosphere. The pool rules are simply this; enjoy the pool and jacuzzi at any hour just be quite after hours. There is even a BBQ available if you don't want to go out. This is the kind of place where just being at the hotel and not exploring Palm Springs would still be a vacation getaway. It had such a great impression on us that after we checked out we decided to stay one more night and it was worth it! It's such a great relaxing place, owned by great people who really know what hospitality is. If only I could make guests feel that comfortable in my own home. This is my new hideaway as it should be yours. Thank you so very much Larry, Patty and Judy!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — light construction during the week day across the street but it's soon to be finished.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Where do I start everything was just so perfect. The wonderful experience started when we were greeted by Judy - a nice warm smile who made us feel like part of the family.

Our beautiful room (was with a girlfriend - a girls pampering weekend filled with the pool, spa and lots of wine and laughing). So clean - and the beds were so comfortable. Best nights sleep I had in a long time.

Only 10 rooms makes this property very nice and you get to mingle with the guests but if you don't want to you are left alone to enjoy the sun and beautiful pool.

Larry and Pattie are the PERFECT hosts. I have never felt so nice at a resort. At noon Patty would bring so some homemade margaritas and we would enjoy the drinks while floating on the floats in the pool. Pure Paradise.

Larry will drive you in his cool limo to dinner in town and will pick you up which allows you to have a few drinks and not worry about driving back.

The last day was very sad. Wanted to stay for several more days. I can not wait to take my husband. He will enjoy the peace and quiet and the wonderful hosts - Larry, Pattie and Judy.
All thank you for a most memorable stay - I will be back!
LC

  • Liked — The hosts, how clean everything was and the pool area
  • Disliked — NONE
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.